Guides @ UF: Neuroscience : Professional Development Resources

Professional Organizations

Association for Psychological Science
APS is the scientific home of thousands of leading psychological science researchers, practitioners, teachers, and students from around the world. Dedicated to advancing scientific psychology across disciplinary and geographic borders
Dana Foundation
The Dana Foundation advances neuroscience that benefits society and reflects the aspirations of all people. They explore the connections between neuroscience and society’s challenges and opportunities, working to maximize the potential of the field to do good.
The International Neuroinformatics Coordinating Facility
Develops collaborative neuroinformatics infrastructure and promotes the sharing of data and computing resources to the international research community
International Neuropsychological Society
The mission of the International Neuropsychological Society is to promote the international and interdisciplinary study of brain-behavioral relationships throughout the lifespan. The Society’s emphasis is on science, education, and the applications of scientific knowledge.
National Academy of Neuropsychology
A non-profit professional membership association for experts in the assessment and treatment of brain injuries and disorders.
Society for Neuroscience
Year-round programming includes the publishing of two highly regarded scientific journals, JNeurosci and eNeuro; professional development resources and career training through Neuronline¸ the Society’s home for learning and discussion; science advocacy and public policy engagement including annual Capitol Hill Day; and a variety of engaging public outreach efforts, led by the expanding and interactive collection of public-facing resources on BrainFacts.org.

Research Funding Opportunities

Pivot - UF Funding Database
Pivot is a searchable funding opportunities and expertise database. It is available to all UF faculty, staff and students, who may register for free.
Dana Foundation Grants
Advancing neuroscience that inspires transformational ideas where the field intersects with education, law, policy, and public engagement, among others. With grants that support interdisciplinary, collaborative work, we foster experimentation, investigation, and fresh thinking to open up pathways toward a better future.
NICHD Funding for Neuroscience Resreach
NICHD (National Institute of Child Health and Human Development) has several active notices of funding opportunities (NOFOs), including requests for application (RFAs), program announcements (PAs), PAs with special reviews (PARs), and notices (NOTs) related to the neurosciences.
NIH Blueprint Funding Opportunities
Search for all NIH (National Institutes of Health) Blueprint-related funding opportunities, request for applications, and program announcements.
NINDS Funding Opportunities
All NINDS (National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke)-related notices of funding opportunities (NOFOs), request for applications (RFAs), program announcements (PAs), and other NIH Guide announcements are listed.

Stress Management and Mindfulness Resources

10 Steps to Mastering Stress by David H. Barlow; Ronald M. Rapee; Sarah Perini
ISBN: 0199917531
Publication Date: 2014
Available online
A step-by-step program that will help you identify what is causing your stress, teach you proven calming techniques, and most importantly, show you how to think more realistically in ways that will reduce, rather than increase, your stressful reactions to daily events in your life.
Bliss More by Light Watkins
ISBN: 9780399180354
Publication Date: 2018
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL (first floor Wellness collection)
From one of America's top meditation teachers and mindfulness experts comes a revolutionarily simple approach to everyday practice--especially if you don't think you have the time or the patience.
Feel Good: how to change your mood and cope with whatever comes your way by Shane Pascoe; Graham Law
ISBN: 9780857084521
Publication Date: 2014
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL (first floor Wellness collection)
A practical, inspirational guide to managing your moods, improving your outlook, and beating stress and anxiety
First Do No Self Harm : Understanding and Promoting Physician Stress Resilience by Charles Figley; Peter Huggard; Charlotte Rees
ISBN: 9780195383263
Publication Date: 2013
Available online
A comprehensive tool for understanding and promoting physician stress resilience.
Integrative wellness rules: a simple guide to healthy living by Jim Nicolai; Andrew Weil (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781401940478
Publication Date: 2013
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL (first floor Wellness collection)
This book provides quick and easy health tips for individuals who are on the run but still need strategies to better manage their fast-paced lives.
Physician Mental Health and Well-Being by Kirk J. Brower (Editor); Michelle B. Riba (Editor)
ISBN: 3319555820
Publication Date: 2017
Available online
This book explores the important topic of mental health and related problems among physicians, including trainees.

See also:

Check out these library guides for more information on wellness activities at the HSCL, walking trails around campus, guided meditation sessions, and more.

HSCL Wellness Guide

Health Humanities and Nature Based Therapies Guide

Professional Development Books

53 Interesting Ways to Communicate Your Research by Irenee Daly (Editor, Contribution by); Aoife Brophy Haney (Editor, Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781907076657
Publication Date: 2014
Available online
Covers a range of communications types and challenges within academia and outside of it.
Be Brilliant Every Day by Andy Cope; Andy Whittaker
ISBN: 9780857085009
Publication Date: 2014
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL (first floor Wellness collection)
The Art of Being Brilliant is here to show us how to get motivated, get positive and get happy, and, most importantly, how to be all three consistently. Every single day.
Caring for Patients from Different Cultures by Geri-Ann Galanti
ISBN: 0812290275
Publication Date: 2014
Available online
Provides healthcare workers with a frame of reference for understanding cultural difference and sound alternatives for providing the best possible care to multicultural communities.
Communication for Healthcare Professionals by Michael P. Pagano
ISBN: 0826124410
Publication Date: 2016
Available online
Promotes an interdisciplinary approach to the study of health communication
Designing Science Presentations by Matt Carter
ISBN: 9780123859709
Publication Date: 2012
Available online
Guides researchers and graduate students of virtually any discipline in the creation of compelling science communication.
Empathy : from bench to bedside by Jean Decety (Editor)
ISBN: 0262297736
Publication Date: 2011
Available online
Recent work on empathy theory, research, and applications, by scholars from disciplines ranging from neuroscience to psychoanalysis.
Healthcare Teamwork by Theresa J. K. Drinka; Phillip G. Clark; Ron Stock (Foreword by); DeWitt C. Baldwin (Foreword by)
ISBN: 1440835101
Publication Date: 2016
Available online
Both comprehensive and accessible, this is an ideal resource for anyone who plans to teach or practice integrated, cost-effective healthcare in the 21st century.
How to Be a Better Scientist by Andrew Johnson; John Sumpter
ISBN: 1351745034
Publication Date: 2018
Available online
Understanding the fundamentals of conducting good science, that will have an impact, is the goal of every aspiring scientist. Providing a wealth of tips, How to be a Better Scientist is the book to read if you want to succeed in this competitive field.
Issues in Health and Health Care Related to Race/Ethnicity, Immigration, SES and Gender by Jennie Jacobs Kronenfeld (Editor)
ISBN: 1283588692
Publication Date: 2012
Available online
Looks at the important links between major social factors and health and health care. The four main factors examined in the book are race/ethnicity, immigration, Socioeconomic Status (SES) and gender.
LGBTQ cultures : what health care professionals need to know about sexual and gender diversity by Michele J. Eliason, Michele J; Peggy L. Chinn
ISBN: 9781496394606
Publication Date: 2017
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL and Library West
Drawn from real-world experience and current research, the fully updated 3rd Edition paves the way for healthcare professionals to provide well-informed, culturally sensitive healthcare to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) patients.
The Massachusetts General Hospital Textbook on Diversity and Cultural Sensitivity in Mental Health by Ranna Parekh (Editor)
ISBN: 9781461489184
Publication Date: 2013
Available online
As society in the US increasingly diversifies, there is a crucial need to prepare health care professionals to effectively treat this changing population. The Massachusetts General Hospital Textbook on Diversity and Cultural Sensitivity in Mental Health addresses the importance and relevance of cultural sensitivity in US mental health.
Participatory Healthcare by Jan Oldenburg (Editor); Mary P. Griskewicz (Editor)
ISBN: 1498769632
Publication Date: 2016
Available online
This book is written through the lens of patients, caregivers, healthcare representatives and families, highlighting new models of interaction between providers and patients and what people would like in their healthcare experience.
TED Talks by Chris J. Anderson
ISBN: 0544634497
Publication Date: 2016
Available online
Since taking over TED in the early 2000s, Chris Anderson has shown how carefully crafted short talks can be the key to unlocking empathy, stirring excitement, spreading knowledge, and promoting a shared dream. This book explains how the miracle of powerful public speaking is achieved, and equips you to give it your best shot.