Guides @ UF: Modern Caribbean: Newspapers

Electronic resources.

Click the link .

Bahama Argus
Caribbean newspaper digital library
Colonial British Caribbean newspapers : a bibliography and directory
- This link opens in a new window
Diario de la Marina
El Caribe
El Mundo
El Mundo (Cuba)
Gazette Nationale ou Le Moniteur Universel (France), Digest and Index of names, places and subjects for the years 1789-1799.
Gazette Nationale ou Le Moniteur Universel (France), Port-au-Prince copy, the 1789-1804 only, (20 reels, digitized at NBS from U.FL microfilm; UF/LLMC split costs)
Granma
- This link opens in a new window
Granma International
Grenada Newsletter
1974-1994
Jamaica Gleaner
Justice : hebdomadaire du Parti communiste martiniquais.
2003-2012
La Lucha : diario republicano.
Nassau Guardian
Paix sociale
- This link opens in a new window
Port of Spain Gazette
Royal Gazette
Royal gazette.
San Juan Star
- This link opens in a new window
The Bahama gazette
The Daily Chronicle
(British Guiana)
Trinidad Guardian
1917-1931

Bahamas

Bahama Argus
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm 079.7296 B151
Jul 1831-Dec 1835
See Electronic Resources.

Warning!! The link does not lead to the full text, but to the Libraries Catalog.

Bahama Gazette
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm 079.7296 B1513p; UF LIBRARY WEST Microfilm (3rd Floor) 079.72
1784-1819
Bahama Herald
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm 079.7296 B1514
1849-1863
Bahama News
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm 079.7296 B1515
1899
Grand Bahama Tribune
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7296G751
1969-1971
Nassau Daily Tribune
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7296N266p
1911-1996 (May), 1997(June)- (Ongoing)
Nassau Times
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7296N2662
1874- 1891
Nassau Guardian
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7296N2662
1849-1997
See Electronic Resources.
Royal Gazette
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7296R888 Positive
1807-1837
See Electronic Resources.

Barbados

Barbados Advocate
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72981B228; UF Request Retrieval - STORAGE AN142.5.B3 B7
1926 - (Ongoing)
The Barbadian
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72981B2282
1822-1861
The Beacon Barbados Labor Party
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72981B365
1965-1971
The Times
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72981T583
1863-1895

Cuba

Cuban Exile Newspapers
As part of the U.S. Newspapers Project, the University of Florida Libraries, in cooperation with the University of Miami Libraries, microfilmed some 125 newspaper titles published from the 1960's through the 1990's, dealing with Cuban and Cuban American issues.

Warning!! The link does not lead to the full text, but to the Libraries Catalog.

El caimán barbudo
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- AP63.C13
1966-1985
Combate: un arma de la revolucion al servicio del pueblo
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7291C729 Positive
1961
Combate internacional
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7291C7292 Positive
1961
Diario de la Marina
Call Number: 076 D539
1844-1882; 1899-1961
See Electronic Resources.
Excelsior
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7291 E96
1951
Granma
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7291G759 Positive
Oct 1965-Apr 2002 (Some newer issues in hardcopy; ask at LAC.)
See Electronic Resources.
Heraldo de Cuba
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7291H531
Mar-Dec 1932
Noticias de hoy
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7291H871
Jan 1959-Oct 1965
Liberación
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- UN00463
1964: May 30-Aug.4
La Lucha
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm APL2348
May 1902-1931
El Pais
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7291P149
1934-1935
Prensa
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7291P926
1916
Revolución : organo del movimiento 26 de julio
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7291R454
Jan 1959-Oct 1965

Curaçao

Amigoe di Curacao
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72986A516
1961- (Ongoing)
Beurs-en-nieuwsberichten
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72986B567Positive
1963-1987
Curacaosche courant
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72986C975
1812-1948
La Prensa
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72986P926 Negative
1951-1979

Dominica

Dominica Chronicle
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72984D6712
1821-1827
Dominica Colonist
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72984D6713 Positive
1848-1866
Dominica Guardian
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72984D6714
1893-1924
Dominica Tribune
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72984D6715
1924-1951
The Dominican
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72984D6716
1842-1907

Dominican Republic

El Caribe
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- 079.7293C277p
1948-1998
See Electronic Resources.
El Eco de Opinion
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7293E19 Positive
Mar 1879-Dec 1897
El Listin Diario
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- 079.7293L773 Positive
1909-1942, 1963-1988
Union Civica
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7293U58

French Guiana

Le Combat
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.882C729 Positive
1897-1899
Debout Guyane
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.882D287
1957-1962

Guadeloupe

L'Avenir
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72971A951 Positive
1907-1912
Contribution à l'histoire de la presse à la Guadeloupe
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- 079.72971B641c
1935
Journal Comercial de la Pointe a Pitre
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72971C734 Negative
1841-1864
Le Courrier de la Guadeloupe
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72971C859 Positive
1881-1885; 1887-1908
La Democratie
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72971D383 Positive
1900-1906
Echo de la Guadeloupe; journal des interets coloniaux.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72971E18 Positive
1872-1880
Scattered issues of newspapers from Guadeloupe.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm Ask for help
La Verite; journal republicain de la Guadeloupe.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72971V516 Positive
1890-1906
France-Antilles
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Periodicals -- AN21.F722

Guyana

British Guiana Bulletin
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.881B862 Negative
1957-1960
The Creole
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.881 C916
1856-1907
Sunday chronicle
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.881D133
1957-1969
New Daily Chronicle
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.881N532
1926-1935
New Nation Guyana
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.881N5322
1967-1987
The Royal Gazette of British Guiana
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.881 R888
1803-1889
Thunder
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- Nacla consult Nacla guide (Guyana) at LAC REF Desk; UF SM
1962-1968

Haiti

Les Affiches americaines.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm AJW9563
Publication Date: 1766-1791.

The links take you to the catalog.

Le manifeste
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7494M278
Publication Date: 1841-1844
Le Matin.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7294M4332 Positive
Publication Date: 1907-1979
Le Nouvelliste.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7294N934 Positive
Publication Date: Began publication in May 1896.
L'Union.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7294U58p Positive
Publication Date: June 2, 1837-Sept. 15, 1839.

Jamaica

Daily Gleaner
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm and General Collection -- 079.7292D133
1889-1956
Jamaica Weekly Gleaner
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7292J27
1958-1994, 1997
See Electronic Resources.
Voice of Jamaica
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm Jamaica 3807808
1965-1977
Jamaica Standard
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- AN121.K5S73
1938:May 2 - 1938:May 31
Public Opinion
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- AN121.K5P83

Martinique

Les colonies; organe republicaine de la Martinique
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72982C719 Positive
1881-1891
1893-1898
1901-1902:May3
Justice : hebdomadaire du Parti communiste martiniquais
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72982J96 or UF LIBRARY WEST Microfilm (3rd Floor) -- 0
1965-Oct 1997
See Electronic Resources.

Subject Guide

Margarita Vargas-Betancourt

Email Me

Contact:

Department of Special & Area Studies Collections

University of Florida

Phone: (352) 273-2692

mvargasb@ufl.edu

Puerto Rico

El Mundo
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- 079.7295M965p
1919-1980
See Electronic Resources.
San Juan Star
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7295S195 Positive
1964-1987
See Electronic Resources.

St. Lucia

Voice of St. Lucia
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72984V889 Positive
1885-1961;1967-1986
Independent Press
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72984I38 Positive
1843-1844

Surinam

Surinaamsche Courant
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.883S961
1804-1842
Surinaamsche Nieuwsvertelder
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.883S9613
1787-1792
Surinaamsche Courant de Governements Advertentie Blad ...
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.883 S9614
1853-1879
De West
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.883W5222
Oct 1909-1987

Trinidad and Tobago

The New Statesman
Call Number: UF LIBRARY WEST Microfilm (3rd Floor) -- 079.7298N532 Negative
1964-1965
The Nation
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72983N277
1962-1970
Port of Spain Gazette
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7298P829
1825-1956
The Statesman
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7298S797
1962-1964
Tobago Gazette
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72983 T628
1807-1808
Trinidad Gazette
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7298T8325
1820-1822
Trinidad Guardian
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7298T833p
1917- (Ongoing)
Current issue : http://www.guardian.co.tt/

Other Countries

The Worker’s Voice
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.72974W926
(Antigua)
The Royal gazette, Bermuda Commercial and General Advertiser and Recorder
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7299R888;UF SMATHERS, Latin America Ltd. Cir. Over -- 07
1950-1964
Free West Indian: the National Newspaper of Grenada.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- Nacla
Sample serials from & about the Caribbean.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Ltd. Cir. ask LAC - kept on 3rd level aisle 31 IN PROCESS
The Virgin Islands Daily News
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- 079.7297D133
1950-1961; 1970-1992
The Mirror of the Leeward Islands
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Special Coll Rare Books (Non-Circulating) -- PN4959.L4M57
1856

Searching Tools

Granma Archives Index
- This link opens in a new window
The Granma Archives Index is a searchable Spanish-language data base of articles published from 1965 to 1992 in the official daily newspaper of the Cuban Communist Party, Granma.
Colonial British Caribbean Newspapers : a Bibliography and Directory
UF SMATHERS, Latin America Reference -- PN4930.5.P261 1990