Skip to main content

Agriculture: Agriculture Databases

Resources to locate articles, books, and other information in the area of Agricultural Sciences.

Off-campus access

For off-campus access to library-licensed e-Journals, research databases and e-resources, use either:

UF VPN - or - the library proxy server (on the remote logon page)

When you see Find@UF in your search results, click for access to digital full-text material.

Getting Started

  1. Set up the UF VPN to access electronic databases, journals and books from off-campus.
  2. Search the library catalog for books or journal titles.
  3. Search Science Databases to find articles in journals.
  4. Check your account status or renew material. 
  5. Create an Interlibrary Loan account to request items not owned by the UF Libraries.

Agricultural Sciences Databases

  • CAB Abstracts
    Great for multi-disciplinary research with international scope.  One of the largest bibliographic databases covering international research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, animal health, forestry, human health and   nutrition, and management and conservation of natural resources.
  • Academic Search Premier 
  • Multi-disciplinary database focusing on agricultural sciences to engineering topics.
  • Agricola (National Agricultural Library Catalog)
    Primarily for U. S. agriculture.  A bibliographic database consisting of literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture.  Links to full text documents are provided whenever possible.
  • Biosis
    Great for biological sciences/organism information. Indexes over 6000 journals covering biological research, medical research, and discoveries of new organisms. Includes indexing of meetings, review articles, books reviews, book chapters, software, and U.S. patents.
  • Web of Science
    General multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world back to 1900. Also provides cited reference searching to see who has cited whom.
  • EDIS - Extension Digital Information Source
    UF IFAS extension documents. Applied information related to crops, finance, family, etc.
  • Biological & Agricultural Index
    Agricultural research, biology, environmental science, genetics, horticulture, physiology, veterinary medicine, wildlife management and much more
  • Agris (International System for Agricultural Science and Technology)
    International agriculture information maintained by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
  • Ecology Abstracts (1982-current)
    Current ecology research across a wide range of disciplines, reflecting recent advances in light of growing evidence regarding global environmental change and destruction
  • ASAE
    Technical documents published by American Society of Agricultural Engineers
  • SciFinder Scholar (or UF Access Instructions)
    Chemicals and substances, including biological materials

Also:

Is the journal refereed?

To find out if a journal is peer reviewed (also known as refereed), you can use the Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory.  Search by journal title, ISSN, etc. and look for the tiny referee shirt as an indicator.  More details....

Suzanne Stapleton

Suzanne Stapleton
Contact:
Agricultural Sciences &
Digital Initiatives Librarian
Office: L-306A, Marston Science Library
Phone: (352) 273-2715

melody royster

Melody Royster
Contact:
Agricultural Sciences and Instruction Coordinator Librarian

Office: 312B, Marston Science Library
Phone: (352) 273-2661
University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.