A database is a collection of references from a variety of journals, usually centered around specific disciplines. If you need to find research articles on a particular topic, search within a database using key terms. If you need assistance, contact your librarian.
Key medical databases are highlighted below, but you can find the full list here: HSCL Database list. .
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
What is peer review?
Peer review is the process of subjecting an author’s scholarly work, research or ideas to the scrutiny of others who are experts in the same field (aka, peers). This process serves to encourage authors to meet the high standards of their discipline and to control the dissemination of research data to ensure that unwarranted claims, unacceptable interpretations or personal views are not published without prior expert review. (source: Kelly et al.)
"Peer reviewed" literature may also be referred to as "scholarly" or "refereed".
How do I know if an article is peer reviewed?
If you are specifically looking for peer reviewed articles, databases are usually vetted to contain scholarly literature. However, you can double check by looking up the journal title in the resource Ulrich's Web (linked below)- this resource will tell you if a journal is refereed, or peer reviewed. Just look for the referee symbol.
For off-campus access to library-licensed e-Journals, e-books, research databases and e-resources, use either:
UF VPN or the library proxy server (see remote logon page for instructions)
When you see Find@UF in your search results, click for access to digital full-text material.
Note: the following journal list is not exhaustive. If you need help searching the catalog for a journal, please contact your librarian!
All of these journals are available electronically.
|
