Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Plant Science Call Numbers
||Natural History, Ecology, Biology
||Chemical Technology, Food Science
||Home Economics, Food Science
E-books for the UF community
Electronic books from the publisher CABI, covering topics in Agriculture, Animal and Veterinary Science, Environmental Science, Plant Sciences, Food and Nutrition, and Leisure and Tourism.
Books24x7 provides business, technical and engineering content containing thousands of digitized "best-in class" books, book summaries, research reports and best practices.
CRC Press e-books.
Science Direct e-books
Encyclopedias, handbooks, and texts from Elsevier. TIP: In search box, set Source options to "Subscribed sources".
Ebooks by title and series. Also more than 17,000 protocols.
Selected Crop & Culture Books @ the UF Libraries
Plant Evolution and the Origin of Crop Species by The genetic variability that developed in plants during their evolution forms the basis of their domestication and breeding into the crops grown today for food, fuel and other industrial uses. This third edition of Plant Evolution and the Origin of Crop Species brings the subject up-to-date, with more emphasis on crop origins. Beginning with a description of the processes of evolution in native and cultivated plants, the book reviews the origins of crop domestication and their subsequent development over time. All major crop species are discussed, including cereals, protein plants, starch crops, fruits and vegetables, from their origins to conservation of their genetic resources for future development.
Publication Date: 2012-09-13
Darwin's Harvest by Darwin's Harvest addresses concerns that we are losing the diversity of crop plants that provide food for most of the world. With contributions from evolutionary biologists, geneticists, agronomists, molecular biologists, and anthropologists, this collection discusses how economic development, loss of heirloom varieties and wild ancestors, and modern agricultural techniques have endangered the genetic diversity needed to keep agricultural crops vital and capable of adaptation. Drawing on the most up-to-date data, the contributors review the utilization of molecular techniques to understand crop evolution. They explore current research on various crop plants of both temperate and tropical origin, including maize, sunflower, avocado, sugarcane, and wheat. The chapters in Darwin's Harvest also provide solid background for understanding many recent discoveries concerning the origins of crops and the influence of human migration and farming practices on the genetics of our modern foods.
Call Number: SB106.O74 D37 2006
Publication Date: 2006-01-04
Historical Geography of Crop Plants by Historical Geography of Crop Plants is devoted to a variety of staple and food crops, as well as fodder, fiber, timber, rubber, and other crops. The origins and histories of many of these crops have been clarified only recently by new research. The book has been arranged alphabetically by family and higher taxa for easy reference. Within families, species and cultivars are listed chronologically and geographically. The taxonomy and geography of probable wild progenitors have been outlined, and archeological evidence (when available) and historical evidence on region and domestication are traced. The subsequent evolution and spread of many domesticated species are examined, and the reasons behind the diversity in crop histories are explored. Historical Geography of Crop Plants will be a useful reference for botanists, economic botanists, ethnobiologists, agronomists, geographers, and others interested in the subject.
Publication Date: 1993-06-04
Food habits and consumption in developing Countries by During the last decade the food and nutrition situation in developing countries has changed dramatically. For better or worse, urbanization and globalization have altered the diet and nutrition in both rural and urban areas. In many developing countries a persistent level of under nutrition exists both in rural areas and in urban slums due to less access to food needed for an active and healthy life. On the other hand, over-nutrition, or eating too much, has emerged among the middle-income groups. It is essential to have a better understanding of how people deal with their food in developing countries, in order to plan and implement food and nutrition programmes.This manual deals with the process of changing food habits and consumption patterns in developing countries. Nutritional implications, together with practical information is discussed in relationship to conducting field surveys. Part one of the manual provides insight into the dynamics of food habits and consumption and its socio-economic and cultural dimensions. Part two gives practical information on small scale surveys to be carried out within the framework of a nutrition issue; including data collecting on food habits and the measurement of food intake. This manual addresses professionals with practical or academic training and those who are involved in various types of food and nutrition programmes or related activities. It can also be used as a handbook in food and nutrition training courses at higher and at academic level.
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
News from the Past: Progress in African Archaeobotany by Most of the contributions in this volume were presented at the seventh International Workshop on African Archaeobotany (IWAA), held in Vienna, 2-5 July 2012. They address past interrelationships between people and plants as evident in the rich archaeobotanical, ethnographic, and linguistic record of Africa. Since its inception two decades ago, IWAA has developed into a tightly knit community of scholars from all continents who share a profound interest in African ways of plant exploitation, trade networks, questions of origin, domestication and subsequent dispersal of African crops, as well as the introduction of crops of Asian and American origin.
Publication Date: 2016-08-31
Food, Genes, and Culture by Vegan, low fat, low carb, slow carb: Every diet seems to promise a one-size-fits-all solution to health. But they ignore the diversity of human genes and how they interact with what we eat. In Food, Genes, and Culture, renowned ethnobotanist Gary Nabhan shows why the perfect diet for one person could be disastrous for another. If your ancestors were herders in Northern Europe, milk might well provide you with important nutrients, whereas if you're Native American, you have a higher likelihood of lactose intolerance. If your roots lie in the Greek islands, the acclaimed Mediterranean diet might save your heart; if not, all that olive oil could just give you stomach cramps. Nabhan traces food traditions around the world, from Bali to Mexico, uncovering the links between ancestry and individual responses to food. The implications go well beyond personal taste. Today's widespread mismatch between diet and genes is leading to serious health conditions, including a dramatic growth over the last 50 years in auto-immune and inflammatory diseases. Readers will not only learn why diabetes is running rampant among indigenous peoples and heart disease has risen among those of northern European descent, but may find the path to their own perfect diet.
Publication Date: 2013-09-24
Cultural Foods by This book provides information on the health, culture, and food and nutritional habits of most ethnic and racial groups living in the United States. It is designed to help students, chefs and others in the food service industry, and health professionals work effectively with members of different ethnic and religious groups in a culturally sensitive manner. It may be used in a course that fulfills a multicultural requirement for a general education student.
Publication Date: 1999-07-13
Horticulture: Plants for People and Places, Volume 1 by This Trilogy explains "What is Horticulture?". Volume one of Horticulture: Plants for People and Places describes in considerable depth the science, management and technology which underpins the continuous production of fresh and processed horticultural produce. Firstly, there is a consideration of technological innovation derived from basic scientific discoveries which has given rise to entirely new industries, markets, novel crops and changed social habits. Then follows accounts of the modern production of: Field Vegetables, Temperate Fruit, Tropical Fruit, Citrus, Plantation Crops, Berry Crops, Viticulture, Protected Crops, Flower Crops, New Crops, Post-harvest Handling, Supply Chain Management and the Environmental Impact of Production. Each chapter is written by acknowledged world experts. Never before has such an array of plentiful, high quality fresh fruit, vegetables and ornamentals been available year-round in the World's retail markets. Horticulture gives consumers this gift of nutritious, high quality, safe and diverse fresh foods. This is achieved by manipulating plant growth, reproduction and postharvest husbandry. The multi-billion dollar international industry achieving this is Production Horticulture the subject of this informative book.
Publication Date: 2014
Mediterranean Wild Edible Plants by This book is the result of collaboration between botanists and food chemists, with the purpose of improving the knowledge of the main wild species of traditional use as foods in the Mediterranean area, focus on ethnobotanical aspects, natural production, uses and nutritional aspects. One of the novelties of the book would be the publication of complete food composition tables of at least 50 species, which are not usually included in nutrient databases of foods. Many of the data included would come from the chemical analysis of representative samples of these species and other would be compiled from the scientific literature. Since this topic has not been fully studied, this book would provide an interesting tool to be used with the purpose of the revalorization of wild food species, preservation of their traditional uses, and also as alternatives to improve the diversity of modern Mediterranean diets.
Publication Date: 2016
Sacred Rice by Sacred Rice explores the cultural intricacies through which Jola farmers in West Africa are responding to their environmental and economic conditions given the centrality of a crop - rice - that is the lynchpin for their economic, social, religious, and political worlds. Based on more than ten years of author Joanna Davidson's ethnographic and historical research on rural Guinea-Bissau, this book looks at the relationship among people, plants, and identity as it explores how a society comes to define itself through the production, consumption, and reverence of rice.It is a narrative profoundly tied to a particular place, but it is also a story of encounters with outsiders who often mediate or meddle in the rice enterprise. Although the focal point is a remote area of West Africa, the book illuminates the more universal nexus of identity, environment, anddevelopment, especially in an era when many people--rural and urban - are confronting environmental changes that challenge their livelihoods and lifestyles.
Call Number: DT613.45.D56D38
Publication Date: 2015
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.