Guides @ UF: The Conquest of Mexico: Accounts by Indigenous Writers

Central Mexico

Anales de Tlatelolco (ca. 1528-31 and 17th century?)

Anales de Tlatelolco paleografía y traducción, Rafael Tena.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1219.56.B57B572 2004
Anales de Tlatelolco, unos annales históricos de la nación mexicana y Códice de Tlatelolco. Versión preparada y anotada por Heinrich Berlin, con un resumen de los anales y una interpretación del códice por Robert H. Barlow.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Dewey (Request at Circ. Desk) -- 972.01A532

Historia de los mexicanos por sus pinturas. Códice Zumárraga. Códice Fuenleal (ca. 1535)

Teogonía e historia de los mexicanos; tres opúsculos del siglo xvi. by Preparó esta edición Angel Ma. Garibay K.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1219.G33

Juan de Tovar (ca. 1546-ca. 1626)

Origen de los mexicanos. Códice Ramírez.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1219.56.R45 2001

Origen de los mexicanos

Juan Bautista (1555-1615)

Cómo te confundes? Acaso no somos conquistados? : anales de Juan Bautista
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1203.R39 2001

Códice Cozcatzin (1572)

Códice Cozcatzin estudio y paleografía de Ana Rita Valero de García Lascuráin ; paleografía y traducción de los textos nahuas de Rafael Tena
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1219.56.C725C63 1994 ; UF SMATHERS, Latin America Ltd. Cir. -- F1219.56.C725C63 1994

Codex Aubin (1576)

Historia de la nación mexicana reproducción a todo color del Códice de 1576
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Ltd. Cir. -- 972.02C669h

Histoire de la nation mexicaine depuis le départ d'Aztlan jusqu'à l'arrivée des conquérants espagnols : (et au dela 1607). Manuscrit figuratif accompagné de texte en langue nahuatl ou mexicaine suivi d'une traduction en français par feu J.M.A. Aubin

Juan Bautista Pomar (fl. 1582)

Relación de Tezcoco : siglo XVI
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1391.T338P65 1975

Hernando Alvarado Tezozomoc (fl. 1598)

Crónica mexicana
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F;1219;.A47;1975 ; UF SMATHERS, Latin America Rare Books (Request in Special Coll.) -- 972.01A472c 1878

Crónica mexicana

Cantares Mexicanos (ca. 16th century)

Cantares mexicanos = Songs of the Aztecs : translated from the Nahuatl, with an introduction and commentary by John Bierhorst.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- PM4068.6.C3 1985
A Nahuatl-English dictionary and concordance to the Cantares mexicanos : with an analytic transcription and grammatical notes by John Bierhorst.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Reference -- PM4068.6.C33B5 1985
Poesía náhuatl. Paleografía, versión, introd., notas y apéndices de Angel Ma. Garibay K.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Dewey (Request at Circ. Desk) -- 897.4G232p

Cantares en idioma mexicano reproducción facsimiliaria del manuscrito original existente en la Biblioteca nacional, que se imprime por acuerdo del Sr. Gral. Don Manuel González Cosío, secretario de fomento; en el taller de fototipia del mismo ministerio,

Anónimo Mexicano (late 16th century)

Anonimo Mexicano

Códice de Huichapan (16th and 17th centuries)

Códice de Huichapan paleografía y traducción, Lawrence Ecker ; Yolanda Lastra, Doris Bartholomew, editoras.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1219.56.H84C6318 2001

UF SMATHERS, Latin America Ltd. Cir. -- F1219.56.H84C63 1976

Códice Chimalpopoca (17th century)

Códice Chimalpopoca
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1219.C653 1975
Codex Chimalpopoca : the text in Nahuatl with a glossary and grammatical notes by John Bierhorst.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1219.56.C62C63 1992
History and mythology of the Aztecs : the Codex Chimalpopoca translated from the Nahuatl by John Bierhorst.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1219.56.C62 1992

Anales de Cuauhtitlan; noticias historicas de Mexico y sus contornos

Other

Translated Christianities by Mark Z. Christensen
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1219.76.R45C54 2014

Publication Date: 2014
Nahua and Maya Catholicisms by Mark Christensen
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1219.76.R45C47 2013

Publication Date: 2013

Chimalpahin Cuauhtlehuanitzin (1579-1660)

Codex Chimalpahin: : society and politics in Mexico Tenochtitlan, Tlatelolco, Texcoco, Culhuacan, and other Nahua altepetl in central Mexico : the Nahuatl and Spanish annals and accounts collected and recorded by don Domingo de San Antón Muñón Chimalpahin by Arthur J. O. Anderson (Edited and Translated by); Susan Schroeder (Edited and Translated by); Domingo Francisco De San Anton Munon Chimalpahin Quauhtlehuanitzin
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1219.76.P75C48 1997

Publication Date: 1997
Historia mexicana : a short history of ancient Mexico Domingo Chimalpahin ; Spanish text and English translation edited by John B. Glass.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1219.C589 1978
Annals of His Time by Susan Schroeder (Editor); Doris Namala (Editor); James Lockhart (Editor)
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1219.54.A98C45 2006

Publication Date: 2006
Las ocho relaciones y el memorial de Colhuacan Domingo Chimalpahín ; paleografía y traducción Rafael Tena.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1229.C324 1998

Yntemoca yntlacamecayo, yn tlahtoque yn teteuhctin yn ompa tlaca ypan altepetl culhuacan yhuan nican tlahtoque teteuhctin yn ipan in tlaca huey altepetl mexico tenochtitlan Oquitlallitiaque yn tlahtoque teteuhctin culhuacan Chimalpahin Cuauhtlehuanitzin,

Fray Diego Durán (1588)

The History of the Indies of New Spain by Diego Duran; Doris Heyden (Annotations by, Introduction by, Translator)
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1219.73.D8713 1994
Book of the Gods and Rites and the Ancient Calendar by Fr. Diego Duran; Fernando Horcasitas (Translator); Doris Heyden (Translator); Miquel Leon-Portilla (Foreword by)
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Dewey (Request at Circ. Desk) -- 299.7D948lEh

ISBN: 0806108894

Publication Date: 1975

The history of the Indies of New Spain

Fernando de Alva Ixtlilxochitl (ca. 1578-1648)

Ally of Cortés: account 13, of the coming of the Spaniards and the beginning of the evangelical law. Translated with a foreword by Douglass K. Ballentine. by Fernando de Alva Ixtlilxóchitl
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1230.I973

Publication Date: 1969
Historia de la nación chichimeca
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1219.73.A47 2000
Obras históricas de Don Fernando de Alva Ixtlilxochitl
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Dewey (Request at Circ. Desk) -- 972.01I97o

Codex Mendoza (ca. 1541-1542)

The Essential Codex Mendoza by Frances F. Berdan; Patricia Rieff Anawalt
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1219.56.C625C64 1997

ISBN: 0520204549

Publication Date: 1997
The Codex Mendoza by Frances F. Berdan; Patricia R. Anawalt
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Ltd. Cir. Over -- F1219.56.C624C64 1992

Publication Date: 1992
Codex Mendoza : Aztec manuscript commentaries by Kurt Ross.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Ltd. Cir. -- F1219.C689 1978 Copy #2
Colección de Mendoza, o, Codice Mendocino : documento mexicano del siglo XVI que se conserva en la Biblioteca Bodleiana de Oxford, Inglaterra facsimile fototípico dispuesto por don Francisco del Paso y Troncoso ; edición acompañada de una introducción, d
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1219.56.C625C67 1980

The essential Codex Mendoza [edited by] Frances F. Berdan and Patricia Rieff Anawalt.

Diego Muñoz Camargo (ca. 1529-1599)

Historia de Tlaxcala edición de Germán Vázquez Chamorro
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1219.8.T53M86 2002

Anthologies

Nueva colección de documentos para la historia de México by García Icazbalceta, Joaquín 1825-1894
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Dewey (Request at Circ. Desk) -- 972G2167n 1886-92

Publication Date: 1886-92
Epistolario de Nueva España, 1505-1818 by Paso y Troncoso, Francisco del 1842-1916
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Dewey (Request at Circ. Desk) -- 972.008B582 Ser.2

Publication Date: 1939-42

Papeles de Nueva España, publicados de orden y con fondos del gobierno mexicano por Francisco del Paso y Troncoso.

In the language of kings : an anthology of Mesoamerican literature--pre-Columbian to the present [edited by] Miguel León-Portilla and Earl Shorris with Sylvia S. Shorris ... [et al.].
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- PM3097.E1I5 2001