Research Impact: Resources

Clinical Trials, Second Edition, offers those engaged in clinical trial design a valuable and practical guide. This book takes an integrated approach to incorporate biomedical science, laboratory data of human study, endpoint specification, legal and regulatory aspects and much more with the fundamentals of clinical trial design. It provides an overview of the design options along with the specific details of trial design and offers guidance on how to make appropriate choices. Full of numerous examples and now containing actual decisions from FDA reviewers to better inform trial design, the 2nd edition of Clinical Trials is a must-have resource for early and mid-career researchers and clinicians who design and conduct clinical trials. Contains new and fully revised material on key topics such as biostatistics, biomarkers, orphan drugs, biosimilars, drug regulations in Europe, drug safety, regulatory approval and more Extensively covers the "study schema" and related features of study design Incorporates laboratory data from studies on human patients to provide a concrete tool for understanding the concepts in the design and conduct of clinical trials Includes decisions made by FDA reviewers when granting approval of a drug as real world learning examples for readers

With over 80 information-packed chapters, "Handbook for Clinical Research" delivers the practical insights and expert tips necessary for successful research design, analysis, and implementation. Using clear language and an accessible bullet point format, the authors present the knowledge and expertise developed over time and traditionally shared from mentor to mentee and colleague to colleague. Organized for quick access to key topics and replete with practical examples, the book describes a variety of research designs and statistical methods and explains how to choose the best design for a particular project. Research implementation, including regulatory issues and grant writing, is also covered. The book opens with a section on the basics of research design, discussing the many ways in which studies can be organized, executed, and evaluated. The second section is devoted to statistics and explains how to choose the correct statistical approach and reviews the varieties of data types, descriptive and inferential statistics, methods for demonstrating associations, hypothesis testing and prediction, specialized methods, and considerations in epidemiological studies and measure construction. The third section covers implementation, including how to develop a grant application step by step, the project budget, and the nuts and bolts of the timely and successful completion of a research project and documentation of findings: procedural manuals and case report forms; collecting, managing and securing data; operational structure and ongoing monitoring and evaluation; and ethical and regulatory concerns in research with human subjects. With a concise presentation of the essentials for successful research, the "Handbook for Clinical Research" is a valuable addition to the library of any student, research professional, or clinician interested in expanding the knowledge base of his or her field. Key Features: Delivers the essential elements, practical insights, and trade secrets for ensuring successful research design, analysis, and implementation Presents the nuts and bolts of statistical analysis Organized for quick access to a wealth of information Replete with practical examples of successful research designs o from single case designs to meta-analysis - and how to achieve them Addresses research implementation including regulatory issues and grant writing "

The clinical trial is "the most definitive tool for evaluation of the applicability of clinical research." It represents "a key research activity with the potential to improve the quality of health care and control costs through careful comparison of alternative treatments" [1]. It has been called on many occasions, "the gold st- dard" against which all other clinical research is measured. Although many clinical trials are of high quality, a careful reader of the medical literature will notice that a large number have deficiencies in design, conduct, analysis, presentation, and/or interpretation of results. Improvements have occurred over the past few decades, but too many trials are still conducted without adequate attention to its fundamental principles. Certainly, numerous studies could have been upgraded if the authors had had a better understanding of the fundamentals. Since the publication of the first edition of this book, a large number of other texts on clinical trials have appeared, most of which are indicated here [2-21]. Several of them, however, discuss only specific issues involved in clinical trials. Additionally, many are no longer current. The purpose of this fourth edition is to update areas in which major progress has been made since the publication of the third edition. We have revised most chapters considerably and added one on ethical issues.

A complete guide to understanding and applying clinical research results Ideal for both researchers and healthcare providers Understanding Clinical Research addresses both the operational challenges of clinical trials and the needs of clinicians to comprehend the nuances of research methods to accurately analyze study results. This timely resource covers all aspects of clinical trials--from study design and statistics to regulatory oversight--and it delivers a detailed yet streamlined overview of must-know research topics. The text features an accessible three-part organization that traces the evolution of clinical research and explains the bedrock principles and unique challenges of clinical experimentation and observational research. Reinforcing this content are real-life case examples--drawn from the authors' broad experience--that put chapter concepts into action and contribute to a working knowledge of integral research techniques. FEATURES: The most definitive guide to promoting excellence in clinical research, designed to empower healthcare providers to assess a study's strengths and weaknesseswith confidence and apply this knowledge to optimize patient outcomes In-depth coverage of fundamental research methods and protocols from preeminent authorities provides readers with an instructive primer and a springboard for ongoing clinical research education Clear, comprehensive three-part organization: Section One: Evolution of Clinical Research offers a succinct history of clinical trials, drug regulations, and the role of the FDA while covering theimpact of information technology and academic research organizations Section Two: Principles of Clinical Experimentation takes you through the typical phases of clinical trials in the development of medical products,from initial human subject research to postapproval surveillance studies Section Three: Observational Research highlights the underlying principles, pitfalls, and methods for case-control studies, cohort studies, registries, and subgroup analyses within randomized trials

Designing Clinical Research sets the standard for providing a practical guide to planning, tabulating, formulating, and implementing clinical research, with an easy-to-read, uncomplicated presentation. This product incorporates current research methodology--including molecular and genetic clinical research--and offers an updated syllabus for conducting a clinical research workshop. Emphasis is on common sense as the main ingredient of good science. The book explains how to choose well-focused research questions and details the steps through all the elements of study design, data collection, quality assurance, and basic grant-writing.