Tourism & the Caribbean: Archival Resources

The photograph album cover is entitled "Cuba en 1925" and includes the name of Commandante Mario Gajate. The album was produced for collectors of photographic cards packaged with cigars and cigarettes, and each page includes the phrase, "Susini, El Cigarro Sin Rival."

Two copies of a photograph album entitled, Historia de Cuba. Each album includes 600 photographs depicting people, historical sites and landmarks, events, buildings, ships, and documents spanning the history of Cuba. Several photographs are reproductions of works of art, such as painted portraits of individuals. In addition to the photos, the album includes several pages of printed text, including a prologue written by Tabacalera Cubana, makers of La Corona y Susini cigars. The photos mounted in the album were made available in the company's cigar boxes. (C. 1935)

Scrapbook documenting the development of the Maritima Parreño port facilities in Santiago de Cuba during the 1920s and 1930s. The items in the scrapbook primarily document the renovation and expansion of the docks, warehouses, and other facilities of the Parreño company. The album was kept by Desiderio Parreño, who was responsible for the expansion of the firm. Included are over 140 photographs with detailed handwritten captions, and a small number of news clippings, letters, and postcards. Also included are staff photos and a "Baccardi" souvenir folio with views of Santiago (1921-1941).

A collection of 28 images showing the aftermath and damages in St. Pierre, Martinique caused by the 1902 volcanic eruption of Mt. Pelée.

This private album with sixty original gelatin silver photographs (47 glossy and 13 matte and each mounted with identifying captions) of a voyage to Jamaica soon after the 1907 earthquake, shows onboard scenes and over fifteen detailed views of the damage caused by the earthquake in Kingston; for example, views of ruins in the Colonial Bank, King Street, Orange Street, damage to the Parish Church, and a view of Queen Victoria's statue turned around. Other views contain over ten images of Ocho Rios including the Sylvia Lawn Hotel and its staff as well as numerous views of the beach and several views of Montego Bay, Constant Spring showing Earthquake damage and views of Spanish Town and the Rio Cobra River. Also included at the end of the photo album are a souvenir card, and a programme of sports activities from the ship R.M.S. "Port Morant", dated March 5, 1907.

Three New York doctors, S.F. Jones, S. Van Ingen, and A.S. Arnold, travelled to Jamaica in January 1904 aboard the United Fruit Company steamship "Beverly" from Philadelphia to Port Antonio. A.S. Arnold assembled this photo album and travel diary of their trip, which took place between January 11 and January 28, 1904. The three travelers adopted names for the trip: Jones was called Brother Streptococcus, Ingen was called Brother Alopecia, and Arnold was called Brother Seborrhea. These names are used throughout the album, and "Brother Seborrhea" is embossed on the front cover.

The majority of the B.S. Hile letters were written to his wife, and a few were written to his son and daughter. He discusses daily happenings and describes people, the land, disease, food, and drinks. He promises to send sugar, expressing amazement at its low price and availability. He discusses his employment at the Gas Works, which was part of Piena Del Ray Gas Co.

Letters written by Everett C. Brown, an engineer and surveyor, while working for the United Fruit Company in Cuba, Costa Rica, Panama and other locations.

The Crumbie Papers illustrate the interconnections between the U.S. Occupation, serious collecting and studying of Vodou, and tourism. Crumbie was a customs official for the U.S. Occupational government. His scrap books show his tourist activities (baggage tags, for instance) and photography (Bringing a professional photographer) and they also are evidence his collecting of information about Haiti and Vodou in particular.

Bulk of collection deals with the notes and letters of James M. Adams trip and stay in Cuba during the first American colonization attempt of La Gloria. These letters and notes of his experience would later be put into his book Pioneering in Cuba which also is included.

Manuscript letterbook (covers missing), dated 1765 to 1772, written by Samuel Cary for the Simon Estate plantation on Grenada, West Indies.

The collection includes 140 stereograph images showcasing scenes and views of the Greater and Lesser Antilles in the Caribbean Sea.

Collection of 25 stereograph images and three view master reels showcasing scenes and views from South American countries, Cuba, Jamaica, and Florida.

This collection includes 254 postcards and two postcard leaflets from Cuba depicting major sites in Havana and Santiago de Cuba, images of culture and everyday life, and views of the ocean and nature.

The collection consists of postcards featuring views of various cities and countries throughout Latin America, as well as images of Latin American art.

1948-2009

Congressional papers of U.S. Representative Charles E. Bennett from Florida. 1903-2001.

The papers of George A. Smathers (Democrat - Florida) documenting his service in the U.S. Senate. 1934-1994.

1800-1997

1931-2009

Personal and official political papers, dated 1913-1972, of former U.S. Senator and Florida Governor, Spessard Lindsey Holland.

Laura Mabel (Byram) Brooking, daughter of Fred Byram, locomotive engineer in Panama, grew up in the Canal Zone during the years of its construction. This collection contains photographs, publications, artifacts, and postcards detailing people and places in the Zone during this period, including depictions of daily life, transportation, buildings, and the regional landscape.

Thirty-five photographs depicting the aftermath of the devastating earthquake that occurred in Chimbote, Peru in 1970.

This collection consists of materials gathered or created by Valerie Sammons, a registered nurse, on a goodwill visit to Grenada in 1983. The collection contains newspapers, T-shirts, pamphlets, and photographs. Most of the material dates from Sammons' time in Grenada. However, there is some historical information on the New Jewel Movement and Maurice Bishop. The photographs were taken by Sammon

Wendy Pond was a graduate student in the UF MALAS program from 2004 to 2006. Her thesis focused on a system of barter clubs, clubes de trueque, that sprang up in Argentina after the 1998 economic crisis. While self-titled as barter clubs, these groups in fact printed their own currency as a system of exchange. Wendy visited Argentina in 2005 to interview current and past participants in the clubs.