General Links
Washington State University’s online guide to American literature.
Provides brief biographies about a multitude of notable figures in history across time and the world.
Commends the contributions of women writers all throughout history; offers comprehensive biographic information about women authors as well as links to access books written by women.
Inventory of publications from post-secondary works, including, but not limited to: books, dissertations, ERIC items, journal articles, and review-essays.
Created by Allison Protas, this dictionary provides interpretations of symbols based on cultural significance and context.
Provides free access to hundreds of full-text works from contemporary poets.
A master list of English studies resources: includes archive resources, book reviews, full texts, and resources pertaining to critical theory.
Contains millions of digitized books and texts that are free to download.
Includes a collection of literary criticism websites; organized by author, title, and literary period.
Literature in Latin America – resources are organized by Country (website in Spanish)
A compilation of websites that specifically pertain to English and American literature; organized by time-period.
Has over 25,000 various poems from 4,000+ poets.
A library of over 60,000 free, open-access eBooks; a majority of these eBooks are older literary works (published before 1924).
A structured annotated guide of online resources for humanities subjects (the linked page is specifically for Literature in English)
Time Period-Specific Links
A collection of works published between 1860 and 1930 ranging from popular fiction and non-fiction titles from the time period to scholarly documents critiquing dime novels.
A collection of information about 18th century British works organized by authors, themes, and articles.
A collection of free-access links to texts from the 15th, the 16th, and the 17th centuries.
Known as the world’s largest Shakespeare collection, this website provides basic information about his texts as well as links to access his works online.
This Jane Austen blog brings Jane Austen, her novels, and the Regency Period alive through food, dress, social customs, and other 19th C. historical details related to this topic.
A collection of literary criticism articles about literary works released in the 19th and the 20th century – organized by author.
A scholarly website dedicated to English literature from the Medieval Times, the Renaissance, the 17th century, and the 18th century.
Publishes thousands of free online classics: fiction, nonfiction, reference, and verse.
“An international, open-access journal devoted to British Romantic literature.”
“Dedicated to the scholarly study of nineteenth-century Britain” by providing access to archives, journals, and listserv archives.
Presents information about the Victorian era through an interdisciplinary lens that emphasizes the connections between various kinds of information (i.e. analyzing Ernest Hemingway’s works through a historical, political, religious, and social lens).
Organized by Indiana University; the primary goal of the project is to spotlight lesser-known British women writers from the 1800s.
“The most comprehensive bibliography of American adult fiction of the 18th and the 19th centuries.”
Writing Guides
An assortment of interactive tutorials designed for undergraduates who need assistance with writing an academic paper.
Produced by the University of Illinois, this writing guide provides an abundance of resources for those needing help with the general writing process, academic writing, and/or application documents.
A comprehensive guide that delves into each stage of the writing process and was specifically designed for undergraduate students in literary studies courses.
|
