Skip to main content

Health Science Center Libraries Archives: Home

A guide to using the archives.

How to use the archives!

The Health Science Center Library Archives holds collections relating to the history of the six Health Science Center colleges and to the Library and Vice president's office.  Some of these collections are available online through the Smathers libraries Digital Collections.  Most of the papers, however, can be accessed in person by contacting the HSC archivist at nstoyan@ufl.edu and coming to the Health Center Libraries in order to view the collections.

What are the archival holdings?

Information on the collection and finding aids can be found at the HSCL Archives website.

Donate to the Archives?

For information on donating papers or artifacts, contact HSCL archivist Nina Stoyan-Rosenzweig nstoyan@ufl.edu .

Records Management

In an administrative office and wondering which records to preserve? Please check the information site at Records Management and Public Records at the University of Florida and familiarize yourself with state and federal laws.  Confused?  Stay tuned for notice of training sessions, contact the UF Records Management Office  352-392-4180, lib-recordmanagement@uflib.ufl.edu     
 or contact university archivist Peggy McBride archives@uflib.ufl.edu 

Archives collections

The archives collections include administrative records from the Offices of the Vice President For Health Affairs and the College of Medicine Dean's Office, and from other administrative offices in the Health Science Center, as well as faculty paper collections and various health center publications.

Other locations for HSCL Archives materials

The records held in the archives generally are not digitized.  Digital collections include photographs and oral history inerviews held in the Samuel Proctor Oral History collections.

History of Medicine at UF

The HSCL coordinates exhibits, some featuring historical materials from the HSC founders, and some broader topics using artifacts from the archives collections.

The archivist also advises the second year medical students who coordinate the monthly history of medicine lecture series- and is working with students to create a history of medicine discussion series.

If you have an interest in the history of medicine, would like to speak, or lead a discussion or have an idea for an exhibit, please contact the archivist at nstoyan@ufl.edu .

Special Projects and Collections in the HSC Archives

The HSCL and the Archives are collecting books by UF authors.  Please donate a copy of your book to the libraries!

Nina S-R

Nina Stoyan-Rosenzweig's picture
Nina Stoyan-Rosenzweig
Contact:
C1-21
(352) 273-8406
University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.