Writing and Citing - WPPD & MTM Programs - Pharmacy Distance Education

Citation Bibliography Management

Resources to help you manage your citations.

Refworks
Accessable via our Database page. Must create a login and password. UF faculty, staff and students only. Must be on VPN or proxy to access from off campus. Guide and tutorial links on help/tutorials page
Endnote - web version via Web of Knowledge (Science)
UF Students, Faculty and Staff only. If accessing from off campus- must be logged into either VPN or proxy. You must create a login and password to use this feature. Endnote is also a software package that has to purchased by an individual.
My NCBI
Create collections of saved citations from PubMed. Can share collection. Also can set permanent filters and create alerts by saving strategies.
Zotero
FireFox extention for managing your citations

Citation Formats

The following resources contain the citation formats you need to use when citing references for assignments. These is the formats used when creating reference lists for articles in pharmacy journals. The WPPD program uses the National Library of Medicine's Citing Medicine:The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers. The other formats are for informational purposes only. Use Citing Medicine for your assignments.

Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers.
NLM's style manual for writing references or citations for print and electronic resources. This is the style used by the WPPD program.
more...less...
Hint: Go down the table of Contents to find the type of material (journal, journal on the internet, database, book)
then look at the examples to see if there is one that resembles your source. Use that example as a template.
NLM Citation Quick Guide from Washington State University
Washington State University's Libraries' Quick Guide to the NLM citation format. It includes samples for the most commonly used publication types.
International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts
Short list of citations for commonly used types of materials such as journal articles, books, book chapters and electronic books and journals.
QUICK REFERENCE CITATION FORMAT : AMA Style Manual 2007
Most frequently used formats for citing print and electronic resources including journal articles, books, parts of books, databases or Internet sites. Taken from the AMA Style Manual.
Citing Clinical Pharmacology
Citation format suggested by Clinical Pharmacology for their resources. Has formats for both CD and Internet versions.
Micromedex citation format
Make sure you use AMA format for Internet version.
AMA Manual of Style
Includes reference styles. Must be logged into either the EzProxy or VPN to access it from off campus.

Other citing/ writing help

Writing & Publishing LibGuide
Writing Resources
Non medical writing styles and manuals. Good for articles written for non-medical / non-pharmaceutical journals ( sociology, law, policy)
Copyright on Campus

Selecting a journal for your article

These sources will help authors evaluate potential journals for their articles. One of the sources refers to Beall's list, but that list of predatory publishers has been removed from the Internet.

Evaluating Online Scholarly Journals for Quality
Tips for evaluating the quality, and legitimacy of a journal, before submitting your article
Evaluating an OA journal before submitting an article
Dear Esteemed Author:” Spotting a Predatory Publisher in 10 Easy Steps
Article by Christopher Morley, PhD. on the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine Blog. Posted May 23, 2016.
ThinkCheckSubmit.org
Contains a check list for determining whether a journal is predatory or legitimate.
Identifying Preditory Publishers from The Scientist online magazine

WPPD & MTM Programs - Pharmacy Distance Education: Writing and Citing

Citation Bibliography Management

Citation Formats

Other citing/ writing help

Selecting a journal for your article