Guides @ UF: Health Outcomes and Biomedical Informatics: Books

Search the Library Catalog

Search the UF Library Catalog

Interlibrary Loan

Get Books from Another Library (ILLiad)
Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) is a fast and convenient way to submit and receive requests for items that are not available at the University of Florida, or are located at different UF locations.

Logon information and instructions are available at the link. You can use ILLiad to request a book or book chapter.

If requesting a book you will be able to pick it up at the Gainesville HSCL. If you are not located in Gainesville, set your status as Distance and the book will be mailed to you.

If requesting one or more book chapter(s), you will receive them digitally as a PDF.

Off Campus Access

For off-campus access to library-licensed e-Journals, e-books, research databases and e-resources, use either:

UF VPN or the library proxy server (see remote logon page for instructions)

When you see Find@UF in your search results, click for access to digital full-text material.

E-Book Collections

An ebook collection is a database that contains full text ebooks, often with additional resources.

AccessMedicine
An online curricular resource with e-books focused on general medicine topics from McGraw-Hill Publishers.
Merck Manuals
The Online Merck Manual covers most medical specialties and is updated periodically with new information.
NCBI Bookshelf
NCBI's collection of biomedical and health science books.
R2Library
Offers online content from key health sciences publishers in the areas of medicine, nursing, and allied health.
ScienceDirect
Books and publications on medicine, nursing, pharmacy, psychology, toxicology, immunology, microbiology, and veterinary medicine.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. It is designed to serve as a convenient volume for statistical reference.

Books and Ebooks

The Affordable Care Act by Tamara Thompson (Editor)
ISBN: 0737776196
Publication Date: 2016-04-26
Available online
This book explores the pros and cons of the Affordable Care Act, and explains who benefits from the ACA.
The Affordable Care Act: examining the facts by Purva H. Rawal; Len Nichols
ISBN: 1440834431
Publication Date: 2016
Available online
This is the first reference book to provide a detailed assessment of the Affordable Care Act, explaining the realities and myths surrounding one of the most divisive political struggles in recent U.S. history.
The Affordable Care Act As a National Experiment : health policy innovations and lessons by Harry P. Selker (Editor); June S. Wasser (Editor)
ISBN: 1461483514
Publication Date: 2013
Available online
This book examines the landmark 2010 Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) from the perspective of health policy research as translational science.
Bioinformatics and Drug Discovery by Richard S. Larson (Editor); Tudor Oprea (Editor)
ISBN: 1493990888
Publication Date: 2019
Available online
The chapters discuss new methods to study target identification, genome analysis, cheminformatics, protein analysis, and text mining.
Bioinformatics for Diagnosis, Prognosis and Treatment of Complex Diseases by Bairong Shen (Editor)
ISBN: 9400779755
Publication Date: 2013
Available online
The book introduces the bioinformatics tools, databases and strategies for the translational research, focuses on the biomarker discovery based on integrative data analysis and systems biological network reconstruction.
A Bioinformatics Guide for Molecular Biologists by Sarah Aerni (Editor); Marina Sirota (Editor)
ISBN: 9781936113224
Publication Date: 2014
Available in print at HSCL Gainesville
A more complete understanding of bioinformatics offered in A Bioinformatics Guide for Molecular Biologists will allow the reader to become comfortable with these techniques, encouraging their use-thus helping to make sense of the vast accumulation of data.
Biomedical Informatics : computer applications in health care and biomedicine by Edward H. Shortliffe (Editor); James J. Cimino (Editor)
ISBN: 9781447144748
Publication Date: 2013
Available online
Biomedical Informatics provides both a conceptual framework and a practical inspiration for this swiftly emerging scientific discipline at the intersection of computer science, decision science, information science, cognitive science, and biomedicine.
Biomedical Informatics: discovering knowledge in big data by Andreas Holzinger
ISBN: 9783319045283
Publication Date: 2014
Available online
From data acquisition and storage to visualization, ranging through privacy, regulatory and other practical and theoretical topics, Holzinger touches several fundamental aspects of the innovative interface between Medical and Technology domains that is Biomedical Informatics.
Biomedical Informatics: an introduction to information systems and Software in medicine and health by David J. Lubliner
ISBN: 1466596201
Publication Date: 2015
Available online
Medical informatics lies at the intersection of computer science and medicine, and understanding critical aspects of both fields provides for more proficient practitioners.
Building a National Culture of Health : Background, Action Framework, Measures, and Next Steps by Anita Chandra; Alonzo L. Plough; Margaret Tait; Vivian L. Towe; Matthew D. Trujillo; Douglas Yeung; Joie D. Acosta; Katherine Grace Carman; Tamara Dubowitz; Laura Leviton; Laurie T. Martin; Carolyn Miller; Christopher Nelson; Tracy Orleans
ISBN: 0833092944
Publication Date: 2016
Available online
Places well-being at the center of every aspect of life, with the goal of enabling everyone in our diverse society to lead healthier lives.
Cost-Effectiveness in Health and Medicine by Theodore G. Ganiats (Editor); Peter J. Neumann (Editor); Gillian D. Sanders (Editor); Louise B. Russell (Editor); Joanna E. Siegel (Editor)
ISBN: 0190492937
Publication Date: 2016
Available online
A comprehensive guide to the use of cost-effectiveness analysis as an evaluative tool at the institutional and policy levels.
Data Warehousing for Biomedical Informatics by Richard E. Biehl
ISBN: 0429091001
Publication Date: 2016
Available online
A step-by-step how-to guide for designing and building an enterprise-wide data warehouse across a biomedical or healthcare institution, using a four-iteration lifecycle and standardized design pattern.
A Different Perspective on the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act by Chinyere Ogbonna
ISBN: 9780761861843
Publication Date: 2013
Available in print at UF Legal Information Center
Provides a brief history of health insurance within the United States, offering an accessible perspective on the highly contentious Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA). This book traces the political and financial conditions that led to the enactment of the Affordable Care Act.
Guide to U. S. Health and Health Care Policy by Thomas R. Oliver (Editor)
ISBN: 9781452270739
Publication Date: 2014
Available online
Provides the analytical connections showing researchers how issues and actions are translated into public policies and institutions for resolving or managing healthcare issues and crises.
Health Care As a Right of Citizenship : the continuing evolution of reform by Gunnar Almgren
ISBN: 9780231543316
Publication Date: 2017
Available online
Examines how the American health care system must be further reformed to bring it closer in line with the ideals of a modern democracy, as well as how the ACA may change in the coming years.
Healthcare Politics and Policy in America by Kant Patel; Mark E. Rushefsky
ISBN: 0429397879
Publication Date: 2019
Available online
This book gives expanded attention to pressing issues for our policymakers, including the aging American population, physician shortages, gene therapy, specialty drugs, and the opioid crisis.
Informatics Education in Healthcare by Eta S. Berner (Editor)
ISBN: 9781447140788
Publication Date: 2013
Available online
Reviews and defines the current state of the art for informatics education in medicine and health care.
Informatics for Health Professionals by Kathleen Mastrian; Dee McGonigle
ISBN: 9781284115017
Publication Date: 2016
Available online
Provides healthcare students and professionals with the foundational knowledge to integrate informatics principles into clinical practice.
Integrating Information Technology and Management for Quality of Care by J. Mantas (Editor); M. S. Househ (Editor); A. Hasman (Editor)
ISBN: 9781614994237
Publication Date: 2014
Available online
Papers from the 2014 International Conference on Informatics, Management, and Technology in Healthcare (ICIMTH), held in Athens, Greece, in July 2014.
Interactive Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining in Biomedical Informatics: State-of-the-Art and Future Challenges by Andreas Holzinger (Editor); Igor Jurisica (Editor)
ISBN: 3662439689
Publication Date: 2014
Available online
This state-of-the-art survey is an output of the HCI-KDD expert network and features 19 carefully selected and reviewed papers related to seven hot and promising research areas: (1) data integration, data pre-processing, and data mapping; (2) data mining algorithms; (3) graph-based data mining; (4) entropy-based data mining; (5) topological data mining; (6) visualization; (7) privacy, data protection, safety, and security.
Medical Image Analysis and Informatics: computer-aided diagnosis and therapy by Paulo Mazzoncini de Azevedo-Marques (Editor); Arianna Mencattini (Editor); Marcello Salmeri (Editor); Rangaraj M. Rangayyan (Editor)
ISBN: 1351230824
Publication Date: 2017
Available online
Demonstrates how quantitative analysis becomes possible by the application of computational procedures to medical images. Furthermore, it shows how quantitative and objective analysis facilitated by medical image informatics, CBIR, and CAD could lead to improved diagnosis by physicians.
Medical Informatics : an executive primer by Kenneth R. Ong; William N. Kelly
ISBN: 0429255349
Publication Date: 2015
Available online
Explores how clinicians, patients, and health IT stakeholders are collaborating to support high-value care through health IT.
Patient Privacy, Consent, and Identity Management in Health Information Exchange: : issues for the military health system by Susan D. Hosek; Susan G. Straus
ISBN: 9780833077998
Publication Date: 2013-05-01
Available online
This report identifies gaps in research, policy, and practice involving patient privacy, consent, and identity management that need to be addressed to bring about improved quality and efficiency of care through health information exchange.
Practical Guide to Clinical Computing Systems : design, operations, and infrastructure by Thomas Payne (Editor)
ISBN: 0127999191
Publication Date: 2014
Available online
Presents a practical treatment of workday but often unfamiliar issues - downtime procedures, interface engines, user support, JCAHO compliance, and budgets.
Priced Out: the economic and ethical costs of American health care by Uwe E. Reinhardt; Paul Krugman (Foreword by); Sen. William H. Frist (Foreword by); Tsung-Mei Cheng (Epilogue by)
ISBN: 9780691192178
Publication Date: 2019
Available in print at Library West
From a giant of health care policy, an engaging and enlightening account of why American health care is so expensive--and why it doesn't have to be.
Remaking Chronic Care in the Age of Health Care Reform: Changes for Lower Cost, Higher Quality Treatment by Arnold Birenbaum
ISBN: 1283255650
Publication Date: 2011
Available online
Arguing that the current system is unsustainable, the book documents efforts that have been made to promote better coordination of care through patient-centered medical homes and accountable care organizations.
State Politics and the Affordable Care Act: choices and decisions by John C. Morris; Martin K. Mayer; Robert C. Kenter; Luisa M. Lucero
ISBN: 0429461038
Publication Date: 2019
Available online
To better understand the major factors driving decision-making process and state-level dynamics influencing state support or opposition of the ACA, this book examines the initial implementation through established support and opposition factors across four states: Alabama, Michigan, California, and New Hampshire.
When Bad Policy Makes Good Politics : running the numbers on health reform by Robert P. Saldin
ISBN: 9780190255435
Publication Date: 2017
Available in print at UF Legal Information Center
This examination of the Community Living Assistance Services and Supports Act and the machinations of Congress provides insight into how the contemporary policymaking process really functions.

Health Outcomes and Biomedical Informatics: Books

Note

Search the Library Catalog

Interlibrary Loan

Off Campus Access

E-Book Collections

Books and Ebooks