Guides @ UF: Florida's Waterways: Books & Dissertations

Finding Books at UF

Search UF's Resources

Other Books

WorldCat
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.

Essential Viewing

The Swamp by produced by Randall MacLowry and Rebecca Taylor
Call Number: QH105.F6 S93 2019
Publication Date: 2019
The history of the Everglades is a dramatic yet little known story of humanity's attempt to conquer nature. This program, told through the lives of a handful of colorful and resolute characters, explores the repeated efforts to reclaim, control and transform what was seen as a vast wasteland into an agricultural and urban paradise, and, ultimately, the drive to preserve America's greatest wetland. A Film Posse, Inc. production for American Experience. Partially based on Michael Grunwald's The Swamp.

Essential Reading

Ditch of Dreams by Steven Noll and David Tegeder
ISBN: 9780813034065
Publication Date: 2009
The story of the Cross Florida Barge Canal, crucial to twentieth-century Florida history, is complex, featuring competing interests amidst the changing political landscape of modern Florida. Ditch of Dreams reveals much about the clashing visions of progress, economic growth, and environmental preservation in the fragile ecosystem of Florida, while exploring the tangled web of politics, influence, and power in the Sunshine State.
The Swamp: The Everglades, Florida, and the Politics of Paradise by Michael Grunwald
ISBN: 9780743251051
Publication Date: 2006
The Everglades was once reviled as a liquid wasteland, and Americans dreamed of draining it. Now it is revered as a national treasure, and Americans have launched the largest environmental project in history to try to save it.
An Everglades Providence by Jack E. Davis
ISBN: 9780820330716
Publication Date: 2009
Davis recounts the shifts in Douglas's own life and her instrumental role in four important developments that contributed to Everglades protection: the making of a positive wetland image, the creation of a national park, the expanding influence of ecological science, and the rise of the modern environmental movement.
The Everglades: River of Grass by Marjory Stoneman Douglas
ISBN: 9781539990727
Publication Date: 1947
"There are no other Everglades in the world." A fascinating look at the natural and human history of the Florida Everglades. Author Marjory Stoneman Douglas (1890-1998) played an important leadership role in the effort to protect the Everglades from development, and she was active in other social causes as well (civil rights, women's rights) during the course of her long life.
Marjorie Harris Carr by Peggy Macdonald
ISBN: 9780813049359
Publication Date: 2014
Marjorie Harris Carr is an intimate look at this remarkable woman who dedicated her life to conserving Florida’s wildlife and wild places. It is also a revelation of how the grassroots battle to save a small but vitally important river in central Florida transformed the modern environmental movement.

Finding Dissertations at UF

All dissertations & theses written by students who entered into graduate programs in 2001 or later are only available online. Older theses and dissertations are being digitized, and may be both in print and online.

UF Resources
Institutional Repository - IR@UF
Online dissertations, theses, reports...

Other Dissertations

Search ProQuest Dissertations & Theses to find dissertations from other universities. The database covers 1867 to the present, however, each university's coverage varies. Notable exceptions include Harvard & MIT. Additionally, masters theses are infrequent in this database.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses lists all dissertations, theses and published material based on theses cataloged by members of OCLC, a worldwide library consortium. This database includes links to full text of many freely-available theses and indicates whether any member library has a print copy that may be borrowed through ILLiad Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) provides links to theses that may be freely available online.