Skip to main content

General History: Dissertations and Theses

Citation Sources

RefWorks
Bibliography manager database that stores research citations.  Sorts, formats and presents the citations as needed. More Information.

Citation Machine
Interactive web tool that generates citations in MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian.

Popular Online Guides to Dissertations/Theses

These databases are useful in locating a thesis or dissertation from the University of Florida, or another academic institution. Please note that not every theses or dissertation is available in full-text.  To request access to such a text, request it via Interlibrary Loan.

Dissertations & Theses Full-Text  (ProQuest)
Millions of searchable citations, most with abstract and fulltext available "for graduate works added since 1997, along with strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works."  Many are available fulltext; Some may be embargoed by the author.  Primarily U.S. institutions, but includes some international ones.

EThOS  (British Library)

A comprehensive index of approximately 450,000 theses accepted for higher degrees by universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland since 1716.  Over half have abstracts.  Around 50,000 are linked to the fulltext in EThoS.

DART-Europe E-Theses Portal

Dart Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses."  Portal to databases of many countries.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations  (NDLTD)

"An international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs)."  Current content is over one million ETDs. 

Open Access Theses & Dissertations (OATD)

An index of over 3.5 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).

Other sources

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.