This list comprises subscription based databases accessed only by UF faculty, staff and students.
Entomology AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowWith millions of insect species already identified, and studies revealing more about them every day, Entomology Abstracts provides the only practical means for researchers whose work is affected by these findings to keep up with the field. All recent research reports of direct relevance to entomology are assembled here, with coverage including insects, arachnids, myriapods, onychophorans, and terrestrial isopods. 1982 - current
Zoological Record® (1864-present)The world’s leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology. Determine the first appearance of an animal name; track classification changes and; keep up with new and endangered species.
Provides selective worldwide coverage of primary information sources in agriculture and related fields. The literature cited is primarily in English, but over one-third of the database comprises citations in Western European, Slavic, Asian, and African languages. Over 4,782,135 records as of October 2009.
Ecology AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowFocuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment. Over 440,477 records as of October 2009.
TOXLINE (on ProQuest platform)This link opens in a new windowAccess to information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Over 763,132 records as of October 2009
Indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians with topics such as habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, and taxonomy.
Plant ScienceThis link opens in a new windowScientific literature on plant science, focussing on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology. Over 250 primary research journals are scanned by specialized scientific editors to add approximately 23,000 titles to the database each year.
Ask IFASThis link opens in a new windowThe EDIS system is a publication management system providing a comprehensive, single-source repository of all current UF/IFAS numbered peer-reviewed publications. More than 10 million educational print and electronic products are disseminated each year from some 7,000 publication titles.
Science DirectThis link opens in a new windowThe publisher Elsevier’s multidisciplinary platform for ebooks and peer-reviewed journals.
This link opens in a new window
Turn your tablet into a virtual journal bookshelf!
Open Access Journals
Freely available, scholarly journals in the field of Entomology.
The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. The journal must exercise peer-review or editorial quality control to be included.
BioOne is a global, not-for-profit collaboration bringing together scientific societies, publishers, and libraries to provide access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. The University of Florida subscribes to the BioOne I and Open Access Collections.
Help people and organizations open and mark their research and data for reuse; help streamline the materials-transfer process so researchers can easily replicate, verify and extend research; help researchers find, analyze and use data from disparate sources by marking and integrating the information with a common, computer-readable language.