Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These University of Florida collections have primary source materials (correspondence, reports, speeches) about the draining and restoration of the Everglades.
A Guide to the May Mann Jennings Papers
1889-1963. May Mann Jennings was a leading member of the women's club movement and an influential advocate for social reform and civic causes in Florida and nationwide. She was appointed to the Everglades National Park Commission in the late 1930s and pushed for the creation of a national Everglades Park. Items in the May Mann Jennings collection have been digitized for America's Swamp: The Historical Everglades project.
A Guide to the Lawton Chiles Senate Collection
1970-1988. Includes Interior Department files related to the protection of the Everglades and the Defense Department files on the Army Corps of Engineers. The latter document the tremendous impact Corps projects played in the development of Florida's coastlines and waterways.
A Guide to the John M. Goggin Papers
The John Mann Goggin Papers include: his correspondence with family, colleagues and peers, his publications, an assortment of subject files on various topics used by Goggin while conducting his research, and his field notebooks covering the years between 1932 and 1960. His fieldwork is also documented in photographs.
A Guide to the James Edmundson Ingraham Papers
The Ingraham Papers (1854-1920) contain his business papers, correspondence, photographs, and miscellaneous materials pertaining to railroads, the Everglades and the sugar industry in Florida. Of particular interest are Ingraham's manuscripts regarding the Flagler and Plant railroads and their role in developing South Florida.
A Guide to the Arthur R. Marshall, Jr. Papers
The Marshall Papers consist of manuscripts and printed texts of his writings, correspondence, documents from numerous government and private organizations, and secondary material documenting his own efforts and his interest in protecting and restoring Florida's environment.
A Guide to the John D. Pennekamp Papers
This collection is primarily related to Pennekamp's environmental work, and includes several folders of correspondence pertaining to the Florida Board of Parks and Historic Memorials from 1966-1976. Other materials include photos, speeches, newspaper clippings, and records dealing with various conservation projects.
A Guide to the Max Quackenbos Collection
The Max Quackenbos Collection provides information about a variety of environmental activities and discussions related to Martin County and South Florida that took occurred from the late 1970s to the turn of the century.
A Guide to the Nathaniel P. Reed Everglades Papers
The papers include Reed's personal correspondence and other documentation relating to the Everglades from the year 1983, the beginning of the Save our Everglades program declared by Governor Bob Graham, created and gathered by him as an environmental activist and, to a lesser degree, as a public official.
A Guide to the Sierra Club Florida Chapter Records
This collection contains the environmental organizations correspondence, minutes, newsletters, and miscellaneous materials, dated 1964 to 1987.
A Guide to the Ernest Taylor Papers
The collection includes Taylor's correspondence, dated from 1952 to 1962. The letters describe efforts by Taylor and others regarding Corkscrew Swamp, and detail the steps that resulted in its preservation. Taylor's papers include multiple versions of his manuscript, "The Trek."
A Guide to the Jim Bob Tinsley Papers
The Jim Bob Tinsley Papers contain galley proofs and photographs for Tinsley's books, He Was Singin' This Song and For a Cowboy Has to Sing. Accompanying the galley proofs and photographs are approximately 50 pieces of Western sheet music from 1900 to 1950.
A Guide to the Thomas E. Will Papers
The Will Papers are comprised of business and personal correspondence, scrapbooks, articles, speeches, writings, publications, legal documents, and governmental reports and hearings. The bulk of the collection consists of correspondence relating to Will's land development work in the Everglades, particularly in Okeelanta, as well as his writings about the Everglades.
A Guide to the Fred L. Williamson Papers
Diaries, correspondence, newspaper clippings, congressional hearings and engineering reports. The papers document the efforts of business and individuals to control water in South Florida in the late 1920s. The collection contains the records of the New River, Lake Okeechobee and Caloosahatchee Navigation Association.
A Guide to the D. Robert "Bob" Graham Political Papers
Graham served as governor of Florida from 1979 to 1987 and as a United States Senator from 1987 to 2005. He helped secure approval for a 108,000 acre expansion to the Everglades National Park and supported restoration efforts.
A Guide to the George A. Smathers Papers
1945-1969; Smathers served in the U.S. House and Senate. The Correspondence and Legislative Files have documentation on the Everglades.
A Guide to the Ernest R. Graham Papers
1923-1948; Florida Senate. There is strong emphasis on subjects such as horse racing and racketeering, the gubernatorial campaign, and on drainage and other forms of water control in Dade County and in the Everglades.
A Guide to the Connie Mack III Political Papers
1983-2000; U.S. House and Senate. Mack instrumental in the passage of the Everglades Restoration Act. This collection was processed in 2017 and son contains information not yet referenced.
A Guide to the William Sherman Jennings Papers
1887-1928; by the end of his term as Governor, Jennings was credited with leading the effort to drain and reclaim over 3 million acres of Florida land, primarily in the Everglades. Items in the William Sherman Jennings collection have been digitized for America's Swamp: The Historical Everglades project.
A Guide to the Napoleon Bonaparte Broward Papers
As Governor, he was instrumental in the drainage of the Everglades and encouraged development in South Florida. Items in the Napoleon Bonaparte Broward collection have been digitized for America's Swamp: The Historical Everglades project.
A Guide to the Nathan Mayo Papers
1923-1960; long-time Florida Commissioner of Agriculture. Several subject files and a portion of the newspaper clippings also cover Mayo's refusal to sign off on a bond issue to drain the Everglades in 1928. The file on the Everglades bond contains an example of a bond from 1925 that he did sign as well as explanations about why he objected to the bond issue of 1928.
A Guide to the James Hardin Peterson Papers
1929-1951; U.S. House. Documents the creation of the Everglades National Park in 1934
A Guide to the Records of the Florida Defenders of the Environment
This collection is comprised of correspondence, news clippings, journal articles, court testimony, speeches, government reports, financial records, proposed legislation, and other records created or collected by FDE over several decades. Although FDE was established in 1969, some of the documents predate the group and the collection spans 1943 to 1994.
A Guide to the Charles E. Bennett Papers
The Charles E. Bennett Papers span the dates 1903-2001, with the bulk of the collection representing Bennett's over forty years in the U.S. House of Representatives (1949-1993).
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.