Fort Lauderdale REC

This website distributes the data gathered by the National Weather Service in the United States. It makes available electronic copies of its various data publications.

Monthly collections of weather data by state. Each report is available as a pdf file. The data is gathered and distributed by the National Climatic Data Center.

The Local Climatological Data series contains information for individual weather recording sites in different states. It is a product of the National Climatic Data Center.

The Local Climatological Data series contains information for individual weather recording sites in different states. It is a product of the National Climatic Data Center.

The Center distributes the Federal data for Florida from many of the National Climatic Data Center series also listed in this box. There are also a number historical sets that it redistributes. It also links to special data collections on such topics as climate change that are not part of the regular data sets.

AntWeb is the world's largest online database of images, specimen records, and natural history information on ants. It is community driven and open to contribution from anyone with specimen records, natural history comments, or images.
Our mission is to publish for the scientific community high quality images of all the world's ant species. AntWeb provides tools for submitting images, specimen records, annotating species pages, and managing regional species lists.

A comprehensive database for information and images on the genetics and molecular biology of Drosophila.

Extensive resource on forest insects and related topics, including an image archive.

UK's Natural History Museum brings together an enormous body of information on what the world's butterfly and moth (Lepidoptera) caterpillars eat. The web-based version presented here offers a synoptic data set drawn from about 180,000 records comprising taxonomically 'cleaned' hostplant data for about 22,000 Lepidoptera species drawn from about 1600 published and manuscript sources.

Sponsored by the USGS, this database is a "work in progress," consisting of information on the known distribution of Dragonflies and Damselflies (Odonata) in the United States. Distribution maps and county checklists were created by extracting information on Odonata distribution from publications listed in references.

This comprehensive guide attempt to organize the thousands of informational resources available to entomologists. The original compilation was done in the early 1990's by L.B. Bjostad of Colorado State University and John VanDyk of Iowa State University.

This website publishes survey maps for pests of agricultural and forest commodities and provides links to pest news and information. The National Agricultural Pest Information System (NAPIS) stores and manages pest survey data that is collected by CAPS and other PPQ survey programs. Detection surveys are one tool used to manage the introduction of exotic pests.

Names insect champions and documents their achievements. Each chapter deals with a different category of record.

To produce basic and applied information about plant-and fungal-related topics. This aim is carried out through science and research in systematics, biological interactions, economic botany, conservation and horticulture.

Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

A searchable database of vascular plant, bryophyte and lichen type specimens label data; high resolution digital images of all vascular plant holotypes, isotypes, lectotypes, neotypes and syntypes; and literature citations relevant to the included specimens.

AlgaeBase is a database of information on algae that includes terrestrial, marine and freshwater organisms. At present, the data for the marine algae, particularly seaweeds, are the most complete. For convenience, we have included the sea-grasses even though they are flowering plants.

The significant published literature on the neobiology, paleobiology, and ethnobiology of the mammalian orders Sirenia and Desmostylia is exhaustively cataloged in over 5,300 main entries alphabetized by author. Both technical and popular works are included, and many entries are annotated. The earliest work cited is a letter by N. Syllacio published in 1494 or 1495, describing Columbus's second voyage to the New World.

FishBase is a relational database with information to cater to different professionals such as research scientists, fisheries managers, zoologists and many more. FishBase on the web contains practically all fish species known to science. Information includes common names (in several languages), scientific names, size, distribution, environmental information, bibliographic reference, and other information.

The IWC publishes the Annual Report of the International Whaling Commission and the Journal of Cetacean Research and Management. Annual Reports can be downloaded free of charge.

This website has extensive information for identifying marine organisms, animal, plant, and microorganisms. Entries include pictures, descriptions, distribution, habitat, and other relevant information. There are also literature references.

ReefBase is a global database of coral reefs. It includes information on reef structures, the fish and other organisms that coexist with the reefs, threats to the reefs, and other information.

A database of information on sponges hosted by Nova Southeastern University. Database includes scientific and common names, photographs, physical descriptions, and distribution information.

The Marine Mammals Bibliography is based on a large collection of publications collected by various U.S. government agencies and indexed in this database by staff at the the Smithsonian Institution.