Guides @ UF: Midwifery: eBooks and Journals

Midwifery Journals

Africa Journal of Nursing and Midwifery
The journal publishes articles on current nursing and health related issues, and encourages those that exhibit innovative and quantitative research methods and approaches. It promotes debate, both theoretical and practical, on a wide range of topics and cross-disciplinary interests.
Birth: Issues in Perinatal Care
Birth: Issues in Perinatal Care is an interdisciplinary obstetrics & gynecology journal. The journal disseminates original, peer-reviewed experimental research and review papers on clinical practice in the fields of perinatal medicine, perinatal nursing, maternal/newborn public health, and the social sciences.
BMC Pregnancy and Childbirth
BMC Pregnancy and Childbirth is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of pregnancy and childbirth. The journal welcomes submissions on the biomedical aspects of pregnancy, breastfeeding, labor, maternal health, maternity care, trends and sociological aspects of pregnancy and childbirth.
European Journal of Midwifery
The European Journal of Midwifery is an open-access and double-blind peer-reviewed scientific journal. The aim of the journal is to foster, promote, and disseminate research involving midwifery education and clinical practice. The journal has an international focus and hence welcomes submissions from across the globe. EJM covers all aspects of the practice of midwifery, especially midwifery research, support, care, and advice during pregnancy, labor, and the postpartum period. The journal is proud to be under the auspices of 14 European Midwives Associations and is indexed in PubMed, Embase, Scopus, and the Web of Science - ESCI.
Evidence Based Midwifery
Evidence Based Midwifery (EBM) is an online peer reviewed journal and its aim is the promotion, dissemination, implementation and evaluation of midwifery evidence at local, national and international levels. A publication of the Royal College of Midwives, based out of London, UK.
Journal of Midwifery & Women's Health
The Journal of Midwifery & Women's Health (JMWH) is the official journal of the American College of Nurse-Midwives. Within a culture of inclusion and antiracism, JMWH advocates for health equity, access to quality care for all persons, and excellence in midwifery. Articles published in JMWH include new research and current knowledge across a broad range of clinical and interprofessional topics including perinatal care, sexual and reproductive health, gynecology, primary care, public health, health care policy, and global health.
Midwifery
Midwifery is officially recognised by the European Midwives Association. Midwifery publishes the latest peer reviewed research to inform the safety, quality, outcomes and experiences of care during pregnancy, labour, birth, postnatal and beyond for childbearing women, their infants and families. The journal's publications support midwives and maternity care providers to explore and develop their knowledge, skills and attitudes.
Midwifery Matters
Midwifery Matters is a quarterly magazine committed to publishing student and midwife-led research and writing, providing resources to practicing midwives, and fostering a space for dialogue within the midwifery community. It aims, by highlighting current research relevant to midwifery practice, to cultivate a new generation of midwife-writers and midwife-researchers.
Nursing and Midwifery Studies
Nursing and Midwifery Studies is an international, peer-reviewed, quarterly, open access journal that seeks to promote the development and exchange of knowledge that is directly relevant to all spheres of nursing and midwifery practice.
Placenta
The Official journal of the International Federation of Placenta Associations, the journal Placenta publishes high-quality original articles and invited topical reviews on all aspects of human and animal placentation, and the interactions between the mother, the placenta and fetal development, genetics and epigenetics, stem cells, transport, immunology, pathology, pharmacology, cell and molecular biology, and developmental programming.
Journal of Nursing and Midwifery Sciences
Journal of Nursing and Midwifery Sciences (JNMS), published by Brieflands, advances evidence-based nursing, midwifery, and healthcare by sharing high-quality, contemporary research and scholarship. It serves practicing nurses, midwives, managers, educators, students, and researchers, promoting professional development and interdisciplinary collaboration.

Midwifery eBooks

Clinical Practice Guidelines for Midwifery and Women's Health by Nell L. Tharpe; Cindy L. Farley; Robin G. Jordan
ISBN: 9781284070248
Publication Date: 2016-05-01
Clinical Practice Guidelines for Midwifery & Women's Health, Fifth Edition is an accessible and easy-to-use quick reference guide for midwives and women's healthcare providers. Completely updated and revised to reflect the changing clinical environment, it offers current evidence-based practice, updated approaches, and opportunities for midwifery leadership in every practice setting. Also included are integrative, alternative, and complementary therapies.
Gabbe's Obstetrics: Normal and Problem Pregnancies by Mark B. Landon; Henry L. Galan; Eric R. M. Jauniaux; Deborah A. Driscoll; Vincenzo Berghella; William A. Grobman; Sarah J. Kilpatrick; Alison G. Cahill
ISBN: 9780323608701
Publication Date: 2020-03-09
Availability: Print, Ask at Information Desk
Highly readable, well-illustrated, and easy to understand, Gabbe’s Obstetrics: Normal and Problem Pregnancies is an ideal day-to-day reference or study tool for residents and clinicians. This 8th Edition of this bestselling text offers fast access to evidence-based, comprehensive information, now fully revised with substantial content updates, new and improved illustrations, and a new, international editorial team that continues the tradition of excellence established by Dr. Steven Gabbe.
Health Promotion in Midwifery: Principles and Practice by Jan Bowden and Sam Bassett
ISBN: 9781003350071
Publication Date: 11/29/2024
The fourth edition of Health Promotion in Midwifery explores the principles of health promotion within the practical context of midwifery. It clearly outlines and discusses the midwife’s role in health promotion, linking theory, and practice.
Prenatal and Postnatal Care by Robin G. Jordan (Editor); Cindy L. Farley (Editor); Karen Trister Grace (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119318347
Publication Date: 2018-04-23
Prenatal and Postnatal Care The second edition of the comprehensive and award-winning text on prenatal and postnatal care The updated edition of Prenatal and Postnatal Care offers a comprehensive text for the care of the woman during the childbearing year. The expert author team presents information needed to master foundational knowledge in anatomy, physiology, psychology, culture, the structure of preconception, prenatal and postnatal care, as well as the management of common health problems.
Preterm Birth: A Handbook for Midwives by Naomi Carlisle and Jenny Carter
ISBN: 9781003380504
Publication Date: 12/31/2024
Preterm Birth: A Handbook for Midwives introduces the knowledge that midwives require for practice, drawing together the most up-to-date research and identifying care pathways. This essential guide presents the latest evidence, discussing the causes and consequences of preterm birth. It describes what preterm birth is, explores the risk factors and causes, explains monitoring methods and presents interventions for reducing the risk of preterm birth itself as well as interventions for managing its consequences. Women’s voices are heard throughout as they describe their experiences in their own words, and each substantive chapter includes recommendations for practice.
Simkin's Labor Progress Handbook by Lisa Hanson (Editor); Emily Malloy (Editor); Penny Simkin (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119754466
Publication Date: 2024-01-03
This invaluable guide unravels the complexities of labor, equipping you with practical strategies to overcome challenges encountered along the way. Inside this comprehensive book, you'll discover a wealth of low-technology, evidence-based interventions designed to prevent and manage difficult or prolonged labors. Grounded in research and practical experience, these approaches are tailored by doulas and clinicians to provide optimal care and achieve successful outcomes.
Varney's Midwifery by Helen Varney; Jan M. Kriebs; Carolyn L. Gegor
ISBN: 1417584041
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Known As The "Bible" Of Midwifery, This New Edition Of Varney'S Midwifery Has Been Extensively Revised And Updated To Reflect The Full Scope Of Current Midwifery Practice In A Balance Of Art And Science, A Blend Of Spirituality And Evidence-Based Care, And A Commitment To Being With Women.
Williams Obstetrics (26e) by F. Gary Cunningham, Kenneth J. Leveno, Jodi S. Dashe, Barbara L. Hoffman, Catherine Y. Spong, Brian M. Casey
ISBN: 9781260462746
Publication Date: 2022
Williams Obstetrics has defined the discipline for generations of obstetrician-gynecologists. Written by authors from the nationally renowned University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center and Parkland Hospital, the new edition of this authoritative, evidence-based work maintains its trademark comprehensive coverage and applicability at the bedside, while offering the most current information and insights.

General Health Sciences Reference Books

Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses (19th edition) by April Hazard Vallerand; Cynthia A. Sanoski
ISBN: 9781719646406
Publication Date: 2025
Availability: eBook
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses®, Nineteenth Edition delivers everything you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--643 well-organized monographs encompassing hundreds of generic drugs and thousands of trade names. Its nursing-focused Cure & Care' approach explains what the drug does and describes what the nurse does and how the nursing process relates to the pharmacotherapeutics.
How to Read a Paper by Trisha Greenhalgh
ISBN: 9781119484721
Publication Date: 2019-04-04
How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more.
Pharmacology for Women's Health (2nd Edition) by Mary C. Brucker; Tekoa L. King
ISBN: 9781284057485
Publication Date: 2017
Pharmacology for Women's Health, Second Edition is a unique text that discusses pharmacology as it specifically relates to women's health. Completely updated and revised to reflect the changing field of pharmacology, it includes new pharmacological agents for common conditions, changes in indications, the use of vaccines, updated guidelines from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) for treatment of sexually transmitted infections, and the effects of the Affordable Care Act.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by Donald Venes
ISBN: 9781719642859
Publication Date: 2021-02-17
Taber's brings meanings to life. In hand, online or mobile...the all-in-one, go-to source for classroom, clinic, and beyond. Put the language of nursing, medicine, and the healthcare professions at your fingertips. In hand, online, or on your mobile device--anywhere and everywhere, Taber's 24 is the all-in-one, go-to source in the classroom, clinical, and beyond.