Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Women's & Gender Studies

Women's and Gender Studies research takes an interdisciplinary approach to the study of gender, its function in cultures and societies, and its intersections with race and class.

Image Resources

Image Databases

Ad*Access 

An extensive on-line database of over 7,000 advertisments from the J. Walter Thompson Company Competitive Advertisement Collection. It is available from the John W. Hartman Center at Duke University. The images are from U.S. newspapers and magazines from 1911 through 1955.

AP Images Searchable archive of over one million photographs dating back to 1826 and as current as a few moments ago.

Advertising Archives

ARTstor  A nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. These community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

Emergence of Advertising in America

Another site from Duke University that antedates the Ad*Access site listed above. Presents over 9000 images from 1850-1920 relating to the early history of advertising in the United States.

NYPL Digital Gallery "provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more."

Vintage Ad Browser

 

Fulltext Magazines with Images

American Periodical Series Online

Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740-1900 including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children’s and women’s magazines. Including Godey's Lady's Book, Harper's Bazaar, Lippincott's, Vanity Fair, Cosmopolitan, and Ladies' Home Journal. (In the advanced search, limit your search to ad as a document type)

Good Housekeeping (1885-1950)

Harper's Bazaar  (1867 - 1900)

Life Magazine Archive

 

 

Ms. Magazine from 01/01/1988 to present in GenderWatch (Legacy Platform

Time Archive (1923-present)

Websites

American Antiquarian Society  - Beauty, Virtue & Vice: Images of Women in Nineteenth-Century American Prints

Florida Memory Project – Women Who Serve: http://floridamemory.com/photographiccollection/photo_exhibits/women-serve/

Florida Memory Project – Women’s History:  http://floridamemory.com/photographiccollection/photo_exhibits/women/

Working Women  1800-1930: http://ocp.hul.harvard.edu/ww/

Library of Congress:

Women's History Month: https://www.loc.gov/free-to-use/womens-history-month

Rosie Pictures: Select Images Relating to American Women Workers During World War II:  http://www.loc.gov/rr/print/list/126_rosi.html

Votes for Women: The Struggle for Women's Suffrage Selected Images from the Collections of the Library of Congress: http://www.loc.gov/rr/print/list/076_vfw.html

 

Comic Books and Cartoons

Library of Congress: http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/awhhtml/awser2/comic_books.html

Women in Comics  - Selected Resources

Katy Keene: 

http://scoop.diamondgalleries.com/public/default.asp?t=1&m=1&c=34&s=264&ai=44664&ssd=11/29/2003&arch=y

http://www.mightycrusaders.net/a_whoswho/katy.htm

Wonder Woman: http://www.dccomics.com/sites/wonderwoman/

Liza Donnelly- New Yorker Cartoonist: http://lizadonnelly.com/cartoons

Blogs

Sociological Images – Seeing is Believing: http://thesocietypages.org/socimages/

Posters

Aids Poster Collection

TV and Video Sources

AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials

Critical Past: View more than 57,000 historic videos and 7 million photos for FREE in one of the world's largest collections of royalty-free archival stock footage.

TVLand

 

 

 

 

 

 

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.