Skip to main content

General History: Microform Research Collections

Selected Microform Sets - U.S. History

Black Abolitionist Papers, 1830-1865
LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no: E  449 .B531

Available online:  v. 1. The British Isles, 1830-1865, v. 2. Canada, 1830-1865, v. 3. The United States, 1830-1846, v. 4. The United States, 1847-1858, v. 5. The United States, 1859-1865


Correspondence, sermons, speeches, missionary reports and writings of over 300 19th century black abolitionists. 17 reels with Guide. 

 

Black Biographical Dictionaries, 1790-1950
LIBRARY WEST Microfiche (3rd Floor) Call no: E185.96 .B5281 1987


Available online: African-American Biographical Database

Collection of African American collective biographies published before 1950, profiling teachers, journalists, authors, religious personages, sports figures, artists, and representatives from all areas of African American culture and society.


Bureau of Social Hygiene Project and Research Files, 1913-1940: a collection of the Rockefeller Archives Center of Rockefeller University
LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no:   HV  99.N6 B853 1980


A collection of studies undertaken by, as well as files relating to the administration of, one of the earliest privately funded social science research institutions in the U.S.; project information, general subject information, and the files of criminologist Leonard Harrison. 31 reels with Guide  


Carter Family Papers, 1659-1797, in the Sabine Hall Collection
LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no:   929.2 C325cc


Land documents, correspondence and diaries of Landon Carter and his son, Robert Wormely Carter, held in the Sabine Hall Collection of the University of Virginia Library. 4 reels with Guide 


Civil Rights During the Johnson Administration, 1963-1969
LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no:  JC  599.U5 C51 1984


Part I--  The White House Central Files
Part II-- Equal Opportunity Employment Commission: Administrative History
Part III--Oral Histories
Part IV--Records of the White House Conference on Civil Rights, 1965-1966
Part V-- Records of the National Advisory Commission on Civil Disorders (Kerner Commission)


Documents focusing on the civil rights movement of the 1960s, and detailing the activities of the federal government, the executive branch, and prominent individuals.  The papers include subject, name, chronological, and confidential files from the central files of the White House, material from the administrative histories files of the Lyndon Baines Johnson Presidential Library, and transcripts of oral histories, also from the Library. Files of the White House Conference on Civil Rights and records of the Kerner Commission document the riots that occurred in the United States in the 1960s.  41 reels with Guides  


Communist Infiltration of the SCLC, FBI Investigation File, 1957-1983
LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no:  E  185.5.S68 C651 1983


Correspondence, memoranda, reports, printed material and other items maintained by the Federal Bureau of Investigation in relation to its investigation of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC). This material was released under the provision of the Freedom of Information Act. J. Edgar Hoover's confidential file on Martin Luther King is also included.
9 reels


Early American Periodicals Index to 1850
UF Request Retrieval - Microfiche -- 051 E12 Micro- print  

Index to 340 American magazines published through 1850. Compiled as a WPA project, the 650,000 entires are not always standardized. There are indexes to General Prose, Fiction, Poetry, Book Reviews, Songs, LC Subjects.  


Herstory
LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no:  HQ  1154 .H431 1972

A collection of 821 newsletters, journals, and newspapers published by and about women's liberation, civic, professional, religious and peace groups, from the Women's History Research Center in Berkeley, California.  Most material was published between 1968 and 1974 in the United States. 23 reels with Guide. 

History of women
LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no:  HQ  1121 .H581  
Collection of literature on and by women to 1920.  The 1248 reels are organized by document genre:

Reels 1-934:   Printed books
Reels 935-962: Pamphlets
Reel 963:  Photographs
Reels 964-995:  Manuscripts
Reels P1-P253:  Periodicals

The History of women : an alphabetic index to the microfilm collection.  3 vols.
LIBRARY WEST: Reference Microform Guide (3rd Floor) Call no:  HQ 1121 .H581 Index


Indian Census Rolls, 1885-1940
LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no:  E  98.C3 I5 1965
United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington : National Archives and Records Service, 1965. 
692 reels.
contains census rolls that were usually submitted each year by agents or superintendents in charge of Indian reservations, to the Commissioner of Indian Affairs. More about the Indian Census Rolls.
Indian census rolls, 1885-1940 (Guide)
LIBRARY WEST: Reference Microform Guide (3rd Floor) Call no:  E98.C3 I5 1973
 

Pamphlets in American History
LIBRARY WEST Microfiche (3rd Floor) Call no:  E  178 .P34

A microfiche collection of almost 16,000 pamphlets. While all periods of U.S. history up to the 1970s are represented, most documents were issued between 1820 and 1970.  The pamphlet is known as a “democratic medium:”  almost anyone could publish one.  These documents frequently reflect social protest, lobbying efforts, new political ideologies, and the cause celebre.  Types of pamphlets include campaign literature, memoirs, personal narratives, published letters, travel accounts, eulogies, commemorative addresses, sermons, obituaries, biographies, autobiographies, published diaries, journals, speeches, legal decisions, trade-union leaflets. Well-known documents are represented, as well as previously neglected sources, providing a balanced view of the diverse opinions and concerns of the American people.  More about PAH.

Pamphlets in American history : a bibliographic guide to the microform collection

LIBRARY WEST: Reference Microform Guide (3rd Floor) Call no:   Z  1236 .P27 1979

Indexes to the collection are by Author, Title, Chronology, and Subject. Individual titles can be searched in the Library Catalog by series title, followed by the Section Category, as in these examples:
      Pamphlets in american history Cooperative societies
      Pamphlets in american history Indians
      Pamphlets in american history Labor


 

Papers of the NAACP

LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no:    E  185.61 G 861

Contains nearly two million pages of internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country, charting the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People’s work. Presents primary documents concerning crucial issues: lynching, school desegregation, and discrimination in the military, the criminal justice system, employment, and housing, among others.  67 reels.  More on the NAACP papers.
 
A Guide to the Microfilm Edition of Papers of the NAACP
LIBRARY WEST: Reference Microform Guide (3rd Floor) Call no: E  185.61 .G861 1982 Guide
The Papers of Albert Gallatin [1761-1849]

LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no:   973.4 G164p

Includes published works, correspondence written and received, and official documents relating to his political duties; also later records relating to his estate and the publication of his biography written by Henry Adams. About 25,000 documents.
46 reels.  About Gallatin.                            
LIBRARY WEST: Reference Microform Guide (3rd Floor) Call no:   Z  8321.35 .P755
 
The Papers of W.E.B. Du Bois
LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no:   E  185.97.D73 A41

Over 100,000 items from the W.E.B. Du Bois Collection at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst; primarily correspondence, but also speeches, published works (fiction and non-fiction), photographs, and memorabilia. 89 reels.

The papers of W.E.B. Du Bois, 1803 (1877-1963) 1979 : a guide
LIBRARY WEST: Reference Microform Guide (3rd Floor) Call no:    E  185.97.D73 A41 Guide
Describes each series with a selective list of items in that series. Indexes correspondents and subjects.

Province in Rebellion, a documentary history of the founding of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 1774-1775
LIBRARY WEST Microfiche (3rd Floor) Call no:  974.402 P969

Public records chronicling the growing friction between the British government and colonial Massachusetts have been reprinted in this collection with annotations and footnotes. Both sides of the conflict are represented. Over 3,000 pages of Royal correspondence, acts, proclamations, etc., plus documents of the Provincial Congresses, town and court records, and the like.
31 microfiche.    
             
Province in Rebellion (Guide)
LIBRARY WEST: Reference Microform Guide (3rd Floor) Call no:  974.402 P969 guide
The Guide provides a 145-page "interpretive essay" on events of the period, chronological listing of individual items and subject/name index. 
 

Records of ante-bellum southern plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War

LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no:  HD  1471.U5 R431 1985

Numerous manuscript collections pertaining to plantation life in the Southern States from the late 1700s through the late 1800s. Includes slave records and correspondence of plantation owners.  PDF guide.

Social and Political Status of Women in Britain

Features women’s periodicals, covering all aspects of British emancipationist activities between the passing of the Married Woman’s Property Act in 1870 and the gaining of full, universal suffrage in 1928.  A wide range of viewpoints, from the evangelical and strongly pacifist Free Church Suffrage Times (1813-1915), to the highly political Women’s Franchise (1907-1911) and the internationalist journal Woman Worker (1926-1927) published by the Communist Party of Great Britain.  Contributors include Beatrice Webb, Millicent Fawcett, Philip Snowden, and H.N.

 

Maud Arncliffe Sennett's scrapbook, British Library.

Series 1: Rare political, reforming and professional journals for and by women Part One
LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no:  HQ  1101 .S6

Locate journal by reel

 

Series 1: Rare political, reforming and professional journals for and by women Part Two:  1858-1935.
LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no:  HQ1101 .S62
Locate journal by reel

 

Series 1: Rare political, reforming and professional journals for and by women Part Three 1870-1939.
LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no:  HQ1101 .S623
Locate journal by reel

Early American Imprints

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
LIBRARY WEST Microfiche (3rd Floor) Call no: Z1364 .E251990z

 

Available online:  Early American Imprints

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
LIBRARY WEST Microfiche (3rd Floor) Call no:  Z1215 .S48         

A collection of over 95,000 monographs, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in America between 1639 and 1819, also contains many state papers and government materials, including published reports; presidential letters and messages; congressional, state and territorial resolutions.

 

Guides to Early American Imprints:

Shipton, Clifford K. and James E. Mooney.  National Index of American Imprints through 1800.  Gives the assigned number for each item so that it may be located on the reels.
LIBRARY WEST: Reference Microform Guide (3rd Floor) Z  1215 .S495

                          
American Bibliography.   A checklist compiled by Shaw, Ralph R. and Richard H. Shoemaker.  22 volumes arranged by year and author (or title for anonymous works), with cumulative author and title indexes.

LIBRARY WEST: Reference (3rd Floor) Call no: Z 1215.S48

Available online: American bibliography; a preliminary checklist for 1801-1819.

Evans, Charles.  American Bibliography: a chronological dictionary of all books, pamphlets, and periodical publications printed in the United States of America from the genesis of printing in 1639 down to and including the year 1820.  Volumes by year and author, each with author and subject  index.  Volume 14 is a cumulative author/title index.

LIBRARY WEST: Reference (3rd Floor) Call no: PS185 .E921
Available online: American Bibliography

Bristol, Roger P.  Supplement to Charles Evans' American Bibliography. A chronological list, 1646-1800, of titles not included in Evans, Series I. Note: Bristol's items have been renumbered for the microprint collection. LIBRARY WEST: Reference (3rd Floor) Call no Z  1215.E92

 

 

Many of the works in this microfilm collection are referenced in The English Short Title Catalogue. ESTC describes works printed in any language in England or its dependencies from 1473 - 1800,  as well as works printed in English anywhere else in the world during that period. 

 

English Literary Periodicals

English Literary Periodicals, c. 1681-1914 

LIBRARY WEST, Microfilm (3rd floor)   Call no: AP 3 .E55

A collection of 233 titles covering British life and culture, as well as literary works.  Contributors and editors include Addison, Defoe, Eliot, Goldsmith, Hunt, Johnson, Lamb, Mill, and Tennyson.  969 reels, 5,255 volumes. 


Guides to ELP:

Accessing English literary periodicals : a guide to the microfilm collection with title, subject, editor, and reel number indexes . Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, 1981.


Alphabetical Guide to English Literary Periodicals  Provides title. years of publication, and microfilm reel numbers.


Chronological Guide to English Literary Periodicals Provides title, years of publication, and microfilm reel numbers


See also:

English literary periodicals, by Walter Graham. New York, T. Nelson & Sons, 1930

“ a history of literary periodicals in Great Britain, a guide to the literary values of the various types of such periodicals; and a descriptive summary of the form and character of the most notable reviews, miscellanies, essay sheets, weekly critical journals, and specialized serials…”  Graham, p. 17

Human Relations Area Files (HRAF)

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.