Guides @ UF: Dentistry: Writing & Citation Style Tools

Citation Management Tools

Citation management tools allow you to collect, organize, and format your references. Some available tools include:

EndNote Desktop
The gold-standard of citation management, this desktop tool is available for purchase from the UF Bookstore at a discounted rate for UF students, staff & faculty. Synchronizes with your EndNote Web account so that citations can be added remotely.
EndNote Web
Also known as EndNote Basic or EndNote Online, this web-based resource is available with free registration through the UF Libraries. Import citations directly from many databases.
Mendeley
Elsevier's free citation management software has a free downloadable desktop version, and also offers the ability to upload, read and annotate PDFs, as well as a browser extension for Chrome to easily import citations.
SciWheel (Formerly F1000)
Sciwheel offers the same features of many citation managers, including a browser extension, the ability to read and annotate PDFs, as well as article suggestions based on your collection of saved citations. You must be connected to the UF Network when you first create your account.
Zotero
Firefox extension available for free download that enables collection and tagging of research in various formats through your web browser.

Cite Right, Third Edition by Charles Lipson
ISBN: 9780226431109
Publication Date: 2018-11-20
Cite Right is the perfect guide for anyone who needs to learn a new citation style or who needs an easy reference to Chicago, MLA, APA, AMA, and other styles. Each chapter serves as a quick guide that introduces the basics of a style, explains who might use it, and then presents an abundance of examples. This edition includes updates reflecting the most recent editions of The Chicago Manual of Style and the MLA Handbook. With this book, students and researchers can move smoothly among styles with the confidence they are getting it right.

Citing Medicine
The National Library of Medicine (NLM) guide to proper citation formats for medical and scientific materials.
CMS Written Materials Toolkit
The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) 11-part Toolkit for designing written materials for people to read, understand, and use.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
UF Libraries Style Guide Portal
Provides links to a variety style guides for print and online resources.
Citation Style Wizard
A step-by-step walkthrough that formats citations into APA format.

The following books on writing are available through the Health Science Libraries' Catalog:

Writing Case Reports by Clifford Packer; Gabrielle Berger; Somnath Mookherjee This book provides medical students and physicians with a practical, step-by-step guide on how to write and publish a medical case report. This book guides readers through the process from choosing a case to report on to finding a publisher and then comment on future directions and potential new uses of case reports, including expanded computer case databases to optimize care for individual patients and new applications in medical education.
ISBN: 9783319418988
Publication Date: 2016
Mastering Scientific and Medical Writing by Silvia M. Rogers
ISBN: 3642394469
Publication Date: 2014
Writing a Biomedical Research Paper by Brian Budgell
ISBN: 4431880372
Publication Date: 2008
How to Report Statistics in Medicine by Thomas A. Lang; Michelle Secic
ISBN: 1930513690
Publication Date: 2006