Florida's Waterways: Primary Sources-Cross Florida Canal

This collection is comprised of correspondence, news clippings, journal articles, court testimony, speeches, government reports, financial records, proposed legislation, and other records created or collected by FDE over several decades. The Cross Florida Barge Canal is one of the primary topics covered.

1949-1993; U.S. Representative from Florida, supporter of a Cross-Florida Barge Canal. Documents in the Florida files span 1963-1992. In 1966, he authored an article for the Florida Historical Quarterly on the "Early History of the Cross-Florida Barge Canal" (vol.45:2, 132-144).

1933-1970; U.S. Senator and Florida Governor; He strongly endorsed the controversial Cross Florida Barge Canal for almost twenty years and proposed several pieces of legislation to further the construction of that waterway. As Governor, he paved the way for the creation of and lifelong support for the Everglades National Park. This collection primarily consists of materials accumulated by Holland during his eight years in the Florida Senate and his twenty-four years in the U.S. Senate. More materials are at FSU and the State Archives in Tallahassee.

Correspondence with political figures and letters relating to the Cross Florida Barge Canal, which he supported strongly. Also includes editorials from the Ocala Evening Star and Ocala Star Banner, which he worked for as editor.

The Odum Papers document the life and career of one of the most important ecologists and environmental scientists in the 20th Century. The collection spans the majority of this life, with materials dating from 1935 to 2003. The bulk of the collection is comprised of Odum's professional files related to his research and educational activities.

The bulk of the papers represent Jack Rudloe's literary career, consisting of manuscripts, drafts, proof copies, and background material. Manuscript material is included for all Rudloe's published books, almost all of his articles, and for numerous book length and short unpublished writing

1942-1977; Bryant served first in the Florida state Senate and House before being elected Governor in 1960. This collection includes Legislative papers from 1950-1960 documenting his support of the Cross Florida Barge Canal.

1969-1988; Chappell served as a member of the United States House of Representatives from 1969 to 1989. There are substantial files related to the demise of the Cross Florida Barge Canal.

1966-2004; Graham served as governor of Florida from 1979 to 1987 and as a United States Senator from 1987 to 2005. Senate Papers from 1978-2004 have files about the deauthorization of the Cross Florida Barge Canal and were probably not available for the Noll and Tegeder book.

1945-1969; Smathers served in the U.S. House and Senate. The Correspondence and Legislative Files have documentation on the Cross Florida Barge Canal.

1971-1988; Chiles served in the Florida legislature, the U.S. Senate, and as Florida's governor. The senate papers record information on the Army Corps of Engineers and the Cross Florida Barge Canal. This collection was processed in 2015 so was not available to Noll and Tegeder.

1952-1967; Matthews served in the U.S. House of Representatives. Among the many local projects documented in the collection are the Cross-Florida Barge Canal and the Suwannee River - Wild Rivers Bill.

1957-1968; Herlong served in the U.S. House. He was a strong advocate for improving Florida's waterways, including the Intracoastal Waterway, and had files related to the Cross Florida Barge Canal.

1923-1948; As a Florida senator, he was a proponent of an early version of a canal across Florida through Lake Okeechobee to avoid the risk of war-time shipping through the Florida Straits.

1922-1945; Florida House and U.S. House of Representatives. Of particular interest in this collection are items related to plans for the Cross Florida Barge Canal and the closing of Silver River to navigation. Papers covering these topics can be found with the Rivers and Harbors Committee correspondence and in the miscellaneous correspondence.

1937-1946; U.S. House of Representatives. Correspondence regarding the Cross Florida Canal.

1936-1943; U.S. Senate. This collection has his legislative files on the Atlantic-Gulf Ship Canal.

1929-1951; U.S. House. Includes files on the Cross Florida Canal during the 1930s and early 1940s. In addition to chronological correspondence regarding the canal, there are government reports, miscellaneous publications, and news clippings. Notable topics include the proposed route of the canal, the effect of the canal on the Florida water supply, and details on the proposed construction methods.

The Marshall Papers consist of manuscripts and printed texts of his writings, correspondence, documents from numerous government and private organizations, and secondary material documenting his own efforts and his interest in protecting and restoring Florida's environment.