Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UFL Business LibGuides
Gateway to business information at the University of Florida's George A. Smathers Libraries.
A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC)
Hosts more than 300 digital collections, containing over 8 million digitized pages including maps, newspapers, data sets, photographs, oral histories and more. Check out this amazing free resource when searching for primary sources especially within UF or Florida history.
Florida Electronic Library
Logging in via a Florida IP address provides access to a core collection of licensed online resources and virtual reference works from the state's Division of Library and Information Services.
Alternative Press Resources
New Journalism/Mass Communication Titles
- Jim Romenesko's Media Blog
Selected Reference Books
The Handbook of Global Online Journalism (e-book) by
Call Number: http://uf.catalog.fcla.edu/permalink.jsp?20UF032559085
Publication Date: 2012-09-25
Provides a state-of-the-art overview of current research and future directions of online journalism Traces the evolution of journalistic practices, business models, and shifting patterns of journalistic cultures that have emerged around the world with the migration of news online Written and edited by top international researchers and practitioners in the area of online journalism Features an extensive breadth of coverage, including economics, organizational practices, contents and experiences Discusses developments in online news in a wide range of countries, from the USA to Brazil, and from Germany to China Contains original theory, new research data, and reviews of existing studies in the field
Encyclopedia of American Journalism by
Call Number: PN4855.E53 2008 (Library West Reference - 3rd Floor)
Publication Date: 2007-09-12
The Encyclopedia of American Journalism explores the distinctions found in print media, radio, television, and the internet. This work seeks to document the role of these different forms of journalism in the formation of America's understanding and reaction to political campaigns, war, peace, protest, slavery, consumer rights, civil rights, immigration, unionism, feminism, environmentalism, globalization, and more. This work also explores the intersections between journalism and other phenomena in American Society, such as law, crime, business, comsumption, etc. The evolution of journalism's ethical standards is discussed, as well as the important libel and defamation trials that have influenced journalistic practice, its legal protection, and legal responsibilities. Topics covered include: Associations and Organizations; Historical Overview and Practice; Individuals; Journalism in American History; Laws, Acts, and Legislation; Print, Broadcast, Newsgroups, and Corporations; Technologies.
The Encyclopedia of War Journalism by
Call Number: PN4784.W37 R68 2010 - (Library West Reference - 3rd Floor)
Publication Date: 2010-08-15
Up-to-date through 2010, this resource examines the development, history and current state of war journalism. With complete coverage from the Mexican War to the War in Iraq and everything in between, this important reference tool provides a unique look at this interesting topic. Features include: Entries cover reporters, photographers, and artists who represented a newspaper, magazine, radio, or television station, or another news source as well as significant events and terms relating to war reporting from 1846 to the recent conflicts in Iraq and Afghanistan; Helpful Appendices cover each War or Conflict to make easy work of locating correspondents by the conflict they covered; Appendix on Pulitzer Prizes for War Reporting; Appendix on Correspondents and Photographers Who Died Covering War Zones; Selected Bibliography & Cumulative Subject Index. With thoughtful, detailed coverage of war journalism around the world, this updated reference tool will be a helpful addition to the reference collections of public, university and high school libraries along with journalism and military history collections.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.