Guides @ UF: Clinical and Health Psychology: Books

Search the Library Catalog

Search the UF Library Catalog

Interlibrary Loan

Get Books from Another Library (ILLiad)
Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) is a fast and convenient way to submit and receive requests for items that are not available at the University of Florida, or are located at different UF locations.

Logon information and instructions are available at the link. You can use ILLiad to request a book or book chapter.

If requesting a book you will be able to pick it up at the Gainesville HSCL. If you are not located in Gainesville, set your status as Distance and the book will be mailed to you.

If requesting one or more book chapter(s), you will receive them digitally as a PDF.

Off Campus Access

For off-campus access to library-licensed e-Journals, e-books, research databases and e-resources, use either:

UF VPN or the library proxy server (see remote logon page for instructions)

When you see Find@UF in your search results, click for access to digital full-text material.

E-Book Collections

An ebook collection is a database that contains full text ebooks, often with additional resources.

AccessMedicine
An online curricular resource with e-books focused on general medicine topics from McGraw-Hill Publishers.
Current Protocols in Neuroscience
The Neuroscience section of Current Protocols is a comprehensive source for neuroscience research, focusing on methods and protocols ranging from molecular pathways and synaptic transmission, to behavioral techniques and imaging modalities.
Merck Manuals
The Online Merck Manual covers most medical specialties and is updated periodically with new information.
NCBI Bookshelf
NCBI's collection of biomedical and health science books.
Psychiatry Online
Features DSM-IV-TR® and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools.
ScienceDirect
Books and publications on medicine, nursing, pharmacy, psychology, toxicology, immunology, microbiology, and veterinary medicine.
Thieme MedOne Education: Clinical Capsules
Clinical Capsules: Neurologic System is a collection of clinical learning modules covering diseases and disorders of the brain, spinal cord, and central nervous system created for students to reference during rotations and preparation for taking Shelf and USMLE exams.

Books and E-books

Abnormal Child Psychology by Eric J. Mash; David A. Wolfe
ISBN: 1111834490
Publication Date: 2012
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL
Up-to-date and forward-looking, the book continues to provide the most authoritative, scholarly, and comprehensive coverage of these subjects, tracing the developmental course of each disorder and showing how biological, psychological, and sociocultural factors interact with a child's environment.
The Adolescent Psychotherapy Treatment Planner by David J. Berghuis; L. Mark Peterson; William P. McInnis; Timothy J. Bruce
ISBN: 1118816935
Publication Date: 2014
Available online
Provides all the elements necessary to quickly and easily develop formal treatment plans that satisfy the demands of HMOs, managed care companies, third-party payors, and state and federal agencies.
APA Handbook of Dementia by Glenn E. Smith (Editor); Sarah Tomaszewski Farias (Editor)
ISBN: 9781433828799
Publication Date: 2018
Available online
The handbook reviews common dementias including Alzheimer's disease, Lewy body disease, vascular dementia, frontotemporal dementia, and other less common dementias.
A Brief History of Modern Psychology by Ludy T. Benjamin
ISBN: 1405132051
Publication Date: 2006
Available in print at Library West
Discusses the history of both the science and the practice of psychology since the establishment of the first experimental psychology laboratory in 1879.
The Child Psychotherapy Treatment Planner by David J. Berghuis; L. Mark Peterson; William P. McInnis; Timothy J. Bruce
ISBN: 1118415906
Publication Date: 2014
Available online
Provides all the elements necessary to quickly and easily develop formal treatment plans that satisfy the demands of HMOs, managed care companies, third-party payors, and state and federal agencies.
Clinical Handbook of Psychological Disorders, Third Edition by David H. Barlow (Editor)
ISBN: 1572306114
Publication Date: 2001
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL Reserves (ask at the front desk)
Each chapter summarizes the clinical presentation, etiology, and diagnosis of the each of the most commonly enountered disorders; reviews the models or theories that guide intervention; and delineates step-by-step protocols for assessment and treatment, illustrated with transcripts and vignettes.
Clinical Neuropsychology by Kenneth M. Heilman; Edward Valenstein
ISBN: 9780195384871
Publication Date: 2011
Available online
Reviews the major neurobehavioral disorders associated with brain dysfunction and injury.
Cognitive Aging by Catharyn T. Liverman (Editor); Kristine Yaffe (Editor); Dan G. Blazer (Editor); Institute of Medicine; Board on Health Sciences Policy; Committee on the Public Health Dimensions of Cognitive Aging
ISBN: 9780309368636
Publication Date: 2015
Available online
Assesses the public health dimensions of cognitive aging with an emphasis on definitions and terminology, epidemiology and surveillance, prevention and intervention, education of health professionals, and public awareness and education.
Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Borderline Personality Disorder by Marsha M. Linehan
ISBN: 0898621836
Publication Date: 1993
Available in print at Education Library
This volume is the authoritative presentation of dialectical behavior therapy (DBT), Marsha M. Linehan's comprehensive, integrated approach to treating individuals with BPD.
Cognitive Neuroscience by Michael S. Gazzaniga; Richard B. Ivry; George R. Mangun
ISBN: 0393977773
Publication Date: 2002
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL
This volume also features increased coverage of computational modelling, discussions of prominent methodological advances and an enhanced art programme.
Cognitive Neuroscience of Aging by Roberto Cabeza (Editor); Lars Nyberg (Editor); Denise Park (Editor)
ISBN: 0195156749
Publication Date: 2004
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL
The goal of Cognitive Neuroscience of Aging is to introduce the reader to this new discipline at a level that is useful to both professionals and students in the domains of cognitive neuroscience, cognitive psychology, neuroscience, neuropsychology, neurology, and other, related areas.
Cognitive Psychology by Michael W. Eysenck; Mark T. Keane
ISBN: 9781138482210
Publication Date: 2020
Available in print at Library West
Emphasis on applied cognition with 'in the real world' case studies and examples Comprehensive companion website including access to Primal Pictures' interactive 3D atlas of the brain, test simulations of key experiments, multiple choice questions, glossary flashcards and instructor PowerPoint slides Simple, clear pedagogy in every chapter to highlight key terms, case studies and further reading.
Counseling the Culturally Diverse: theory and practice by Derald Wing Sue; David Sue; Helen A. Neville; Laura Smith
ISBN: 9781119861904
Publication Date: 2022
Available in print at Library West
The book examines concepts like "cultural humility," the role of white allies in multicultural counseling, social justice counseling, "minority stress," and microaggressions.
The Complete Adult Psychotherapy Treatment Planner by Arthur E. Jongsma; L. Mark Peterson; Timothy J. Bruce
ISBN: 1119629926
Publication Date: 2021
Available online
Offers clinicians a timesaving, evidence-based guide that helps to clarify, simplify and accelerate the treatment planning process so they can spend less time on paperwork and more time with clients.
DBT Skills Training Manual by Marsha M. Linehan
ISBN: 9781462516995
Publication Date: 2014
Available in print at Library West
Complete instructions for orienting clients to DBT, plus teaching notes for the full range of mindfulness, interpersonal effectiveness, emotion regulation, and distress tolerance skills.
Developmental Psychopathology, Theory and Method by Dante Cicchetti (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119125440
Publication Date: 2015
Available online
The seminal reference for the latest research in developmental psychopathology Developmental Psychopathology is a four-volume compendium of the most complete and current research on every aspect of the field.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by American Psychiatric Association Staff
ISBN: 9780890425541
Publication Date: 2013
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL, Education Library, UF Legal Information Center, and Library West
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health.
Handbook of Cognitive Neuropsychology by Brenda Rapp
ISBN: 1315783010
Publication Date: 2015
Available online
This volume reviews the full range of cognitive domains that have benefited from the study of deficits. Chapters covered include language, memory, object recognition, action, attention, consciousness and temporal cognition.
Handbook of Critical Psychology by Ian Parker (Editor)
ISBN: 1315726521
Publication Date: 2015
Available online
This cutting-edge and comprehensive handbook values and reflects this diversity of approaches to critical psychology today, providing a definitive state-of-the-art account of the field and an opening to the lines of argument that will take it forward in the years to come.
Handbook of Emotion Regulation, Second Edition by James J. Gross (Editor)
ISBN: 1462503500
Publication Date: 2014
Available online
Foremost experts address the neurobiological and cognitive bases of emotion regulation and examine how individuals develop and use regulatory strategies across the lifespan. The social context of emotion regulation is explored, as are personality processes and individual differences.
Handbook of Evidence-Based Therapies for Children and Adolescents: Bridging Science and Practice by Ric G. Steele (Editor); Michael C. Roberts (Editor)
ISBN: 1281139793
Publication Date: 2008
Available online
By reviewing evidence-based treatments (EBTs) across a wide spectrum of conditions, the Handbook of Evidence-Based Therapies for Children and Adolescents: Bridging Science and Practice closes the gaps between children's needs and services as well as those between research, training, and practice.
Handbook of Response to Intervention by Shane R. Jimerson (Editor); Matthew K. Burns (Editor); Amanda M. VanDerHeyden (Editor)
ISBN: 1489975683
Publication Date: 2015
Available online
Provides a comprehensive, updated overview of the science that informs best practices for the implementation of response to intervention (RTI) processes within Multi-Tiered Systems of Support (MTSS) to facilitate the academic success of all students.
Handbook of Pediatric Psychology by Michael C. Roberts (Editor); Ric G. Steele (Editor)
ISBN: 1462529798
Publication Date: 2017
Available online
Sponsored by the Society of Pediatric Psychology, the volume explores psychosocial aspects of specific medical problems, as well as issues in managing developmental and behavioral concerns that are frequently seen in pediatric settings.
Handbook of Psychological Assessment by Gary Groth-Marnat; A. Jordan Wright
ISBN: 1118960653
Publication Date: 2016
Available online
Covers principles of assessment, evaluation, referral, treatment planning, and report writing. Provides guidance on the most efficient methods for selecting and administering tests, interpreting assessment data, how to integrate test scores and develop treatment plans as well as instruction on ways to write effective, client-oriented psychological reports
Handbook of the Psychology of Aging by K. Warner Schaie (Volume Editor); Sherry L. Willis (Volume Editor)
ISBN: 0124115233
Publication Date: 2015
Available online
Tackles the biological and environmental influences on behavior as well as the reciprocal interface between changes in the brain and behavior during the course of the adult life span.
Handbook of Psychology, Experimental Psychology by Alice F. Healy (Editor); Robert W. Proctor (Editor); Irving B. Weiner (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780471264453
Publication Date: 2003
Available online
Includes established theories and cutting-edge developments. Presents the work of an international group of experts. Presents the nature, origin, implications, and future course of major unresolved issues in the area.
Health Psychology Consultation in the Inpatient Medical Setting by Susan Labott
ISBN: 9781433829611
Publication Date: 2018
Available online
This book describes how health psychologists, working with the medical team as consultants, can help determine the causes of such symptoms and provide appropriate treatment and actionable input for doctors, nurses, psychiatrists, social workers, and others.
An Introduction to the Event-Related Potential Technique by Steven J. Luck
ISBN: 9780262621960
Publication Date: 2005
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL
The event-related potential (ERP) technique in cognitive neuroscience allows scientists to observe human brain activity that reflects specific cognitive processes.
Kaplan and Sadock's Synopsis of Psychiatry by Benjamin J. Sadock; Virginia A. Sadock; Pedro Ruiz
ISBN: 9781609139711
Publication Date: 2014
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL
A complete overview of the entire field of psychiatry for clinicians, residents, students, and all others who provide mental health care.
The Oxford Handbook of Memory by Endel Tulving (Editor); Fergus I. M. Craik (Editor)
ISBN: 0195122658
Publication Date: 2000
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL and Library West
This volume brings together facts and theories of cognitive psychology; memory development in childhood and old age; memory impairment in brain injury and disease; the emergence of memory functions from the brain; as well as reviews of current behavioral, neuroimaging, and computer simulation theories of memory. philosophers and thinkers for hundreds of years.
Patient-Based Approaches to Cognitive Neuroscience by Martha J. Farah (Editor); Todd E. Feinberg (Editor)
ISBN: 0262561239
Publication Date: 2000
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL
Although cognitive neuroscience is sometimes equated with cognitive neuroimaging, the patient-based approach to cognitive neuroscience is responsible for most of what we now know about the brain systems underlying perception, attention, memory, language and higher-order forms of thought including consciousness. This volume brings together state-of-the-art reviews of the patient-based approach to these and other central issues in cognitive neuroscience, written by leading authorities.
Physiology of Behavior by Neil R. Carlson
ISBN: 9780205239399
Publication Date: 2012
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL Reserves (ask at the front desk)
Provides a scholarly yet accessible portrait of the dynamic interaction between biology and behavior.
Principles of Frontal Lobe Function by Donald T. Stuss (Editor); Robert Knight (Editor)
ISBN: 1280834285
Publication Date: 2002
Available online
Provides a comprehensive review of historical and current research on the functions of the frontal lobes and frontal systems of the brain. The content covers frontal lobe functions from birth to old age, from biochemistry and anatomy to rehabilitation, from normal to disrupted function.
Psychological Health of Women of Color by Lillian Comas-Díaz (Editor); Beverly Greene (Editor)
ISBN: 0313392404
Publication Date: 2013
Available online
This work serves to celebrate the strengths of women of color, identify unique opportunities, and examine the specific challenges and issues of this group.
Psychopathology by Linda W. Craighead; W. Edward Craighead; David J. Miklowitz
ISBN: 9780471768616
Publication Date: 2008
Available in print at Library West
Provides comprehensive coverage of adult psychopathology, including an overview of the topic in the context of the DSM.
Relational-cultural therapy by Jordan, Judith V.
Publication Date: 2018
Available online
Western psychological theories generally depict human development as moving from dependence to independence. In contrast, relational–cultural therapy is built on the premise that, throughout the lifespan, human beings grow through and toward connection, and that we need connections to flourish. This theory views isolation, at both individual and cultural levels, as a major source of suffering. The goal of the relational therapist is to deepen the therapeutic relationship and, ultimately, the client's relationships outside of therapy.
The Science of Prevention by Kendall J. Bryant (Editor); Michael T. Windle (Editor); Stephen G. West (Editor)
ISBN: 1557984395
Publication Date: 1997
Available online
This text describes a variety of methodological advances that increase the integrity of research results in the area of prevention. Although the focus of this volume is on alcohol and substance abuse, most of the methods described can be applied to the full range of areas in prevention research, including smoking, risky sex, health problems, poor school performance, criminal behaviour and a variety of other areas in which research occurs in field settings.
Scientists Making a Difference by Robert J. Sternberg (Editor); Susan T. Fiske (Editor); Donald J. Foss (Editor)
ISBN: 9781316422250
Publication Date: 2016
Available online
These readable essays highlight the most important contributions to theory and research in psychological science, show how the greatest psychological scientists formulate and think about their work, and illustrate how their ideas develop over time.
Stalking : psychiatric perspectives and practical approaches by Debra A. Pinals (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195189841
Publication Date: 2007
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL
Provides a thorough overview of current scientific and clinical research about stalking, along with practical guidance and original commentary from the Psychiatry and the Law Committee of the Group for the Advancement of Psychiatry, an organization recognized for its contributions to mental health literature.
The Student's Guide to Cognitive Neuroscience by Jamie Ward
ISBN: 1848722729
Publication Date: 2015
Available online
Provides an easy-to-follow introduction to neural structure and function, as well as all the key methods and procedures of cognitive neuroscience, with a view to helping students understand how they can be used to shed light on the neural basis of cognition.
Teaching Gender and Multicultural Awareness by Phyllis Bronstein (Editor); Kathryn Quina (Editor)
ISBN: 1557989915
Publication Date: 2003
Available online
Provides information about how to integrate topics of diversity into a variety of psychology courses and programmes of study.
Women's Mental Health by Susan G. Kornstein (Editor); Anita H. Clayton (Editor)
ISBN: 1572306998
Publication Date: 2002
Available in print at Gainesville HSCL
This comprehensive reference and text synthesizes a vast body of current knowledge about women's mental health and health care. Coverage includes women's psychobiology across the life span--sex differences in neurobiology and psychopharmacology and psychiatric aspects of the reproductive cycle--as well as gender-related issues in assessment and treatment of frequently encountered psychiatric disorders.

Clinical and Health Psychology: Books

Note

Search the Library Catalog

Interlibrary Loan

Off Campus Access

E-Book Collections

Books and E-books