Guides @ UF: Audiology: Finding Articles & Grey Literature

Full-Text Access

Remember, for remote access to all UF electronic resources use the VPN software or the Proxy Server.

Some databases, journals and resources are free for anyone to access and some are only accessible to UF affiliates through the libraries' subscription. To access subscription resources while off campus, you must be logged in to the VPN or the proxy service.

Access to electronic resources should be seamless from any UF networked computer. Note that some computers in Shands may require remote access.

Eligibility for access: UF students/faculty/staff members with current, valid UF ID/Gator1 Card.

Image by Christina Smith from Pixabay

Core Journals

Psychosocial

Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)( Ovid ) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Reserch This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Some overlap with PsycINFO. Subjects covered: psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Formats included: books, book chapters and journal articles but not dissertations.
PsycINFO (on EBSCOHost online platform) 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, book chapters, dissertations (no theses) and journal articles on psychology and mental/emotional health, intellectual disabilities and psychosocial effects of physical conditions.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines with abstracting and indexing of articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and more.
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
(Subset of EBSCO Academic Search Premier)

Educational

ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Education from infant to post-doc and continuing education.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Subjects: all levels of education from early childhood to higher ed, health ed, multilingual, deaf ed, mainstreaming, testing, classroom management. Formats included: journal articles, books, education-related conference papers, and book reviews (watch for this difference if you're looking for literature reviews or review articles.)
Education Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest

Communication/Linguistics

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete includes 917 active indexed and abstracted journals. 877 of them are peer-reviewed.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Good on linguistic elements of speech (phonemes,fricatives, labials, alveolars, glides, diphthongs, consonant blends), pragmatics, vocabulary, syntax, accents and accent reduction, multilingualism, graphemes.

Technological

IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Conference papers/proceedings and journal articles written by electrical engineers for electrical engineers so replete with technical/technological concepts and terminology butuseful in learning about cutting edge and proposed solutions to sound amplification and quality issues.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Intended for engineers, so the language and concepts are technical but a good way to stay current on amplificationoi and other communication technologies.
Abstracts in New Technology & Engineering (ANTE) This link opens in a new window
PART of a Engineering Index database, UF licenses only this part of Engineering Index.

Disability/Rehabilition

REHABDATA This link opens in a new window
US-focused, NIH-funded research. No full-text links, but bibliographic info you need to locate in the catalog or order through Interlibrary Loan.

Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange
International rehab literature that complements the REHABDATA database. Links to Universal Design (UD) database. Much, much smaller than PubMed or the other commercial databases, so search broadly.

Subject Guide

Courtney Pyche

Email Me

Contact:

352-273-9878