Guides @ UF: Community Health and Family Medicine: Databases & Journals

RELEVANT DATABASES

Listed below are a few databases that might be useful when beginning your information search. For a more complete list, please see our page of Library Databases.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
(VPN Access only off-campus)
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians consult when making point-of-care decisions. An editorial team condenses the most recent medical information into evidence-based recommendations to improve patient care and quality.
Courtesy of the College of Medicine Office of Graduate Medical Education
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic database, offering up-to-date citations and abstracts from a wide spread of biomedical and drug literature. It's particularly useful for drug, disease, and material device data.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science is today's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine offers instant access to videos, self-assessment, an image library and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care to ensure the best patient outcome.
MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window
MICROMEDEX is an excellent source of drug indication, dosage, drug interaction and side effect information, as well as poison control information. It covers all FDA approved medications as well as a database of alternative medicines.