Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Full text books including Pharmacotherapy, Goodman and Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, and Basic & Clinical Pharmacology. Includes drug information, diagnostic/lab test information, calculators, and ACPE Core Curriculum and exam review questions. Courtesy of the College of Pharmacy . The College of Pharmacy has created 2 versions of a tutorial for this database. Here is a You Tube video tutorial for the database.
We do have a link to this database on our Database Page. The College of Medicine's Office of Graduate Medical Education pays for it, not the Library, so we have no control over it. It is only available on campus and via the VPN if you are not on campus. It is not available if you are logging in through the UF Libraries' Proxy.
We do have some other alternatives to it:
- DiseaseDex Emergency Medicine
- DiseaseDex General Medicine
- StatRef ( on Database Page)
- SmartMedicine by the American College of Physicians
- This is tied to Essentials of Drug Information from the AHFS
- Access Medicine
- Under Quick Reference
- Quick Medical Diagnosis and Treatment
- Current Practice Guidelines in Primary Care
- In the Readings section ( Textbooks)
- Harrison’s Manual of Medicine
Databases & Free Websites
There are two documents. One contains databases to which UF subscribes and the 2nd one is a list of free websites that you might find useful after you graduate, including ones that contain free full text journal articles.
List of UF's databases that may be useful in pharmacy research. It does include PubMed, which is free.
Free websites that you may find useful. It includes free databases as well as websites that have free full text. Double check the drug information sites for the authoritativeness & reliability.
Databases: Top Picks
For a complete list of databases go to the HSC Library's Database Page. Also see the listing in the Resources List Box ( on this page), which includes free websites. You must be logged onto the system through the "Off Campus Access page.
Full text pharmacy texts, clinical tools, calculators, drug information & ACPE curricular resources. Includes exam review resources. Courtesy of the College of Pharmacy
Subject: Pharmaceutical, nutraceutical and nutritional product information
Formats: Full monographs and "mini" monographs
Cochrane Library ( Evidence Based Medicine
Cochrane Systematic Reviews, DARE,
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Economic Evaluations and more
Official labelling/inserts for prescription drugs. It is not all inclusive.
IPA: International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
We have this database available through OVID. It covers all aspects of the pharmaceutical sciences including pharmacy practice, education and drug discovery
Peer reviewed full text database on chemicals and drugs on lactating mothers including drug levels in breast milk and in breastfed infants. It includes levels found in these infants and possible effects. Alternative drugs are listed.
MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window
Subject: Medicine, Pharmacy, and Toxicology
Formats: Reference materials (including drug information from Martindales, Drugdex, and Identidex) and dosing tools.
Natural Standard and Comprehensive Natural Medicines Database merged. Contains multiple databases including Natural products, sports medicine, health and wellness, foods, herbs and supplements . Includes multiple tools and CEs accredited by ACPE.
Subject: Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the preclinical sciences, nutrition, delivery of health care, pharmacology, environmental health, pathology, toxicology, biochemistry, genetics, molecular biology, and psychiatry. Free
NCBI Pubchem This link opens in a new window
four databases : PubChem Compound which contains information on unique compounds; PubChem Substance contains substance information from other sites and links to those sites, PubChem Bioassay searches bioassay terms; PubChem Structure searches the graphical structure Compound or substance searches may link to outside sources such as DailyMed, DrugBank,MeSH
Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
Full text of medical textbooks including AHFS Drug Information® , Stedman's Medical Dictionary and Calc2000 medical calculators. It also containe an alternative to UpToDate.
Free toxicology databases from the National Library of Medicine including some full text databases. Includes Lactmed, Hazardous Substances Database, ChemID, Dart and Toxline.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.