The following titles/years are available either online, hard copy, or on microfilm at Library West. If the link in question is a freely available online resource, the link may be used with no problem from any network. If there is a designation of UF Database Link next to the link, patrons must be using ether a campus network, or using the UF VPN client before attempting to view the link. Go to the Off-Campus Access tab for more information. Some titles in the Internet Archive are downloadable as PDF files- see the off-campus Access/Miscellaneous Information tab for instructions. For titles that are only available on microfilm, see the Information on Microfilm Titles tab for information.
STEIN
An anonymous response to Gertrude Stein’s Tender Buttons appeared in Atlantic Monthly.
• Atlantic Monthly, September 1914 (“Flat Prose”): https://archive.org/details/sim_atlantic_1914-09_114_3
Stein became a Life literary celebrity after WWII because she lived in Occupied Paris and was
visited by GIs. She also toured Germany after the war.
• Life, October 2, 1944 (“The Liberation of Gertrude Stein”):https://archive.org/details/Life-1944-10-02-Vol-17-No-14
• Life, April 16, 1945 (“A War Is a War Is a War”): https://archive.org/details/Life-1945-04-16-Vol-18-No-16
• Life, August 6, 1945 (“Off We All Went to See Germany,” by Stein): https://archive.org/details/Life-1945-08-06-Vol-19-No-6
• Life, August 18, 1947 (“Speaking of Pictures”): https://archive.org/details/Life-1947-08-18-Vol-23-No-7
MILLAY
Edna St. Vincent Millay published several poems in Vanity Fair, and briefly served as a foreign correspondent for the magazine. Her prose pieces appeared under the pseudonym Nancy Boyd.
• Vanity Fair, 1920:
• Vanity Fair, 1921:
H.D.
• Atlantic, April 1958: Only available on microfilm; see the cart in Room 337 of Library West to view and scan this issue.
• Nation, March 2, 1932: https://archive.org/details/sim_nation_1932-03-02_134_3478/mode/2up
• New Republic, January 1931: https://archive.org/details/sim_new-republic_1931-01-14_65_841/mode/2up
BROOKS
Although Ebony did not publish any of Gwendolyn Brooks’s poetry until 1968, she was one of the magazine’s literary celebrities from its beginning. She received the 1950 Pulitzer Prize for Poetry.
• Ebony, February 1949 (“Poets” article includes a photo of Brooks): Only available on microfilm.
• Ebony, February 1953 (“Celebrities Pick Their Favorite Heroes”): Only available on microfilm.
• Ebony, May 1953 (Brooks mentioned in photo-editorial on African American women): Only available on microfilm.
• Ebony, February 1959 (Brooks mentioned in photo-editorial on Black history): Only available on microfilm.
• Ebony, May 1960 (“Why Some People are Lucky”): Only available on microfilm.
• Essence, April 1971 (Nikki Giovanni tribute to Brooks): only available on microfilm.
• Harper’s: Feb. 1945 (“Five Poems”); Sep. 1959 (“The Explorer”); Dec. 1959 (“For Clarice”):
Available via https://www.proquest.com/publication/1816931 (UF Database Link) or via the Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/pub_harpers-magazine (sortable by year by using the tools on the left hand side of the page; individual issues are downloadable as PDF and Epub files- click on the issue to view, and look on the left-hand side of the screen for the download option).
• Jet, Feb. 25, 1971 (“Artists, Friends, Admirers Gather in Tribute…”): Only available on microfilm
• The Nation: Sep. 24, 1949 (rev. of A Street in Bronzeville); Sep. 1, 1962 (rev. of
The Bean Eaters): https://archive.org/details/sim_nation_1949-09-24_169_13
• New Yorker: Sep. 22, 1945 (rev. of A Street in Bronzeville); Dec. 17, 1949 (rev. of Annie Allen): Only available on microfilm.
PLATH
Sylvia Plath began publishing in top American magazines as a college student. The August 3, 1963
issue of New Yorker has a tribute & 7 of her poems.
New Yorker:
Atlantic:
SEXTON
Anne Sexton was a literary celebrity who won the 1967 Pulitzer Prize for Poetry and toured with her fjazz band.
• Harper’s:
Atlantic:
New Republic:
DOVE
Rita Dove’s Pulitzer Prize (1987) and U.S. Poet Laureateship (1993-1995) boosted her profile in the
media.
Ebony: Oct. 1987 (Pulitzer article): only available on microfilm.
New Yorker: PLEASE NOTE: Access to the online version of the magazine is limited to 3 articles a month. If you have problems with access, you may have to use the microfilm version of this title.
MLINKO
Ange Mlinko was Poetry Editor for The Nation from 2013-2016, and she is currently Poetry Editor of
Subtropics.
New Yorker: PLEASE NOTE: Access to the online version of the magazine is limited to 3 articles a month. If you have problems with access, you may have to use the microfilm or hard copy versions of this title.
May 4, 2009 (“Treatment”); https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2009/05/04/treatment-3 ; also available as hard copy.
Oct. 18, 2010 (“Bliss Street); https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2010/10/18/bliss-street ; also available as hard copy.
Nov. 3,2015 (“Supercell”): https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2015/11/02/supercell ; also available as hard copy.
The Nation:
Articles are available online; hard copy issues for browsing and additional research are available in Room 337 of Library West.
May 27, 2010 (“Prolixities Docked”); https://www.thenation.com/article/archive/prolixities-docked/
Sep. 2016 (A Part of Denise Riley's Song); https://www.thenation.com/article/archive/a-part-of-denise-rileys-song/
Sept. 2016 ("Captivity"): https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,uid&db=aph&AN=117693948&site=ehost-live (UF Database Link)
Jan 21, 2011 (essay“Languaging”); https://www.thenation.com/article/archive/languaging/
March 21, 2012 ("Azure"): https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,uid&db=aph&AN=73883960&site=ehost-live (UF Database Link)
April 9, 2012 (“Cicadas”): https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,uid&db=aph&AN=73883964&site=ehost-live (UF Database Link)
March 23, 2015 (essay “The Dream Life of Desire”): https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,uid&db=aph&AN=101716281&site=ehost-live (UF Database Link)
|
