Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Journal Articles
Access to these databases is restricted to current UF students/staff/faculty.
IEEE/IEE Electronic Library (IEL)
provides indexing and full-text access to IEEE and IEE/IET transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards
Electronics & Communications Abstracts
covers circuits, components and materials, photonics, control and systems, telecommunications, power systems. Great for searching figures and tables.
Free web portal for search and rank of scientific articles published in journals and conferences worldwide, in computer sciences, electronics and related areas. Focus on relevance of results and technical collaboration. Covers ACM publications, IEEE CS publications, as well as those listed by CiteSeerX, DBLP and many other databases.
ACM Digital Library
contains "Full text of every article ever published by ACM."
INSPEC 1970+ This link opens in a new window
Indexes scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computing, and information technology, from 1896 to the present. Includes some books, reports, and dissertations.
Academic Search Premier
Our top pick for a few good articles on any subject. Good for basic journals and multidisciplinary topics. For in-depth research, also search engineering-specific databases above.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world back to 1900. Also provides cited reference searching to see who has cited whom.
is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. It covers areas such as physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, and computer science.
E-print Network: Research Communications for Scientists and Engineers
gateway to over 26,000 Web sites and databases worldwide, containing 1.2 million e-prints primarily in physics but also chemistry, biology and life sciences, materials science, nuclear sciences and engineering, energy research, computing and IT.
When using a campus computer or UF Wireless, you're connected to the UF network. But for off-campus access to library-licensed e-Journals, research databases and e-resources, use either:
UF VPN - or - the library proxy server (on the remote logon page)
When you see in your search results, click for access to digital full-text material.
How to Write Papers for MTT
What are reviewers and Editors looking for in a technical paper? Why are your submissions being rejected? Watchthis video for tips that are relevant to all IEEE publications.
Looking for one article?
Journal article citations usually look similar to this:
Authorname, A.B. (2008). "Title of article." Journal Name. Vol 25, issue 3, pages 47-58.
Search the Library Catalog for the Journal Name to see if UF subscribes to the journal. You may see 2 records for your Journal Name.
- One has a link to the online version of the journal, and tells you which years we have online.
- Another shows you the library, call number (shelf location), and inventory (volumes and issues) that we have in print.
Stuck with a a journal abbreviation? Use JAbbr.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.