Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Associations and Organizations
Many of these professional associations and advocacy organizations offer clinical practice guidelines, conferences, continuing education, networking opportunities, and funding opportunities.
Selected HIV Resources
From the National Institutes of Health, this site provides information on guidelines, drugs, clinical trials, and vaccines.
From the National Library of Medicine, this portal includes resources for health professionals, multilingual speakers, researchers, students & educators, and the general public.
From NIAID, this includes a sequence database, resistance database, immunology database, and vaccine trials database.
SHARE - Synthesized HIV/AIDS Research Evidence
SHARE is a repository of approximately 3,000 HIV-related systematic reviews. Narrow results by population, prevention/engagement/care cascade, health system, and comorbidity. Developed by Ontario HIV Treatment Network and McMaster University.
HIV InSite Knowledge Base
This is an online textbook developed by the University of California - San Francisco and San Francisco General Hospital.
Selected Online Resources
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)
Part of the National Institutes of Health, this agency conducts and supports basic and applied research on infectious, immunologic, and allergenic diseases. The site offers an A-Z resource guide on infectious diseases, funding opportunities, bioinformatics visualization tools, and clinical research guidelines.
National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases (NCEZID)
Provides information about the work of this division of the CDC plus known outbreaks.
Division of Emerging Infections and Surveillance Services (CDC)
This division of the NCPDCID develops domestic and international programs for emerging infectious disease preparedness and response. Fellowships are available.
World Health Organization: Infectious Diseases
A global perspective on infectious diseases including statistics, publications, and information on prevention and treatment programs around the world.
Global Health Observatory
WHOSIS (WHO Statistical Information System) is now integrated into the Global Health Observatory. Included are the data repository, reports, country statistics, a map gallery, and standards.
A global disease alert map that brings together infectious disease data from the official sources like the World Health Organization, news sources like Google News, and curated personal accounts like ProMED.
Emerging Infections Network
From the Infectious Diseases Society of America, this is a provider-based network on emerging infectious diseases. Requires log-in.
ProMED: Program for Monitoring Emerging Diseases
The Program for Monitoring Emerging Diseases is an Internet-based reporting system dedicated to rapid global dissemination of information on outbreaks of infectious diseases and acute exposures to toxins that affect human health, including those in animals and in plants grown for food or animal feed. From the International Society for Infectious Diseases.
National Notifiable Diseases Surveillance System
CDC’s National Notifiable Diseases Surveillance System (NNDSS) is a multifaceted public health disease surveillance system that gives public health officials powerful capabilities to monitor the occurrence and spread of diseases.
Office of Rare Diseases Research
From the National Institutes of Health, this site includes information on reports and publications, clinical trials, patient advocacy groups, and conferences relating to various rare diseases.
From Johns Hopkins University, this guide includes a question & answer forum for patients and clinicians, continuing medical education, and tutorials.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.