Florida's Waterways: Primary Sources - Rivers and Lakes

The Broward Papers date from 1879 to 1918, but the bulk of the papers coincide with the gubernatorial term from 1905 to 1909. The major subject covered in the collection is the drainage of the Everglades and the development of South Florida lands. Additional topics include real estate, race relations, education, labor unions, liquor, taxes, transportation, waterways, railways, and Broward's campaigns for Governor and the U.S. Senate.

Archie Fairly Carr, Jr., University of Florida Graduate Research Professor of Zoology, was associated with the University for more than fifty years. As a zoologist, he was most noted for his pioneering work in studying sea turtles and especially for discovering their migration patterns. Earlier in his career he specialized in the regional natural history of reptiles and of turtles in general.

The story of the Chases in Florida began in 1878 when Sydney Octavius Chase (1860-1941), having read about orange groves in Scribner's Magazine, came to Florida from Philadelphia. His brother, Joshua Coffin Chase (1858-1948), joined him in 1884 and together they formed Chase and Company that year.

The DeGrove Papers date from 1937 to 2007, but the collection primarily covers the last decades of his career, with the large majority of the materials dating from 1990-2007. The collection includes correspondence, biographical materials, writings, newsletters, publications, papers and talks, research notes and reference materials.

This collection is comprised of correspondence, news clippings, journal articles, court testimony, speeches, government reports, financial records, proposed legislation, and other records created or collected by FDE over several decades. Although FDE was established in 1969, some of the documents predate the group and the collection spans 1943 to 1994.

The collection spans Bob Graham's political career from his days in the Florida Legislature to his retirement from the US Senate. His political campaigns are well documented and an entire series is devoted to his 405 workdays. The collection also documents aspects of his life outside office including his advocacy for Florida's public universities, his writings, and his public service on several federal commissions.

The Marshall Papers consist of manuscripts and printed texts of his writings, correspondence, documents from numerous government and private organizations, and secondary material documenting his own efforts and his interest in protecting and restoring Florida's environment.

The Odum Papers document the life and career of one of the most important ecologists and environmental scientists in the 20th Century. The collection spans the majority of this life, with materials dating from 1935 to 2003. The bulk of the collection is comprised of Odum's professional files related to his research and educational activities.

This collection is primarily related to Pennekamp's environmental work, and includes several folders of correspondence pertaining to the Florida Board of Parks and Historic Memorials from 1966-1976. Other materials include photos, speeches, newspaper clippings, and records dealing with various conservation projects.

The Max Quackenbos Collection provides information about a variety of environmental activities and discussions related to Martin County and South Florida that took occurred from the late 1970s to the turn of the century. In particular, the materials provide a great deal of evidence about the meetings and activities of the South Florida Water Management District (SFWMD) because Quackenbos was a regular meeting attendee and planning participant.

Jack Rudloe was born in New York in 1943, moved to the Florida panhandle in 1957, and attended Florida State University. In 1964 he founded the Gulf Specimen Marine Laboratory, an environmental education and research support center in Panacea, Florida, which provides marine life to schools and research laboratories throughout the nation.

Correspondence, minutes, newsletters, and miscellaneous materials, dated 1964 to 1987 from the Sierra Club Florida environmentalist organization.

Diaries, correspondence, newspaper clippings, congressional hearings and engineering reports. The papers document the efforts of business and individuals to control water in South Florida in the late 1920s. The collection contains the records of the New River, Lake Okeechobee and Caloosahatchee Navigation Association.

He was a proponent of environmental conservation and historical preservation. He often sponsored bills to preserve or improve Florida's environment, including the prevention of erosion on Florida's beaches. He was instrumental in the creation of the Fort Caroline National Park Memorial in Jacksonville and its surrounding Timucuan Ecological and Historic Preserve, as well as the Key Deer Preserve in the Florida Keys. He also was co-sponsor of the Wilderness Preservation Act and the Land and Water Conservation Act.

Includes files about the Clean Water Act, Big Cypress, and Chappell's efforts to create a national seashore which culminated in the establishment of the Canaveral National Seashore.

Chiles had success with the addition and later expansion of the Big Cypress National Preserve and in his fight to end phosphate mining in the Osceola National Forest. Included are Interior Department files that document the tremendous impact Corps projects played in the development of Florida's coastlines and waterways.

The Everglades drainage and other water files transcend the time period and span the whole period of Graham's life in Florida. Water control is a central theme of Graham's papers. Also includes photos of flooding from hurricanes in 1947 and 1948.

He was a strong advocate for improving Florida's waterways, including the Intracoastal Waterway and the harbors at St. Augustine and Cape Canaveral.

Prominent topics related to Florida include the citrus industry, the Everglades National Park, flood control, the Cross Florida Barge Canal, wartime defense, tidelands, and Cuba.

Includes his work for President Carter's Executive Committee on Reorganization, the Advisory Committee on Florida's Future, and the Governor's Commission on a Sustainable South Florida files. Although the final reports of this commission can be found online, Pettigrew's papers on the Governor's Commission provide greater depth through correspondence, speeches and committee research.

Includes files on the Intracoastal Waterway and Rivers and Harbors acts, in addition to information on Army Corps of Engineers projects.

Yon lobbied for projects like the Saint Andrews Bay canal, the Choctawhatchee Bay canal, and the Naval Air Station at Pensacola. There is also a report for the Board of Engineers for Rivers and Harbors, a department Yon often dealt with in his efforts to improve the canals and harbors in his district.