Geography of Food: Plants that Feed the World

Journal articles can be found in a variety of places:

• Search for articles in the library catalog
• Google Scholar integrates with library subscriptions, just follow the Find it @UF link.
• Explore recommended databases from the Library Research Guide for your subject or see the complete list of databases we subscribe to at Databases A-Z.

Academic Articles:

• Agricola (ProQuest)  - primarily US agriculture
• CAB Abstracts - international agriculture
• Web of Science - broad international database
• JSTOR Global Plants - digitized plant specimens
• Biosis - life sciences and medical research (including diet and food)
• Plant Sciences from ProQuest - plant growth, reproduction etc.
• Academic Search Premier - interdisciplinary social sciences

Agricultural Statistics, Fact Sheets, and Technical Reports:

• USDA Foreign Agricultural Service (see Crop Calendars & Crop Production Maps)
• FAO (Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations) Statistics, FAOSTAT
• CIA World Fact Book (see e.g. Agricultural Products, Food Insecurity)
• Food Systems Dashboard
• USDA Global Agricultural Information Network
• Famine Early Warning System Network
• USDA Census of Agriculture
• USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service
• USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information System
• Statista a source of business data
• EDIS (UF IFAS Electronic Data Information Source) - Florida Extension publications

Botany Data:

• Global Biodiversity Information Facility
• PLANTS Database from USDA NRCS

Explore all of the databases available from the Libraries at Databases A-Z.

Google Scholar is a subset of Google, focusing on scholarly literature. It is a fast & broad internet search engine with little mediation. Results include grey literature such as preprints, theses & dissertations, and white papers that have not been peer reviewed.

Tips: Use the Advanced Search to develop a more explicit search. Use capital letters for Boolean search operators (AND, OR) and the minus symbol for NOT. Use quotes for exact matches to phrases. You can export individual results or create a free profile to save and export folders of results to citation managers. Click "Related articles" or "Cited by" to see closely related work, or search for author's name and see what else they have written. If UF has a subscription to the journal, click on Find it@UF or click on the title to open up the full text.

Cautions: Google Scholar does not offer extensive options to refine the vast results. Results are not reproducible, in that they vary from date and location searched. Try comparing results with one of the databases the libraries subscribe to!