Skip to main content

General History: Reference Sources

General Reference Materials

GUIDE TO REFERENCE

      Guide to Reference is a comprehensive and interdisciplinary guide to both print and electronic reference resources, and is useful to both undergraduates and graduate students. Published by the American Library Association and organized by academic discipline, the annotated guide contains over 16,000 entries, both open access and fee-based.  (UF may not have access to all fee-based sources).  Searching is by browsing subject headings and by using advanced search techniques with keywords. Results can display single citations as well as annotations. Additional search options include date, LC classification, and Dewey decimal number.

    Users can set up a profile to create and save lists and other notes;  these can be exported for use in bibliographic management software, such as RefWorks and EndNote. 

 

GALE REFERENCE VIRTUAL LIBRARY

An online library of numerous reference works, including titles relevant to history.  
Selected titles include:

 

SPECIALIZED

Acronyms, Initialisms & Abbreviations Dictionary, 37th ed., 4v, 2006 

Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography, 27v, 2008                 

Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd ed., 22v, 2007             

Encyclopedia of Black Studies, 2005                 

Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood: In History and Society, 3v, 2004                 

Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice, 2nd ed., 4v, 2002                 

Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity, 3v, 2005                 

Encyclopedia of Race and Racism, 2nd ed., 4v, 2013                 

Family in Society: Essential Primary Sources, 2007                  

Government, Politics, and Protest: Essential Primary Sources, 2007                 

Human and Civil Rights: Essential Primary Sources, 2007                  

Immigration and Multiculturalism: Essential Primary Sources, 2006                 

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, 6v, 2005     

          

UNITED STATES

The African American Electorate: A Statistical History, 2v, 2012                 

American Decades, 10v, 2001                  

American Decades Primary Sources, 10v, 2004   

American Homefront in World War II. 2004              

American Men & Women of Science: A Biographical Directory of Today's Leaders in Physical, Biological, and Related Sciences, 28th ed., 8v, 2010                 

American Revolution Reference Library, 5v, 2000                 

Americans at War, 4v, 2005      

Benjamin Franklin, 1962                  

Bowling, Beatniks, and Bell-Bottoms: Pop Culture of 20th-Century America, 5v, 2002                 

Checks and Balances: The Three Branches of the American Government, 3v, 2005                 

Cities of the United States, 5th ed., 4v, 2006                 

Dictionary of American History, 3rd ed., 10v, 2003                 

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History, 2nd ed., 6v, 2006                  

Encyclopedia of American Environmental History, 4v, 2011                 

Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy, 2nd ed., 3v, 2002                 

Encyclopedia of American Women at War: From the Home Front to the Battlefields, 2v, 2013  

Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America, 3v, 1997                 

Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America, 3v, 2004                 

Encyclopedia of Revolutionary America, 3v, 2010                 

Encyclopedia of the American Constitution, 2nd ed., 6v, 2000                 

Encyclopedia of the American Revolution: Library of Military History, 2v, 2006                 

Encyclopedia of the Great Depression, 2v, 2004                  

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, 2nd ed., 3v, 2000                 

Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History, 2v, 1999                  

Presidents and Black America: A Documentary History, 2012                 

West's Encyclopedia of American Law, 2nd ed., 13v, 2004                 

Women in American Politics: History and Milestones, 2v, 2012   

             

BRITISH

Ancient Europe, 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World, 2v, 2004                 

The Celts: History, Life, and Culture, 2v, 2012             

Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture, 2v, 2004                  

 

WORLD

Cities of the World, 4v, 2005                

Countries and Their Cultures, 4v, 2016             

Countries of the World and Their Leaders Yearbook 2004, 2v                 

Encyclopedia of European Social History, 6v, 2001                  

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World, 2v, 2004                 

Encyclopedia of Middle East Wars: The United States in the Persian Gulf, Afghanistan, and Iraq Conflicts, 5v, 2010

Encyclopedia of Russian History, 4v, 2004

Encyclopedia of the Korean War: A Political, Social, and Military History, 2nd ed., 3v, 2010               

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa, 2nd ed., 4v, 2004                 

Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450, 3v, 2007              

Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction, 5v, 2006                  

Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World, 6v, 2004                  

Historical Atlas of the Islamic World, 2004                  

History Behind the Headlines: The Origins of Conflicts Worldwide, 6v, 2003                 

History in Dispute (21 vols.)   

History of World Trade Since 1450, 2v, 2006                 

The Iraq War: A Documentary and Reference Guide, 2012                  

St. James Encyclopedia of Labor History Worldwide, 2v, 2003                 

Vietnam War: The Essential Reference Guide, 2013                 

World History Encyclopedia, 21v, 2011                 

World War I Reference Library, 4v, 2002              

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations, 12th ed., 6v, 2006

 

      

           

                  

 

 

Subject Guide

Shelley Arlen's picture
Shelley Arlen
University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.