Guides @ UF: X-Labs: Physics Databases

Recommended Physics Journal Databases

The following databases index physics and physics-related journal articles and publications:

arXiv.org e-Print Archive
Started in Aug 1991, arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Covered areas include physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computational linguistics, and neuroscience.

NASA Astrophysics Data System Journals This link opens in a new window
Operated by Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory, abstracts and full-text in astronomy and astrophysics, and physics, including all arXiv e-prints.

High Energy Physics INSPIRE
Literature database for high-energy physics

INSPEC (in Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
An Institute of Engineering and Technology index of journals and proceedings in physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, and information technology.

American Institute of Physics (AIP) Journals
Search the American Institute of Physics journals, including all Physical Review titles.
IEEE/IEE Electronic Library (IEL)
IEEE Xplore provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1963 and all current IEEE standards.
Institute of Physics (IOP) Science Journals
IOP Publishing is the publishing branch of the Institute of Physics, and publishes many key journals in several areas of physics, including the Journals of Physics A though D and the Astrophysical Journal.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary journal indexing and citation database with coverage back to 1900.

Featured Database

The Web of Science contains information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more.It contains the references cited by the authors of the articles. You can use these references to do cited reference searching. This type of search allows you to find articles that cite a previously published work. It fully covers over 12,000 highly acclaimed impact journal worldwide.