Guides @ UF: Equine Health & Equine Genetics: Journals & Online Resources

Selected Databases & Journals

AGRICOLA
A bibliographic database consisting of literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture; significant coverage in veterinary medicine as well.
BIOSIS
Indexes over 6000 journals covering biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. There is also indexing of meetings, review articles, books reviews, book chapters, software, and U.S. patents.
CABI
One of the largest bibliographic databases covering international research and development literature in the fields of Agriculture, Animal health, Forestry, Human health, Human nutrition, and Management and conservation of natural resources.
Embase
Major biomedical literature database, with a particular focus on international coverage.
PubMed
A premier resource for finding biomedical articles provided by the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health. Includes more than 1.5 million citations relating to veterinary medical topics.
Scopus
Comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines.
Web of Science
Search multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world back to 1900. Also provides cited reference searching to see who has cited whom.

Online Resources About Equines

Breeds of Horses
From Oklahoma State University
Center for Equine Health: Horse Report
From the University of California Davis School of Veterinary Medicine
Equine Color Coat Genetics
From the University of California David Veterinary Genetics Lab
Maxwell H. Gluck Equine Research Center
Through the University of Kentucky; click on Research tab to access publications Equine Disease Quarterly and Equine Science Review
Large Animal Health Topics: Horses
From the American College of Veterinary Surgeons
Horse Single Nucleotide Polymorphisms
Paired-end low-coverage whole genome shotgun reads generated from 7 breeds; from the Broad Institute
Horse Genome Project
This consortium of over 20 laboratories from more than a dozen countries has collaborated to produce various genetic and physical maps of the horse genome, culminating in the whole genome sequence; follow links to 11 genome packets

Featured Veterinary Online Resources

AVMA Animal Health Studies Database
Search for veterinary clinical studies using this resource, launched by the AVMA in June 2016.
Merck Veterinary Manual
A foundational resource in veterinary reference.
CONSULTANT
A diagnostic tool from the Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine. Allows searching by diagnosis or signs and contains a list of "new and noteworthy" articles.
Animal Drugs @ FDA (Green Book)
A reference work containing information about drugs used in veterinary medicine. Includes trade names, active ingredients, and patent information.
FDA Center for Veterinary Medicine
Includes information for both consumers and veterinarians focusing on safety, health, science, and research.
Veterinary Information Network (VIN)
A frequently-used portal to veterinary information and research online. Free registration available to veterinary medical students.
International Veterinary Information Service (IVIS)
An online publisher of veterinary books and proceedings. Free to veterinarians, veterinary students, and animal health professionals
PubMed A premier resource for finding biomedical articles provided by the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health. Includes more than 1.5 million citations relating to veterinary medical topics.
- PubMed Search for Animal Health and Veterinary Journals
  Includes 320 relevant journals indexed in PubMed
- PubMed Search for Comprehensive Veterinary Topics
  
  A comprehensive veterinary sciences topic search