Guides @ UF: Pharmacy: Databases

Featured Database

Full text books including Pharmacotherapy, Goodman and Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, and Basic & Clinical Pharmacology. Includes drug information, diagnostic/lab test information, calculators, and ACPE Core Curriculum and exam review questions. Courtesy of the College of Pharmacy . There is a link to a tutorial for this database on this LibGuide’s Help and Tutorials Page.

Create a Profile in MyAccessPharmacy to use the quizzes, review questions, and case studies and the mobile version .

Free Mobile apps & resources

There are many more websites or apps out there. These are just the tip of the iceberg. Unless I said there is a charge these are all free. Some are the lite version of a product that is available

Go to https://wiki.helpdesk.ufl.edu for instructions on setting up the VPN on your iTouch or iPhone./ They don't have instructions set up for Droids yet.

1. PubMed for Handhelds and Mobile phones: http://pubmedhh.nlm.nih.gov/

(This version is not linked to our holdings)

2AIDSinfor for mobile phones from NIH: http://m.aidsinfo.nih.gov/ . Includes a glossary, information on AIDS drugs for professionals, patients and in Spanish.

3. MDConsult Mobile: http://m.mdconsult.com

Instructions:

1. Go to http:// www.mdconsult.com from a computer within your institution.

2. Click on Create an Account on the top right.

3. Complete the registration form and create a unique username and password. Then, click on

Continue to submit your information.

4. Logout of MD Consult.

5. Using the web browser on your mobile device, go to MD Consult Mobile (http://m.mdconsult.com). Login to MD Consult Mobile from your mobile browser using your new personal login

4. Micromedex Mobile

For instructions: click on Handheld PDA tab or in Micromedex 2.0 click on the word Mobile

Free mobile access and app for iPhone and iTouch using these instructions since we subscribe.

5. AccessPharmacy (& AccessMedicine)

Compatible with iPhone, Blackberry Bold and Google Android. It doesn't include all the resources.

If you haven't set up a login and password to access the quizzes or case studies go to MyAccessPharmacy and click on Create Profile before you try accessing

the mobile version. Once you have a login and password use your phone's browser and go to www.accesspharmacy.com. It will route you to the mobile

version. You will need to login using your MyAccessPharmacy login and password.

6. Free iphone/iTouch apps

Medscape.com ( if you are a registered user

Epocrates ( free version)

Johns Hopkins ABX Vaccines ( There is a charge for the mobile version of full Johns Hopkins ABX database)

PubMed on Tap Lite - free

full version $2.99

Searches PubMed & will link to the full text if we subscribe and you have the VPN turned on.

Databases: Top Picks

For a complete list of databases go to the HSC Library's Database Page. Also see the listing in the Resources: UF Databases & Free Websites Box ( on this page), which includes free websites.

Access Pharmacy
Full text pharmacy texts, clinical tools, calculators, drug information & ACPE curricular resources. Includes exam review resources. Courtesy of the College of Pharmacy
Clinical Pharmacology
Subject: Pharmaceutical, nutraceutical and nutritional product information
Full text drug monographs and dosing, interaction and identification tools.
Years: Current

Cochrane Library
Includes full text Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, DARE and Cochrane's Central Register of Controlled Trials ( not full text).
MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series
Full text drug reference materials (including drug information from Martindales, Drugdex, and Identidex), dosing and interaction tools.

Years: Current

PubMed
Subject: Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the preclinical sciences, nutrition, delivery of health care, pharmacology, environmental health, pathology, toxicology, biochemistry, genetics, molecular biology, and psychiatry

more... less...

Formats: Journal articles
Years: 1966 to present
Natural Medicines
Monographs on natural products including herbal medications along with information on other therapies including OT, PT and acupuncture. It also includes information on wellness, comparative effectiveness, and genomics

Stat!Ref
Full text of medical textbooks including AHFS Drug Information®
Years: Current
SciFinder
Online version of Chemical Abstracts. Citations from Medline are also included.

Reaxys Database
Chemical Information

Citation Bibliography Management

Resources to help you manage your citations.

Refworks
Accessable via our Database page. Must create a login and password. UF faculty, staff and students only. Must be on VPN or proxy to access from off campus. Guide and tutorial links on help/tutorials page
Endnote - web version via Web of Knowledge (Science)
UF Students, Faculty and Staff only. If accessing from off campus- must be logged into either VPN or proxy. You must create a login and password to use this feature. Endnote is also a software package that has to purchased by an individual.
My NCBI
Create collections of saved citations from PubMed. Can share collection. Also can set permanent filters and create alerts by saving strategies.
Zotero
FireFox extention for managing your citations
Mendeley
Free bibliographic software that allows you to manage and share your citations. You can download it or register for the online version.

Resources: UF Databases & Free Websites

There are two documents. One contains databases to which UF subscribes and the 2nd one is a list of free websites that you might find useful after you graduate, including ones that contain free full text journal articles.

You need to double check the commercial drug information sites for their authoritativeness and currency. Check with your instructor for the acceptability of the .com sites before using them for an assignment.

Databases
List of UF's databases that may be useful in pharmacy research. It does include PubMed, which is free.
Drug Information Resources
A Google document listing resources at UF along with free resources for finding information on drugs ( pharmaceutical preparations).
Free Websites
Free websites that you may find useful. It includes free databases as well as websites that have free full text. Double check the drug information sites for the authoritativeness & reliability. Check with your professor for acceptability for coursework

Subject Guide

Lauren Adkins

Email Me

Contact:

Health Science Center Libraries
PO Box 100206
Gainesville, FL
32610

352-273-8444

Subjects: Medicine, Pharmacy