Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Audiology: Resources

Resources for the distance & on-campus student, researcher, instructor and practitioners associated with the University of Florida.

Class Handouts

Images

Auditory Transduction (2002)  7-minute video by Brandon Pletsch takes viewers on a step-by-step voyage through the inside of the ear, to the acoustic accompaniment of classical music. Pletsch, a former medical illustration student at the Medical College of Georgia, first built a physical ear model and mapped which frequency ranges hit which parts of the inner ear. He then created digital renderings of each part of the hearing pathway using several software packages. A narrator describes how the sound waves travel through each portion of the ear, and how hair cells translate the vibrations they induce into nerve impulses.

Department of Defense Hearing Center of Excellence educational Videos

The Ear and Hearing created by the physics department at Georgia State University. Diagram and short explanation of anatomy of the human ear and how it processes sound .

Ear Organ of Corti (Full version, 2010) 3D visual promoting the understanding of how everything comes together

Effect of Sound Waves on Cochlear Structures 5/2/15 Chapter 13 Seeley’s Principles of Anatomy and Physiology (2nd edition 2012) A Courtesy of "Philip Tate")

How Hearing Works. Hearing Health Foundation

Virtual Tour of the Ear (Augustana College)

Device Info

FDA's Device Advice

MAUDE - device adverse effects reporting database

Federal Communication Commission's Disability Issues - includes a Section 504 Handbook,

Gallaudet's Technology Access Program- research related to communication technologies and services 

Misc format of possible interest

Deafness as a Public Health Issue in teh 1920s & 1930s Part I, Part II . Dr. Jaipreet Virdi-Dhesi, the Academy’s 2016 Klemperer Fellow in the History of Medicine, writes a two-part guest post on efforts in the 1920s and 1930s to frame deafness as a public health issue. (Links and text from New York Academy of Medicine's August 2016 E-News.)

Tutorials

Tutorials developed by the database provider:

EBSCO databases (CINAHL, PsycINFO, Education Source, Communication & Mass Media Complete)

EndNote Online/Web/Basic (same software, just changing names--PDF only)

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) 

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts 

PubMed

RefWorks (makes bibliographies/reference lists/intext citations for you)

Web of Science

Help with Bibliographies

 

Patient-oriented Resources

Communication Access Center

Federal and ADA Disability Resources. Links to housing, transportation, civil rights, education, employment, emergency preparedness, etc.

Federal Communications Commissions Disability Accesaibility Consumer Guides

Florida Coordinating Council for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing - links to organizations and information on education, employment, legal, medical and public safety matters for this population.  1

Gallaudet University's Annual Survey of Deaf and Hard of Hearing Children & Youth, 1999-2014. 

Healthy Hearing a dot-com but includes news stories, FAQs for consumers, links to hearing aid companies and "Find an Audiologist" for selected geographic areas.

Hearing Health Foundation

Listening and Spoken Language Knowledge Center formerly known as the Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing

Hearing Loss Information from Gallaudet University. Some anatomy & physiology, discussion of types of hearing loss, their causes and their effects.

RMTC/OSBD Resource Materials and Training Center for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing/Outreach Services for the Blind/Visually Impaiared and Deaf/Hard of Hearing

National Library of Medicine - Hearing Disorders and Deafness

 

 

Occupational Hearing Loss Prevention

Center for Disease Control and Prevention National Institute for Occupational Safety & Health (NIOS) Noise and Hearing Loss Prevention

Dept of Defense Hearing Center of Excellence Simluation and Apps and Resources for Professionals, the latter including standards  and clinical practice guidelines, evaluation and treatment, including for Tinnitus

Occupational Safety and Health Administration Noise Exposure (OSHA)

NIOSH Hearing Loss Simlulator (2010)  Zip file. Input age, years of exposure, gender, background and forground S/N ratios. Set up for the mining industry.

 

Audiology Research

CE Op'ties

Listening and Spoken Language Specialist exam practice from AG Bell Academy 

Miscellaneous

Deaf People & World War II  Informative and interesting. Includes videos of deaf survivors, rescuers, artists: Americans, Europeans, and Asians.

Laurent Clerc National Deaf Education Center at Gallaudet University. Resources on the development and education of deaf and hard of hearing children

Signing Savvy Resource for American Sign Language learners; "a sign language dictionary containing several thousand high resolution videos of American Sign Language (ASL) signs, fingerspelled words, and other common signs used within the United States and Canada."

ICD codes for audiology

ICD 10 - CM codes for Audiology from ASHA

Videos, Ted Talks

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.