The Florida History Map Collection is one of the treasures of the Map and Imagery Library and contains more than 2300 images of Florida dating from the 1500s to 1926.
Approximately half of the images in the collection are original prints or drawings. The collection also contains images of important Florida maps held by other institutions and reproduced as photographic or photostatic duplicates in our collection. These reproductions feature items from the National Archives, Library of Congress, Archivo General de Indias (Seville), Public Record Office (London), and other museums and libraries.
The Florida History Map Collection includes a number of maps covering Gainesville and Alachua County, including an 1846 map (pictured on the right side of this page) showing land ownership based on the Arredondo Grant, the Spanish land grant that covered much of present day Alachua County, as well as parts of Levy and Marion counties.
For more information about Florida history, visit the P.K. Yonge Library of Florida History website.
Arredondo Grant, 1846. This Spanish land grant covered much of present day Alachua County, as well as parts of Levy and Marion counties.
UF Digital Collections: Florida Map Collections
Digitized maps from the Florida History Map Collection are available through UF Digital Collections.
Florida Historical Map Database
For a more comprehensive list of our holdings, including maps that have not been digitized, see the Florida Historical Map Database. These materials are available for in-library use at the Map & Imagery Library.
P.K. Yonge Library of Florida History webpage
For additional information about historical maps of Florida at UF and other institutions, see the P.K. Yonge Library of Florida History map webpage.
|
