Guides @ UF: The Conquest of Mexico: Journal Articles

Finding Articles

This page includes links to some of the most important databases and journals regarding Latin American History. Remember that to have access you must be on-campus or use the off-campus connections, like the VPN.

Off-Campus Access

Oxford Research Encyclopedia - Latin America

Oxford Research Encyclopedia - Latin America
Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing

JSTOR: Latin American Studies

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources, providing access to a number of materials related to Latin American Studies.

Early Journal & Open Access Content: Free Content on JSTOR

JSTOR has made journal content published before 1923 in the United States (and prior to 1870 elsewhere) available for free online. This “Early Journal Content” includes more than 500,000 public domain articles from more than 200 journals on the JSTOR platform.

JSTOR Open Content

HAPI

The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) is your source for approximately 300,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

HAPI currently provides over 100,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.

SciELO

SciELO

SciELO is an open access database of journals published in Latin America. Started in Brazil, SciELO now covers 12 countries.

The Latin Americanist (TLA)

This is the journal of the Southeastern Council of Latin American Studies (SECOLAS).

Website | Feed

Journal of Latin American and Caribbean Anthropology

Published by the American Anthropological Association on behalf of the Society for Latin and Caribbean Anthropology

Website | Feed

Other Journals

Hispanic American Historical Review

Published in cooperation with the Conference on Latin American History of the American Historical Association. Hispanic American Historical Review pioneered the study of Latin American history and culture in the United States and remains the most widely respected journal in the field. HAHR's comprehensive book review section provides commentary, ranging from brief notices to review essays, on every facet of scholarship on Latin American history and culture.

The Americas

Since its founding in 1944, The Americas (TAm) has been one of the principal English-language journals of Latin American history. It publishes articles on all chronological periods of Latin American, Spanish borderlands, and related Iberian scholarship. The journal includes an extensive book review section and a compilation of news and notes of general interest to Latin Americanists.

Slavery & Abolition

A Journal of Slave and Post-Slave Studies

Ethnohistory

Ethnohistory reflects the wide range of current scholarship inspired by anthropological and historical approaches to the human condition around the world, but with a particular emphasis on the Americas. Of particular interest are those analyses and interpretations that seek to make evident the experiences, organizations, and identities of indigenous, diasporic, and minority peoples that otherwise elude the histories and anthropologies of nations, states, and colonial empires.

Colonial Latin American Review

Colonial Latin American Review (CLAR) is a unique interdisciplinary journal devoted to the study of the colonial period in Latin America. The journal was created in 1992, in response to the growing scholarly interest in colonial themes related to the Quincentenary.

Latin American Indian Literatures Journal

Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Periodicals -- PM;151;.L372 v.1(1985) - v.25(2009)

Older issues are at FLARE.

The Conquest of Mexico