Health Outcomes and Biomedical Informatics: Research

Available online
Essential guidance for preparing and maintaining Cochrane Reviews of the effects of health interventions. Designed to be an accessible resource, the Handbook will also be of interest to anyone undertaking systematic reviews of interventions outside Cochrane, and many of the principles and methods presented are appropriate for systematic reviews addressing research questions other than effects of interventions.

Available online
A fully open access journal that aims to develop the evidence base for how we produce and publish evidence syntheses.

Available online
This overview of the ethical issues raised by artificial intelligence moves beyond hype and nightmare scenarios to address concrete questions--offering a compelling, necessary read for our ChatGPT era.

Available online
A systematic contemporary overview of the field of critical data studies that reflects on practices of digital data collection and analysis.

Available online
The 149 cases included in the book are grouped in nine chapters, each of which covers a key area of debate in the field. Some of the case studies are classics, including the famous cases of the Tuskegee Syphilis Study (in which subjects with syphilis were not given treatment) and the Willowbrook hepatitis studies (in which institutionalized subjects were intentionally exposed to hepatitis). Others focus on such current issues as human embryonic stem cell research, cloning by somatic nuclear transfer, and the design and function of institutional review boards.

Available online
A new way of thinking about data science and data ethics that is informed by the ideas of intersectional feminism.

Available online
This book describes the ethical problems posed by aggregation of biomedical datasets and re-use/re-purposing of data, in areas such as privacy, consent, professionalism, power relationships, and ethical governance of Big Data platforms.

Available in print at Library West
This book is essential for anyone who uses computers in health care, biomedical research or public health, and cares about the ethical issues that arise in their work.

Available online
This report identifies policies, procedures, programs, or projects aimed at increasing the inclusion of underrepresented groups in clinical research and the specific strategies used by those conducting clinical trials and clinical and translational research

Available online
This volume includes more than 40 important articles on integrity and misconduct, biomedical research, the social and disciplinary contexts of science, research in the social sciences, the social responsibility of science and scientists, and other core issues in research ethics.

Available online
Research Ethics for Scientists is about best practices in all the major areas of research management and practice that are common to scientific researchers, especially those in academia.

Available online
An essential resource for students and basic and clinical researchers in genetics, population genetics, and public health, health care policymakers, and epidemiologists, medical students, and clinicians, particularly those working with minority, vulnerable, or underserved populations.

Available online
This reader-friendly book examines the ethical issues and questions that occur in university and professional research and will help both beginning and experienced researchers to identify ethical issues when they are conducting research.

Available online
Experts examine the latest developments impacting clinical omics, and describe in great detail the algorithms that are currently used in publicly available software tools.

Available online
This resource on biomedical informatics provides researchers with innovative techniques for integrating and federating data from clinical and molecular studies.

Available online
An overview of clinical research (types), activities, and areas where informatics and IT could fit into various activities and business practices.

Available in print at HSCL Gainesville
The definitive guide to successful investigation of health care outcomes and the key resource for ensuring quality care.

Available online
Designing Clinical Research sets the standard for providing a practical guide to planning, tabulating, formulating, and implementing clinical research, with an easy-to-read, uncomplicated presentation.

Available online
This book provides a practical, hands-on guide to conducting user studies in informatics.

Available online
This book incorporates the solid foundation of evaluation theories, methods, and techniques laid out in the first edition, and builds on it to include case studies from real world situations.

Available online
Discusses what can go wrong in biological science, providing an unbiased view and cohesive understanding of scientific methods, statistics, data interpretation, and scientific ethics that are illustrated with practical examples and real-life applications.

Available online
Intended to help students and professionals alike master a wide range of methodological approaches to examining clinical issues and phenomena. The goal is to help the reader design, conduct, recognize, and appreciate high quality research, and recognize the implications of crucial decisions about methodology and design.

Available online
This challenging book explores issues of professional integrity and ethics underpinning medical research. It includes real-life case studies where public trust in medical research has been misplaced and encourages medical professionals to adhere to professional codes of conduct and be informed about their decision making process. It is vital reading for undergraduate and postgraduate students of medicine, law, sociology and social policy, philosophy, health related research and ethics.

Available online
Regression Methods for Medical Research provides medical researchers with the skills they need to critically read and interpret research using more advanced statistical methods.

Available online
Perfect for aspiring as well as practicing professionals in the medical and biological sciences, this publication discusses a broad range of topics that are common yet not traditionally considered part of formal curricula, including philosophy of science, ethics, statistics, and grant applications.

Available online
Presents an overview of key analytical issues and best practice. The content of the book is purposefully designed to be accessible to readers with basic quantitative backgrounds, while providing an in-depth coverage of relatively complex statistical issues.

Available in print at HSCL Gainesville
Both practical and applied, Understanding Health Care Outcomes Research makes sense of the new science of studying health care outcomes - a vital process in health care quality assurance.