Guides @ UF: Gastroenterology, Hepatology & Nutrition: Online Resources

Selected Resources - Gastroenterology & Hepatology

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)
Part of the National Institutes of Health, this organization conducts and supports basic and clinical research.
NICE Guidance: Digestive Tract Conditions
From the British National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence, NICE Guidance includes published guidelines, as well as those in development.
The DAVE Project - Gastroenterlogy
Digital Atlas of Video Education - includes videos of endoscopy and other gastroenterological procedures as well as lectures and presentations. This collection of materials is edited by physicians from medical schools across the country. Available through iTunes.
Hepatic Pathology Index
Developed at the University of Utah, this resource contains photos of the liver in normal and diseased states.
Gastrointestinal Pathology Index
Developed at the University of Utah, this resource contains photos of the digestive system in normal and diseased states.

Associations & Organizations - Gastroenterology & Hepatology

Many of these professional associations and advocacy organizations offer clinical practice guidelines, conferences, continuing education, networking opportunities, and funding opportunities.

Selected Resources - Nutrition

Healthy People 2030 - Nutrition & Healthy Eating
These nation-wide health objectives were developed by the FDA and NIH.
Office of Dietary Supplements
Part of the National Institutes of Health, this office produces the Dietary Supplement Ingredient Database and IBIDS.
Dietary Supplements Label Database
From the National Library of Medicine and the Office of Dietary Supplements, this database includes information on over 4000 brands of dietary supplements.
Methods and Applications of Food Composition Laboratory
Includes the National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference, an authoritative compilation of food composition data developed by the USDA.
Children's Nutrition Research Center - Community Resources
From Baylor College of Medicine, this site contains nutrition calculators for Body Mass Index and energy needs of children and adults.

Associations & Organizations - Nutrition

Many of these professional associations and advocacy organizations offer clinical practice guidelines, conferences, continuing education, networking opportunities, and funding opportunities.

Consumer/Patient Resources - Nutrition

Nutrition.gov
From the USDA's National Agricultural Library, this site serves as a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety.
Food and Nutrition Information Center
Also from the USDA, this resource contains information on dietary guidance (including Dietary Reference Intakes), food composition, food labeling, and dietary supplements.
Dietary Guidelines for Americans
The 2020-2025 version of these guidelines written by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion
The center within the USDA responsible for developing dietary guidelines for Americans founded on scientific research. Includes the current food pyramid, nutrition planners, and podcasts.
FDA Food
Includes information on food safety, ingredients & packaging, labeling & nutrition, and biotechnology.
World Health Organization: Nutrition
Contains global nutrition statistics including databases on body mass index, child growth, and malnutrition; a data bank on infant and young child feeding; and national nutrition policies.
British Nutrion Foundation
Includes information on healthy living, nutrition science, food in the schools, and nutrition in the news.
Food Insight
From the International Food Information Council Foundation, this site provides resources on weight management, diet and health, food safety & production, and international food issues.

Your Librarian

Hannah Norton

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

HSC Library, Communicore Building

352-273-8412

Subjects: Medicine, Veterinary Medicine