Political Science

Primo Search

• Primo Search emulates the ‘simple search’ experience of Google. However, instead of searching across the entire open Web as Google does, Primo searches the majority of the authoritative electronic and print resources subscribed to and purchased by the UF Libraries (including Library Catalog records for books, etc. shelved in the local collections).
• After you enter your search, you can enter additional search terms, limit results to articles with full text, to books in the library, etc.

The following are other databases that will help you get started in your research – especially when looking for articles. Each database searches thousands of journals and provides links to peer-reviewed and scholarly articles. These do not search UF Library Catalog records.

Academic Search Premier

• More than 13,600 indexed and abstracted journals.
• Full text for over 4,700 journals.
• Over 12,000 peer-reviewed, indexed, and abstracted journals.
• More than 4,000 peer-reviewed, full-text journals.
• Easily limit searches to records with full text, peer-reviewed, etc.

ProQuest

• Search over 50 article databases together or select more specific subject groupings to limit results.
• Easily limit your search results to records linking to full text, peer-reviewed, etc.
• Includes former Cambridge Scientific Abstracts databases.

Gale PowerSearch

• Search 50+ Gale Group databases.
• After displaying search results, you may limit to only records having full text.

Web of Science

• 1900 to present.
• Includes Science, Social Science, and Arts & Humanities Citation Indexes.

Streaming Video

CQ Researcher

• 1991 to present.
• Weekly issues providing up-to-date information on controversial subjects – reported by CQ’s (Congressional Quarterly’s) staff of experienced reporters.
• Browse by date or topic.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

• OVIC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to websites

American Memory (Library of Congress) 

• Provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
• It is a digital record of American history and creativity.

ArchiveGrid (WorldCat Discovery) 

• Detailed archival collection descriptions of historical documents, personal papers and family histories

Digital National Security Archive 

• From the award-winning, nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present. Each collection is assembled by foreign policy experts and features chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews to provide unparalleled access to the defining international issues of our time.
• More information and full list of resources available in this database: https://www.proquest.com/dnsa/productfulldescdetail?accountid=10920

Eighteenth Century Collections Online 

• Contains a lot of good primary source material from the Eighteenth Century.

Empire Online 

• Empire Online brings together contemporary academic scholarship in empire studies and original documents relevant to the topics of imperialism and empire.

HarpWeek 

• A popular nineteenth century periodical, Harper’s Weekly tracks the major political, social, and military stories of its day, with editorials, book reviews, literature, and advertising.

PALMM (Publication of Archival & Library Museum Materials) 

• Publication of Archival, Library & Museum Materials (PALMM) is a cooperative initiative of the public universities of Florida to provide digital access to important source materials for research and scholarship.

Periodicals Index Online 

• An electronic index to millions of articles published in the arts, humanities & social sciences, spanning more than 300 years.

The National Archives (U.S.) 

• Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.

U.S. State Historical Archives & State Archives Directory 

• Guide to state archives and states historical societies.

University of Michigan Documents Center 

• The Documents Center is a central reference and referral point for information at all levels of government as well as statistical data.

Academic Search Premier 

• A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals. 

America: History & Life 

• America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

Annual Reviews 

• Founded in 1932, Annual Reviews provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in more than 45 scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews saves you time by synthesizing the vast amount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions in your field. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field. Annual Reviews publications are among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Journal Citation Reports® published by Thomson Reuters.

bepress 

• Berkeley Electronic Press has journals in law, political science, policy, international affairs and other disciplines.

Cambridge Journals Online 

• Cambridge University Press currently publishes over 220 peer-reviewed academic journals for the global market.

CIA World Factbook 

• The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

CQ Press Electronic Library 

• CQ Electronic Library, an expanding suite of electronic references, is founded on CQ's authoritative and balanced coverage of public affairs.

CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts 

• CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

eHRAF World Cultures 

• Paragraph level indexing of ethnographies, supporting cross-cultural research via the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). Organized by region, culture, and ethnic group. Over 350,000 pages of indexed information on all aspects of social and cultural life.

Gale Virtual Reference Library 

• Search across all the reference titles available (100+) in social sciences, general reference, history, and more.

Taylor & Francis Online 

• Search peer-reviewed journals and 4,762,000+ articles.

JSTOR 

• Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.

Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic) 

• A full-text database providing a wide range of news and reference information from over 5,000 sources. The database was compiled specifically for the research needs of academic institutions.

Library of Congress Country Studies/Area Handbooks 

• Presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

Oxford Journals Online 

• Search journals published by Oxford University Press.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses 

• A database that includes over 2 million master's theses & dissertations. Provides coverage of multiple fields of study.

Sage eReference 

• More than 45 of SAGE Reference's online encyclopedias providing students and researchers with a wealth of knowledge right at their fingertips. The encyclopedias are in the social sciences including, anthropology, criminology, and political science.

Sage Journals Online 

• Sage Publications academic journals.

OECD iLibrary 

• The online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Available through UF Libraries. Books, journals, working papers, and more are available on topics such as the general economy, statistics, and agriculture.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index 

• Web of Science contains three databases, including the Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI). SSCI indexes nearly 2,000 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines. Some full text is available. Coverage dates for SSCI: 1956-current.

Wiley Online Library 

• Wiley Journals. 1,600+ journals, 250+ reference works, 22,000+ online books.

EBSCOHost Databases 

• Provides electronic access to full text articles, images, abstracts, and citations from journals.

World Bank e-Library 

• One of the most comprehensive collections in the area of social and economic development. Includes: All current and recent World Bank titles, documents and papers in PDF and other user-friendly formats. Titles available as soon as they appear in print.