Guides @ UF: Information Resources for Medical Students: Databases and Journals

QuickLinks

UF HSC Library Quick Links

Library Homepage

Off-Campus Access (Proxy, VPN)

Renew a Book On-Line

Library Training Workshops

Still have questions about how to use certain databases? Looking to hone your skills and become an expert searcher?

Take one of our Library Workshops and learn how to search databases, manage your citations, organize your data, perform systematic reviews, and remember medical terminology!

Can't find the journal you want in our Catalog? Try Interlibrary Loan!

ILLiad
ILLiad is a fast and convenient way to submit and receive interlibrary loan requests for items that are not available at the University of Florida. Logon information available at the link.
FOR JOURNALS AND BOOKS
UBorrow
UBorrow is an unmediated interlibrary loan service that allows eligible patrons to borrow books directly from participating state university libraries when they aren’t available at UF. Directions available at the link.
FOR PRINT BOOKS ONLY

Selecting a Database/Database Coverage

Relevant Databases for Journal Articles

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, dissertations, standards, legislation, videos and books.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports (covering 164 scientific disciplines).
PsycINFO (on EBSCOHost online platform) 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
Focused on the interdisciplinary aspects of the worldwide behavioral and social science research and literature, PsycINFO is a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields across a host of academic disciplines.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE).

Relevant Databases for Books

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships with videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care.
Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
Full text of medical textbooks including ACP PIER & AHFS DI® Essentials™ and DRUGPOINTS® SYSTEM.

Relevant Databases for Drug Information

MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window
MICROMEDEX is a resource for drug indication, dosage, drug interaction and side effect information, as well as poison control information. It covers all FDA approved medications as well as a database of alternative medicines.
Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new window
Clinical Pharmacology is a drug information database which includes monographs, reports, drug product information, pill identifiers, and patient education resources.
TOXLINE (on ProQuest platform) This link opens in a new window
Pharmacological, biochemical, physiological and toxicological effects of drugs and chemicals.