Written by well-respected experts from the UK and USA, Equine Internal Medicine: Self-Assessment Color Review Second Edition presents more than 200 interesting and challenging cases encountered in equine practice, complete with photographs, imaging, or endoscopy findings; blood or fluid smears; other ancillary tests; and, in some cases, pathologic
Equine Color Genetics, Fourth Edition presents a detailed examination of the color variation in horses and donkeys and the genetic mechanisms that produce color variations. Thoroughly covers the basic colors in horses, including bay, chestnut, black, and brown Details the genetic basis of the colors built from the basic coat color, including dilutions and white patterning Provides an explanation of genetic mechanisms that determine coat color Presents a thorough revision and update, including new advances in molecular genetics, biochemistry, molecular mechanisms, genetic loci, coat colors before domestication, and more Offers a new introduction describing the principles of genetics and genomics research to help outline how knowledge is discovered and to assist the reader in understanding concepts covered in the book
Equine Genomics Equine genetics has long been studied as a means of improving traits such as performance capabilities and coat color in horses. Dramatic advances in genomics and high-throughput DNA analysis technologies have significantly increased our understanding of the molecular biology of growth, development, and disease. Equine Genomics focuses on the significant advances in genome-mapping and genomic technologies and their application to the improvement of equine traits of economic significance. Equine Genomics provides broad-ranging coverage of advances in genome science as applied to horses. The opening chapters provide strong foundational information on defining the equine genome, the development of genetic linkage, physical and comparative maps, as well as whole genome sequences. The following several chapters then look at the underlying genetics of key traits, such as reproduction, coat color, performance, and a variety of key diseases impacting horses. The final chapter looks at equine mitochondrial DNA and its implication on equid evolution and genetic diversity. A timely and vitally important resource, Equine Genomics, is an essential title for animal scientists, genomic researchers, veterinary scientists, equine breeders, and industry personnel.
Equine Behavioral Medicine provides an essential resource for those who work with, study, and provide care to horses. It provides critical knowledge to help users understand the complex aspects of their behavior in order to benefit the animal, observe safe practices, and advance research in this area. The book includes current information on normal horse behavior and problem behaviors, particularly those associated with medical conditions, changes in the nervous system, and the use of drug therapy. Readers will gain a comprehensive understanding of the differences of the sensory systems and the concepts of learning that are helpful for successful treatments and safety. With the use of psychopharmacology becoming increasingly common by veterinarians, including for abnormal behaviors, is important to understand the rationale for the use of these medications. Understanding the intimate relationship between behavior, physiology, and health is key to practitioners, students, professionals, and others who work with, or care for, horses. Pulls together the current published science on equine behavior into chapters covering a variety of specific behavioral topics Features discussion based on an extensive review of the literature Includes a thorough reference list in each chapter for those who might be interested in further research
Forages should be the basis of all diets in horse feeding. Therefore it is of major importance to determine which parameters will influence their quality. Changes on chemical composition along the vegetative cycle, nutrient losses during harvesting, preservation and storage are factors that could have an effect on nutritive value, as well on digestibility and palatability. A specific grazing and ingesting behaviour, linked to plant preferences and the selection of feeding sites will have an impact on biodiversity. This will determine the options on plant species and varieties and further management of pastures for horses. This book highlights the role of forages and grazing in horse nutrition and also gathers information about related topics, such as the contribution of local breeds for the sustainability and development of rural areas, their impact on landscape and relationships with environmental preservation. This book is the 6th volume in a scientific series conceived through the European Workshop on Equine Nutrition (EWEN) which falls under the umbrella of the Horse Commission of the European Federation of Animal Science (EAAP). All these materials provide an interesting basis for further discussion, not only in specialized forums, but also for those involved in horse production.
Designed to cover techniques for analysis of data in the animal sciences, this book provides a complete source of information for students and researchers. The first part of the book provides an overview of the basic principles of statistics so the reader will be able to follow subsequent applications with familiarity and understanding, and without having to switch to another book of introductory statistics. The second half covers more complex applications and detailed procedures for analyzing designs commonly used in research in animal sciences.
This detailed volume provides diagnosticians and researchers with practical methodologies and approaches to tackle animal coronaviruses. It explores conventional immunohistochemistry, virus neutralization, enzyme-linked immunosorbent assays, expression and purification of recombinant viral proteins, and various molecular assays, including conventional and real-time reverse transcription-PCR, reverse genetics methodology, and next generation sequencing and sequence analyses. As part of the Springer Protocols Handbooks series, chapters contain readily reproducible laboratory protocols as well as expert tips on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls. Practical and authoritative, Animal Coronaviruses serves as an ideal reference for researchers examining a wide variety of coronavirus species in the Coronaviridae.
A rational exploration of the ethical and welfare issues in all areas of equine use. This book addresses controversial and emotive issues surrounding these iconic creatures, providing a reliable source of information to support informed debate. It will enable all those with an interest in horses and the uses they are put to gain an awareness of the problems and abuses that occur. The book draws on the expertise of a range of acknowledged leaders in equine health and welfare.