Google Scholar is a subset of Google, focusing on scholarly literature. It is a fast & broad internet search engine with little mediation. Results include grey literature such as preprints, theses & dissertations, and white papers that have not been peer reviewed.
Tips: Use the Advanced Search to develop a more explicit search. Use capital letters for Boolean search operators (AND, OR) and the minus symbol for NOT. Use quotes for exact matches to phrases. You can export individual results or create a free profile to save and export folders of results to citation managers. Click "Related articles" or "Cited by" to see closely related work, or search for author's name and see what else they have written. If UF has a subscription to the journal, click on Find it@UF or click on the title to open up the full text.
Cautions: Google Scholar includes content that is not peer reviewed. It does not offer extensive options to refine the vast results. Results are not reproducible, in that they vary from date and location searched. Try comparing results with one of the databases the libraries subscribe to!
|
|
|
Databases are different than Search Engines.
Databases are usually subject-specific and include content that meets certain criteria. Databases offer many ways to sort search results, such as by Peer Review. In STEM, databases focus on journal articles, conference proceedings, and book chapters.
Some of our most popular science and medicine databases are listed below. However, to find the very best databases for your research topic you should check out the library research guide for your subject and find out who is the subject specialist librarian for that topic.
A complete list of Science databases.
Google Scholar is a subset of Google, focusing on scholarly literature. It is a fast & broad internet search engine with little mediation. Results include grey literature such as preprints, theses & dissertations, and white papers that have not been peer reviewed.
Tips: Use the Advanced Search to develop a more explicit search. Use capital letters for Boolean search operators (AND, OR) and the minus symbol for NOT. Use quotes for exact matches to phrases. You can export individual results or create a free profile to save and export folders of results to citation managers. Click "Related articles" or "Cited by" to see closely related work, or search for author's name and see what else they have written. If UF has a subscription to the journal, click on Find it@UF or click on the title to open up the full text.
Cautions: Google Scholar includes content that is not peer reviewed. It does not offer extensive options to refine the vast results. Results are not reproducible, in that they vary from date and location searched. Try comparing results with one of the databases the libraries subscribe to!
|
