Pick Databases - HSC 4969 - Honors Seminar - Guides @ UF at University of Florida

Some Relevant Databases

Listed below are a few databases that might be useful when beginning your information search. For a more complete list, please see our page of Library Databases.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
As a multidisciplinary research database, Academic Search Premiere includes scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the the health sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences.
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, dissertations, standards, legislation, videos and books. State nursing journals and nursing practice acts often available in full-text.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a highly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date biomedical research database. It covers international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day.
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
From the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, government documents, dissertations, reports, books and more.
PsycINFO (on EBSCOHost online platform) 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
Focused on the interdisciplinary aspects of the worldwide behavioral and social science research and literature, PsycINFO is a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal articles in sports & sports medicine.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science helps you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Links to relevant tutorials

PubMed

CINAHL

Web of Science

Selecting a Database/Database Coverage

Resource Evaluation - GATOR

GATOR is an acronym to help you remember important components of website evaluation.

GATOR
Genuine
Accurate
Trustworthy
Origin
Readability

Genuine -
Is the website or resource authentic? Look for the identity of the site sponsor and the length of time the site has been up.

Accurate -
Is the material free from error? Error may be from misinformation or from a lack of updating to represent new discoveries. Is the website current? When was it last updated?

Trustworthy -
Is the information true and reliable? Look for references. Consider the author's credentials and affiliations with academic, non-profit, and government organizations.

Origin -
Origin means the producer of the material. Is the information produced by a reputable hospital or pharmaceutical company.

Readability -
This refers to the ease with which you can read the material. Is it too elementary, too technical, or too advanced?

Reference: Educating patients to evaluate web-based health care information: the GATOR approach to healthy surfing. Weber BA, Derrico DJ, Yoon SL, Sherwill-Navarro P. J Clin Nurs. 2009 Jun 17.