Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Slavic Studies

Off-Campus? Then Don't Forget These Steps (And Great Tips In General)

  1. Set up the UF VPN: When you're off campus, you will need to use the UF VPN software to access electronic databases, journals and books.
  2. Use a Proxy Server: This option is great if you are only doing a fast search.
  3. Search the library catalog for books or journal titles: Links to online books and journals are also contained within the catalog.
  4. Search subject databases to find articles in journals: If you are trying to decide which database is appropriate for your research, look at the list of databases listed on the Databases and Journals Tab.

Main Databases at UF for Slavic Studies

Provides Full-Text Academic Journals Covering the Major Areas of Academic Research.

It is a fundamental source of information for the study of the history and archaeology of medieval East Central and Eastern Europe. The bibliography provides comprehensive coverage of all publications, in all languages, pertaining to this vast area of the European continent and its impact on European history from about 500 to the aftermath of the Mongol invasion of 1241. 

This database is the world’s most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.

This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at UF.

Offers access to databases such as:

  • Russian Central Newspapers (contains around 40 actively publishing Russian central newspapers and weekly magazines, covering the entire spectrum of domestic news, as well as the currents of Russia’s economic and cultural life).
  • Russian Regional Newspapers (provides close-up coverage of developments throughout Russia's regions. This database currently presents newspapers from all seven Federal Districts of the Russian Federation and includes coverage of local issues of Moscow and St. Petersburg).
  • Current Digest of the Russian Press (presents each week a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English).
  • Early Soviet Cinema 

These 89 e-Books originally published in print from 1928 to 1948 focus on everything related to the Golden Age of Soviet cinema.

Coverage: 1991-2006. Contains 85,000 titles. No further editing after 2007. 1975-1990 available in paper only.

Europeana is a search platform to a collection of European digital libraries with digitized paintings, books, sounds, music, films, archives, and much more.

Full text for more than 1,500 journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 3,000 journals. This database offers worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.

It is the world's largest archive of mass media of Russia and the Former Soviet Union. The scope of the databases covers all national and regional newspapers and magazines, statistics, official publications, archives of the leading national and international information agencies, full texts of thousands of literary works, dictionaries, and more. Please email UF Library Electronic Resources Unit for login information: er-help@uflib.ufl.edu

JSTOR provides full-text searches of digitized back issues of several hundred well-known journals.

It abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.

It provides comprehensive coverage of literary criticism for literature worldwide.

It offers full-text versions of scholarly journals (humanities and social science) with over 120 publishers currently participating.

It searches for books or articles all over the world. If UF does not own it, you can request it through ILLIAD.

Slavic databases

Catalog of Russian dissertation titles, translated into English with ordering information.

Searchable database of electronic dissertations from the Rossiiskaia gosudarstvennaia biblioteka

             Search by title or author. To see all Russian dissertations, choose Russia (Federation) for Place of Publication,                          Dissertations for "Location"  box, and type in "universitet" in top search box. Results can be sorted by title or year.

This database provides access to authoritative, relevant statistics on hundreds of topics.

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.