Caribbean Studies

You can find these documents at the Special Collections Reading Room, located in the second floor of Library East. Click the link to access the Finding Aid.

• Romero Family Papers Regarding José Martí

  Correspondence, newspaper clippings, photos, and mementos sent to María Mantilla de Romero regarding her father José Martí.
• Cuba en 1925 Photograph Album
• Historia de Cuba Photograph Albums

  C. 1935
• Historia Grafica de la Maritima Parreño Scrapbook

  1921-1941
• Album de la Revolución Cubana 1952-1959

  Circa 1959
• Rafael Martínez Pupo Papers Relating to Comandos Mambises

  1959-1984
• Reina Peñate de Tito Collection

  Related to 1961 events.
• Carlos González Blanco Collection

  1968-1977
• Robert N. Pierce Collection

  1959

• William Crosbie Estate Papers

  The William Crosbie Estate Papers include correspondence concerning his estate and also his agent/manager, John Otto Bayer's land in Antigua.
  Dates: 1792-1816
• De Mey van Streefkerk Family Papers

  Reproductions of letters and other documents pertaining to the sugar plantations operated by the De Mey van Streefkerk family in the Dutch colony of Surinam in the West Indies.
  Dates: 1725-1830
• Ramiro Guerra Speech

  Manuscript and translation of "El latifundio azucarero y la poblacion de las Antillas" ("West Indian sugar plantations and peoples"), by Ramiro Guerra in 1934. Also includes correspondence.
  Date: 1934
• West Indies Papers

  Correspondence of the various colonial governors of the British West Indies together with financial accounts and pay warrants.
  Dates: 1771-1829
• Valerie Sammons Collection

  Newspapers, T-shirts, pamphlets, and photographs gathered or created by Valerie Sammons on a goodwill visit to Grenada in 1983.
• Zephaniah Kingsley Collection

  1812-1946
• Photographs of Sugar Mills in Puerto Rico

  ca. 1898

• A.S. Arnold's Photo Album and Diary of a Trip to Jamaica

  Photo album and travel diary documenting a 1904 trip to Jamaica taken by three New York doctors.
• John Thomas Duckworth Papers

  Letters to and from Sir John Thomas Duckworth to family and his naval associates and superiors regarding his naval engagements in the Caribbean.
  Dates: 1801-1807

• James M. Adams "Pioneering in Cuba" Papers

  Bulk of collection deals with the notes and letters of James M. Adams trip and stay in Cuba during the first American colonization attempt of La Gloria. These letters and notes of his experience would later be put into his book Pioneering in Cuba which also is included.
  Dates: 1882-1909
• Jose Francisco Barreto y Cardenas petition to King Ferdinand VII

  Petition written to King Ferdinand by Spanish nobleman Jose Francisco Barreto regarding the Cuban colony government.
  Date: October 10, 1814
• Braga Brothers Collection

  Records related to trade, manufacture, and cultivation of Cuban sugar. The records begin in the second half of the nineteenth century and end shortly after the nationalization of the Cuban sugar industry by the government of Fidel Castro.
  Dates: 1860-1984
• Everett C. Brown Papers

  Letters written by Everett C. Brown, an engineer and surveyor, while working for the United Fruit Company in Cuba, Costa Rica, Panama and other locations.
  Dates: 1919-1921
• Business Letters Describing the Financial Market in Cuba

  Includes correspondence, dated 1867-1871, from agents in Cuba reporting on business and market conditions to merchants in Portland, Maine.
• King Charles IV of Spain's Real Cedula to Cuba

  An official copy of a real cedula expressing the King of Spain's displeasure toward interracial marriages in Cuba.
  Date: 1810
• Document Regarding Financial and Property Transactions of the Convento de San Francisco in Havana, Cuba

  Document describing transactions of money and land between various individuals and the Convento de San Francisco in Havana, Cuba.
  Date: 1844
• Cuban Miscellaneous Collection at the University of Florida

  The Cuban Miscellaneous Collection is comprised of a variety of materials relating to Cuba.
  Various dates, ranging from 1639 to 1960.
• Cuban Slave Insurance Collection

  Seventeen documents pertaining to insurance for slaves in Cuba.
  Dates: 1855-1878
• B.S. Hile Correspondence

  Letters written by B.S. Hile to his family while he is living and employed in Havana, Cuba.
  Dates: 1861-1862
• John Parker Letters

  Letters from John Parker in Havana, Cuba, to his employer, A.C. Johnstone, describing business in Cuba.
  Date: 1815
• Advertencia. La presente resena de los acontecimientos...

  Manuscript "Advertencia" by Antonio Prats, describing the events that resulted in his arrest during the period of political unrest leading up to the 10 Years War in Cuba.
  Date: circa 1863

• Observations de la Chambre de Commerce, Marseille, France

  An 1816 manuscript entitled, "Observations de la Chambre de Commerce... Marseille," which deals with the commerce of Marseille, particularly with the French colonies in the Americas.