Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fall New Student Orientation Slides
Universal Search Techniques
Two techniques you can use in internet as well as library database searches.
Access to Full Text
Several paths to obtaining full text of items you've found in UF library's literature databases.
Choosing Databases for SLH Research
Strengths and weaknesses, subject content of some of the UF library databases you could use for your research projects
Cooking up a Search Strategy
How to combine terms to retrieve literature on your research topic
Field and Proximity Searching
Two strategies you can exploit for more precise searching in library databases
A little information on some common functions of bibliographic (otherwise known as "library") databases so you can recognize and more easily use them when you search a new-to-you database.
Graduate SLH Orientation 8-31-20
14 slides with notes on the library's new-as-of-8/24/30 website, navigation around the website, remote access, access icons in databases, best databases for various aspects of SLH, using the library's catalog, library workshops (free), and discipline-specific resource guides.
For Undergraduate Researchers
National Institutes & Centers
ENC3254CSD_Professional_Writing is a LibGuide linking specifically for job ad sites and samples and info on resumes, personal statements, and tips on graduate school
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.