Milton Florida Research & Education Center

The Encyclopedia of Entomology provides a detailed, global overview of insects and their close relatives, including taxonomy, behavior, ecology, physiology, history, and management. It covers all the major groups of arthropods, as well as many important families and individual species. The encyclopedia also covers physiology, genetics, ecology, behavior, insect relationships with people, medical entomology, and pest management.

Emphasizing the biology, ecology, behavior, and diverse methods of controlling mites, this book provides an overview of the management of agriculturally important mites using all available Integrated Pest Management (IPM) tools, including biological control, cultural practices, host-plant resistance, and pesticides.

The text explores the latest knowledge and thinking on this very important approach for the assessment of environmental health, management, and conservation. It describes the core biomarkers currently used in environmental research concerned with biological monitoring, biomarkers which correspond to the defenses developed by living organisms in response to contaminants in their environment, and biomarkers that reveal biological damage resulting from contaminant stressors.

Forests provide a large range of beneficial services, including tangible ones such as timber and recreation, and intangible services such as climate regulation, biodiversity, and watershed protection.

This book provides a foundation in invasion ecology by examining ecological theories and case studies that explain plant invasions, their impacts, management strategies, and the ecological economics.

Pesticides: Evaluation of Environmental Pollution presents, in a single volume, current knowledge on environmental pollution caused by pesticides, helping readers evaluate the effects that pesticide residues have in all compartments of the environment.

The most comprehensive resource available for the planning, design, and operation of wetland treatment systems. The book addresses the design, construction, and operation of wetlands for water pollution control.

Covers various aspects related to water management and agriculutural sustainability in conditions of a changing climate, an increasing world population and expected shortages of food and potable water. Compiled of peer reviewed contributions by a team of internationally well-known experts in agricultural engineering.